We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tilney manor-fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tilney manor-fabulous stay”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed at Tilney manor for just one night, could have stayed for a lot longer. the rooms were amazing, such luxury and the views were Divine. One of the best rooms we have stayed in ever,
The free standing bath tub is fab, and you can shower outside with hot water and look at the view.,
Great nights sleep too on a comfy bed. Feels very homely and it's great not having to carry a key around, the honestly policy means doors are just left unlocked.
Nice pool area, little pool with very cold water, but great for cooling down in, again great views.

The lunch was fab, a 3 course meal from a menu, the dinner was a buffet which was a little disappointing as we're looking forward to a nice evening sit down meal after we had experienced the lovely lunch. Breakfast was gd with a selection of hot or cold things to eat.
Wine and beer isn't included but was very reasonable.

The game drives were good and the rangers have great knowledge. however having such a big park and not so many of the big 5 animals, we didn't get to see everything on 2 game drives.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballyk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    70
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
116
354
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The whole thing was a fantastic experience. From the brilliant guide we had (Suritha) to the very friendly staff at the Dwyka lodge. I am not sure what the other lodges were like but this one was first class. Food and accommodation were both perfect.
If you can spend some money to go get a massage. Very relaxing (I almost fell asleep) after an early morning wildlife drive.
Personally I would advise parking your car at the welcome lodge and getting the shuttle service to your lodge. The road isn't too kind to a normal road car.
We saw plenty of animals including a walk to within 10 m of two cheetahs, a walk along a dry river bed to see some rhino and a lion chasing a zebra (it didn't manage to catch it though).
Unforgettably good.

Room Tip: If you can, pay to stay in Dwyka Tented Lodge. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyIzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A wonderful location in the klein karoo. Top class hotel. Wonderful private rooms with open air showers and outside balcony. Every facility you could ever want. Food to die for along with superb wines.
The safari experience covered the big5, together with lots of other animals. Guides well versed not just in the animals but the geology and plant life of the area. Three hours in the early morning and three hours just before dusk followed by an excellent dinner.
Wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms in Tilney manor and all excellent and face the same way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were a party of 7 and were touring South Africa for two weeks in January and planned a night of luxury and all I can say boy did we get it!

The Dwyka Tented Lodges were far more than we could have expected from their polished concrete floors to the divine plunge pools, it was such a romantic and wonderful place to stay, food, service and welcome were all amazing!

The actual wildlife tours were just incredible, we had Gin and Tonic's by a herd of elephant it the evening and coffee by the hippos and lions in the morning and were lucky enough to spend time watching a Crash of Rhino's with baby having a snooze! Our tour guide Brenda was superb, extremely knowledgeable and taught us so much not just about the animals but the flora and fauna, I cannot recommend her enough and praise her for looking after us all?

I cannot recommend this the Sanbona Wildlife Reserve and Dwyka Tented Lodges enough, if you want a special place to make your South Africa trip memorable this is the place to go!

To all the team, WELL DONE !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Twyka tented lodge for three nights.
The estate is 540 square Kilometers! And it takes you an hour to get from the welcome lounge to Twyka! So better plan enough time.

The "tents" are very nice with all the amenities one can wish. Nicely decorated but not over luxurious. General maintenance could be a bit better.

The good point: we were very lucky to have a very experienced and enthusiastic guide on our game drives named Jan. We were lucky to see many animals including Cheetahs, Elephants, Lions, Buffalos as well as all sorts of antelopes, such as Kudu. Getting up early in morning is worth the effort.

The bad point: As reported by many other reviewers food is very mediocre to say the least. I Strongly recommend the management to take action on this matter, as food is really not to an acceptable standard on a five star resort. One evening the served a Braai ( BBQ) but the cook made most of the meat in advance. My chicken was totally well done and try, so was the other meat. It would not take very much effort to improve, but what they need is an experienced Chef.
General service is Ok.

In general very expensive for what it is.

Go there for the game drive definitely not for the food....

Room Tip: At Twyka all Tents are the same.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosi-Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We travelled to Sanbona and the Dwyka Lodges following a flight from London - so be prepared for a long trip as the transfer is around 3.5. hours and at least an hour and a quarter is on dirt track - take a sickness bag!
The lodges themselves are very clean, well furnished and with complete privacy for both the plunge pool and the outside shower. The staff are very friendly but could be more attentive, they seem to focus on service at mealtimes and then disappear into thin air!
Food in the restaurant is very good and meals are timed around the safari drives. There was also a good choice of wines, albeit that we drank mainly water because of the heat.
There is also a Spa, which came in very handy, as without any other amenities, I found that I had too much time on my hands. Take a lot of books, as there is no wifi in the lodges.
We saw more a wildlife than we imagined and had a fantastic experience of meeting a troop of elephants at dawn - literally a few feet away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingersheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in Gondwana for the second time. The accommodation is superb, the game drives spectacular - ask for Pascale she is a jewel but the food and service need improvement. For the rates you pay you expect all wines to be included in the price and this has recently been changed - the management should reconsider this as going to private lodges you always expect everything to be all inclusive. Also the restaurant staff are very willing but need training - took ages to get orders taken and served with wine. Food buffet is good but not great. Sanbona is a very special reserve and so unique so close to Cape Town and with a bit of tweaking it could be perfect.

Room Tip: Room 12 is fabulous - try get a room on the first floor the view is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu
27.8 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
552 reviews
21.7 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
27.6 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
White Lion Lodge
White Lion Lodge
#13 of 34 in Montagu
90 reviews
14.2 mi away
African Game Lodge
African Game Lodge
#3 of 34 in Montagu
197 reviews
28.1 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanbona Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanbona Wildlife Reserve

Property: Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
Address: R62 Between Montagu & Barrydale | Die Vlakte, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanbona Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Little Karoo, Sanbona Wildlife Reserve is a three-hour drive from Cape Town, along Route 62. At the foot of the towering Warmwaterberg Mountains, Sanbona boasts sculpted Cape Fold Mountains, wide open Karoo plains, indigenous flora and fauna and rare examples of San rock art, some dating back more than 3, 500 years. Explore all this from your choice of 3 different luxury lodges. Whilst the free roaming Big 5 call Sanbona home, it’s the vastness of the landscape and the raw beauty of the boundless plains that make safaris at Sanbona unique. Explore the 54, 000 hectares of this malaria-free premier, private game reserve for an ultimate safari experience close to Cape Town. PLEASE NOTE THAT BOOKING IN ADVANCE is ESSENTIAL FOR VISITS TO SANBONA WILDLIFE RESERVE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sanbona Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing