We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Mimosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mimosa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Montagu is a quaint little town and we enjoyed our stay there and at Mimosa. They worked hard to accommodate our children in their beautiful old building. The rooms are nice, but not great. The bathrooms have obviously been redone recently, and they were fantastic. The pool was amazing warm water and where we spent lots of time. The pool room, with the only TV in sight, was also a nice idea. We would have loved A/C in our room, but it's a really old building so that was understandable, just made sleeping a bit difficult. There are several fun spots nearby the hotel that we enjoyed. The staff were great, especially Bernie! Overall, we would encourage people to visit Montagu, especially for a weekend away from Cape Town, and to give Mimosa a shot. It's a great place with lots of character.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 415 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We first have been attraced by the cuisine recommendation. But as we stood in front of Mimosa Lodge we directly where sure that we want to stay in the Lodge as well. Very charming rooms. A familiy welcome at the reception. The overall service was was exquisite and overwelmingly friendly. A real place to stay and explore the sorounding. The wines are fantastic and the food was a five star taste!!!! The pool was heated so we directly could refresh and hang out there after arrival. A must is the menue offered! The composition and the fresh tastes where of a standard which you can walk far in Europe..... A must if you do the Garden Route!

Room Tip: If you stay longer I would next time go for the Garden Suites where you have direct access to the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

we came as guests , we left as friends!
though our seventh visit to mimosa ( every trip to South Africa is closed with a stay here) we again loved our stay. Great service , top food (do eat at the lodge at least one night-chef and owner is agreat artist in food )fine breakfast ( with nice cheese -a rarity in SA) .
naturally there are always some small comments to make such as :
no soap in the shower dispenser, lamps that were broken and not replaced but overall rooms are great and nicely decorated and comfortable beds ... ask for the rooms attached to the main lodge 2 and 5 . Overall a real thumbs up!

Room Tip: rooms 2 and 5 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I spent a night in Mimosa Lodge back in March 2011 following the recommendation of a South African friend. The food and service here is excellent and definitely on a par with top European hotels. The employees are all incredibly helpful and very professional, Bennie deserves his own praise - he's totally genuine and goes the extra mile to assist.

Rooms are very large with air con and the usual mod-cons you need. The beds here are king-size and very comfortable. Bathrooms are clean with bathtub and separate shower. Decor is modern and airy.

It's the dinner at Mimosa Lodge which is the highlight of any trip and their own wines are excellent. We were a group of 10 this visit, 5 couples. When I made the reservation, I was asked if anyone had food allergies...nice touch! Our dinner was superb, perfectly served and presented and utterly delicious. I can't fault the place and the personal care provided by Bennie and his colleague was top...he addressed all 10 of us with our names and having met us just 60 minutes before hand, that's pretty impressive and showed service initiative.

The breakfast was certainly one of the better ones I have enjoyed in South Africa, a decent buffet with yoghurts, fresh fruit, meats, cheese, preserves, breads, rolls etc as well as an excellent cooked breakfast of your choice.

I love the place and for me it's definitely worth a stop off in Montagu.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iPotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much at the Mimosa Lodge, the owner and his wife make you feel very welcome. During our stay there was a huge group of swiss people which came there once every year, it was very busy but we did not feel neglacted at all. I can recommend to eat at the lodge as the cooking is really very very good. In the surrounding area you can enjoy different wineries.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welletjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

OVERALL: As we stayed in the one of the most luxurious and private rooms on the property, it was difficult to fault. We stayed in Room 204 with a private courtyard and private champagne dipping pool; it was glorious and very romantic. The location is in the heart of Montagu within walking distance to all restaurants.

ROOM: The room had ample space with crisp clean linen and towels. The beautiful wrought iron bed was huge and comfy. Great sleep quality. The room was fully equipped with a heater, air con, tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was generous in size and had a shower with great water pressure. The room was very quiet and removed from any other guests.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast spread was generous. Fruit, sweet pastries, and yogurt made up the sweets while an array of cheeses and cold meats were also available. The coffee was freshly brewed. The only point where I can fault them is with the hot breakfast. The elderly gentleman (later introduced as the owner) was a bit abrupt and indifferent. He asked us would fried eggs and bacon be OK and we responded, sure. We later saw other guests being treated to poached eggs, scrambled, fried mushrooms etc which he didn’t explain to us. A bit disappointing considering the price we paid for the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Bernie in front office is fantastic, his welcome and general attitude is genuine. The rooms are comfortable and the lodge is perfectly located in the town, easy to explore the sights.
The breakfast was also great and generally it is an all round pleasant stay. We will certainly go back!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
591 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
African Game Lodge
African Game Lodge
#3 of 35 in Montagu
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#5 of 27 in Montagu
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 323 | Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range: $78 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mimosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing