We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great animal sightings, not quite 5 star though ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Tilney Manor for a night en route to Cape Town during our honeymoon. We booked the manor to try & make the experience very different from our first safari but were still disappointed. Although the suite was gorgeous and featured a gas fire & free standing bath the experience did not live up to our first safari. The food was average, and only 1 staff member really stood out as giving the 5 star experience you would expect. The game drives were great & we had some excellent sightings - white lioness on the move, cheetah and her 4 cubs, lots of elephants & rhinos, our guide Dale was really friendly & knowledgeable too but the group they put us in for the drives was unfortunate! Worth a visit as close to Cape Town & lots of animals but not the real wild feel you get in some other safaris, nor the 5 star experience you expect especially on honeymoon.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank elainetaylor_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 657 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very easy drive from Cape Town, just about three hours, great roads easy drive, beautiful grounds, great accommodations, good game drives, two a day, the luxury tents are very comfortable and In a beautiful place. Would suggest at least two days so you can see all the animals.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jherr7114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

In 24 hours we saw 20 baboons, 12 giraffes, 11 elephants, 10 kudu, 5 rhinos, 3 white lions, 2 zebras, 1 hippo. Our guide was knowledgable, the service was friendly, and though we were in the middle of a 54,000 hectare reserve, we felt secure and spoiled (fireplace in room and outside showers were a fun bonus!)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMVanKerkhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I took time to consider whether to fly to Kruger or Port Elizabeth from Capetown for a safari. We decided on Sanbona because we wanted to relax and focus on Capetown rather than extra flights. For us, this was perfect. The drive from Capetown was 3 hours and generally well marked, though at the end a GPS on our phones was helpful. The drive back was nice as we went through Hermanus and saw some wales. Our game ranger, Jared, was outstanding. I have been to safari (though not at Kruger) and this was a great, intimate, personalized game experience. We were able to see cheetahs up close, white lions, elephants, etc. All in the wild. The size of the park is about the size of Singapore, and the animals are in the wild. Great place for us. The food was very good and the rooms at Tilney manor were large with beautiful views.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LATraveler20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were very lucky when we took our game drives that we saw four of the Big Five. Rhino, Elephant, White Lion, Buffalo, Cheetah, Giraffe etc. Our guide, Dale was excellent and fully described the flora and fauna of the area. It is an hour's drive from the N1 turn off to the reserve, and in the Spring months be aware it is VERY cold on some days on the Drives. You will need hats, gloves, scarves. A fantastic experience though, supported by brilliant staff, and superb accommodation.

Room Tip: Any room is brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for two night. A fantastic experience. The rooms are amazing and the staff so helpful and friendly. They cannot do enough for you. The food is excellent and the game drives really good but be aware that if the wind is blowing it will be really cold. Already seen cheetah, white lion, tawny lion, giraffe and various other beasts. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Tilney Manor and was met by friendly, professional staff. We ate a quick lunch - which was fine and had some Cap Classique. Our game ranger, Jared, was enthusiastic, informed and willing to find the animals to please our viewing experience.
We stayed two nights and did three game drives and saw plenty of wild life activity with rhino, elephant, cheetah, white lions and various antelope species plus a tower of giraffe (13 beauties together). All animals were relaxed and it was easy to get close to them. Bird life was also abundant and we had an exciting moment with a black shouldered kite attaching a pale chanting goshawk. Got some lovely actions photos from this...
Breakfast and lunch servings were fine and we enjoyed the continental breakfast selection, eggs benedict and the cappuccino was good. Lunch sandwiches and burgers were super, but dinner meat was inedible. After leaving we were sorry for not complaining, but the serving staff was so great we didn't want to bother them with the chef's mistakes...
I would have loved to give this reserve 5-stars but the food was beyond bad - tough, tasteless, under cooked or over cooked... If Sanbona replaced their chefs then they will have a perfect score from everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoolRamblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu
11.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
24.7 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
93 reviews
14.2 mi away
African Game Lodge
African Game Lodge
#3 of 35 in Montagu
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
#6 of 35 in Montagu
159 reviews
3.5 mi away
White Lion Lodge
White Lion Lodge
#13 of 35 in Montagu
98 reviews
24.5 mi away
Karoo Pride - En Route 62
Karoo Pride - En Route 62
#23 of 35 in Montagu
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanbona Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanbona Wildlife Reserve

Address: R62 Between Montagu & Barrydale | Die Vlakte, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range: $926 - $1,432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanbona Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Little Karoo, Sanbona Wildlife Reserve is a three-hour drive from Cape Town, along Route 62. At the foot of the towering Warmwaterberg Mountains, Sanbona boasts sculpted Cape Fold Mountains, wide open Karoo plains, indigenous flora and fauna and rare examples of San rock art, some dating back more than 3, 500 years. Explore all this from your choice of 3 different luxury lodges. Whilst the free roaming Big 5 call Sanbona home, it’s the vastness of the landscape and the raw beauty of the boundless plains that make safaris at Sanbona unique. Explore the 54, 000 hectares of this malaria-free premier, private game reserve for an ultimate safari experience close to Cape Town. PLEASE NOTE THAT BOOKING IN ADVANCE is ESSENTIAL FOR VISITS TO SANBONA WILDLIFE RESERVE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanbona Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing