We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to start the Garden Route”
Review of Mimosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mimosa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, England
Level Contributor
302 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A good place to start the Garden Route”
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Set in a pleasant but sleepy little spa town Mimosa Lodge has everything you need to set out on the Garden Route and an easy drive from Cape Town. Rooms vary but the garden rooms look to offer the best value as they are larger and most have little terraces where you can sit and admire the lovely gardens while partaking of afternoon tea, or possibly something a little stronger. While you are there do not miss the chance to take a tractor ride up the mountain at Protea Farm, about 15 miles away.

The best thing about Mimosa is probably the food, they do a four course gourmet dinner, with the option of matching wines if you wish. Cooking is of a high standard, although it may be a little under-
seasoned for some tastes. For us the highlight was the pre-dinner get-
together in the garden where all the guests were invited for a pre-
dinner drink (local moscatel or soft drinks), which turned into a jolly multi-national affair when we were there. Breakfast was good, the usual selection of cold buffet with a hot bacon and egg breakfast cooked to order (so rare nowadays).

  • Liked — Spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of air con
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manofekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    142
    45
    25
    6
See reviews for
54
257
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2008

Nice place in general, they are expanding rapidly! The village is quaint. The suite, quite nice on fuirst inspection, the beds comfortable and welcome drink lovely.

The pool is a little disappointing, small and without loungers (just chairs). very central so easy to go out for a meal.

The brochures rave about the food here, we are pleased we were not tempted, because getting back to the room the path was full of cockroaches! It's out in the country so we do expect bugs but this looked a little out of control.

Breakfast ok, but overall not the best stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thebeachzandvoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our Garden Route/Route 62 tour. The Mimosa Lodge is a very friendly hotel and the owners are very hands on and visible which is nice.

We had a Garden Suite which was very spacious and minimalist (although not necessarily to everyone's taste). The room was very bright and airy however this did mean that you had to be careful when getting changed as people walking by could see straight into the room.

One of the highlights of Mimosa Lodge is the food. It is a 4 course set menu served at 7.30 every evening and it is extremely good. Beforehand, guests are invited to join the owners for a glass of Muscatel in the garden, which is a nice touch and afterwards you are invited to 'The Club' to take coffee and drinks.

There is a small pool area which is nice but there is not enough room for more than about 6 people to sit there. Also, there is not room for proper loungers therefore you sit in a deckchair which is not quite as comfortable.

The only thing we were a little uncomfortable about was the fact that there are no safes in the room. Whilst there is a safe in reception this is obviously not as convenient for money and credit cards etc. This was the only accommodation we stayed in that did not provide a safe and given that we were on the ground floor in the garden it did seem a little remiss.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant and was very good although we found that the onus was on you to request a cooked breakfast and toast - you were not automatically asked if you would like them.

  • Liked — the restaurant
  • Disliked — no safe in room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

I agree with the reviewer from Bristol. Not a friendly reception at all, which is not what we wanted having driven 3 hours from Cape Town. The food was fabulous cooked by the Swiss chef, owner, but he needs to hire friendlier staff who actually like working with their guests. We were ignored the first 10 minutes we came because of a few people before us - just left standing to fend for ourselves... I would not stay here again but would definitely come for the fabulous meal and wine...The South Africans are a friendly bunch, so no excuse for the stiff atmosphere at reception.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We stayed in Montagu en route from CT to Knysna .. and we're pleased we did. Mimosa Lodge was lovely and really rather charming.
We opted to dine in the evening with the set menu with wines. The waiter was brilliant - he was chatty and friendly without being annoying and generally made us feel very comfortable.

  • Liked — the whole vibe
  • Disliked — the way the bathroom had been put in the room.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank voyagevole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2007

Talk about a hidden gem!

We stayed at Mimosa Lodge towards the end of April 2007 and I simply cannot stop talking about it. I felt that I had to write a quick review on this awesome establishment.

I travel extensively and I think this is the best rating I have ever given any lodge/hotel. Ever!

Firstly the setting is divine. Almost hidden in the vast mountains surrounding the Montague, this Lodge is provides the visitor with the
ultimate in beauty and tranquility.

The staff are almost over eager to please and then I'm not even talking about the great Hosts (Bernhard and Fida Hess)!

However, the best part (ok, besides the great rooms) has to be the out-of-this-world cuisine. I was actually taken aback by the incredible care and obvious skill used in the preparation of all our meals. It was sad when we had to dine elsewhere!

I cannot recommend this Lodge enough.

Do yourself a favour and visit Mimosa as soon as you get a chance!

  • Liked — I would have to say the food, but it is really hard to say!
  • Disliked — Maybe the parking????
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2007

Maybe we had been spoilt by staying at so many great places in our tour of SA, but we were disappointed with the Mimosa. We had a "garden room" which was very spacious but tried too hard to be trendy and contemporary. The room had a concrete floor with only a tiny bath mat (not colour co-ordinated) as the only cover other than bare concrete, no minibar, no air con, no dressing table, no tea/coffee-making facilities, and far too sparse/spartan-looking. Bathroom reminded us of a Victorian washroom. Breakfast was OK, didnt eat in the restaurant at night. Montagu itself is a pleasant town - very quiet (although there was a bikers' convention when we were there!) and OK for a short stay.

  • Liked — Quiet, enabling good night's sleep
  • Disliked — Room was spartan with floor of bare concrete!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Townsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
552 reviews
1.7 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 34 in Montagu
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Lodge

Property: Mimosa Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 323 | Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mimosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing