We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brillent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the tented lodges this place was the best thing we did whilst in South Africa. Our guide Jan was excellent really informative and we managed to get very close to a lot of animals which was amazing. The food and service was excellent especially the dinners. If you are coming here make sure you have a decent camera some binoculars and warm clothing and first thing in the morning it can be really cold.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie66Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 639 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We mostly adored the interior design of our room (Nr 7 at Dwyka). Wish we could stay longer an enjoy the outside tub.
The game drives, the rangers were excellent.
I wish there was internet in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had visited Sanbona before, however this was our fist visit to Dwyka. Jan, was our guide, and was the most aggressive animal finder we have ever had at Sanbona. He was determined to find everything that was out there. So on the two drives combined we saw Buffalo, Cheetah, Rhinos, white Lions, Springbok, Eland, Kudu, Giraffes, Zebras and Jackals.
Accommodation at Dwyka is in the form of solid sided 'small dwellings' with tented roofs.these are individually located facing outwards from the central point to give all private views. All have private plunge pools and verandas with outdoor showers. Inside there is a luxurious and beautifully finished bathroom and a separate bedroom with monster sized bed. From the veranda there are good views of the cliff and all of the bird life. There is a central lodge with dining room and lounge. We found the lodge a little bit quiet and too private and our slight preference would be for the more inclusive atmosphere experienced at Tilney Manor. Food was very good but not best ever, lunch and breakfast were particularly good, however the evening meal was not so stand out, the Kudu steak was barely edible, However starters and dessert were excellent. As far as tips and recommendations........try to avoid the back seat in the game drives, its a bit bouncy back there. Bring lots of layers it does get really really cold, we had snow on the mountains all around us. I would also recommend not driving to the villas, but instead arrange a pick-up from the welcome centre. To provide some sense of scale......the front gate is approx 10 mins drive from the nearest tarred road, the welcome centre is a further 13km from the front gate, and the lodge is approx 50 minutes drive from the welcome centre. We have marked the value section down after finding out we could have booked for half-price if we had waited until last minute.....so keep an eye out for good late deals.

Room Tip: All good no real difference between all the 'tents' at Dwyka.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polychrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Once again, a very enjoyable stay at Dwyka. Our hosts Carl and Kobus and their team were very friendly and attentive at all times and accommodation, food and wines retain their high standard.
Our ranger Jannie did his utmost to make our outings exiting and educational. The reserve itself is improving further in it's ambition to re-create the original indigenous flora and fauna.
We also enjoyed being pampered at the Spa - a most pleasant way to fill the day between game drives.
Overall again great two nights!
Located so conveniently close to Cape Town or on route to/from the Eastern Cape, Sanbona remains the most authentic and enjoyable Africa experience in the region.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin_ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed in room number 5 and it was big, very clean and modern with a beautiful natural view and great amenities.
Fab. bathroom. Sadly no TV in the room and no Internet but in the lounge I had a fast acces to the internet.
Food was fantastic, service a little slow, but staff really nice and helpful.

The whole lodge and around was beautiful and the drives with the rangers perfect.
All in all it's a great place

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a full marks resort in my opinon! The staff are great the location is beyond awesome in the middle of nowhere and the rooms are absolutely great! The bods are comfy and the bathrooms with all the extras that you may ever ask for!

You may find this place somewhat expensive but its not until you get there and the safari guide explains to you about the wild life care that actually is needed in order to protect a lot of the animals you will understand that it is acutally quite cheap!

Everything is top of the line apart from the food wich is better than average and perfectly ok, but not in line with the rest of the facilities!

With my warmest recommendations!

Room Tip: If you are REALLY sensitive to privacy make sure you get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Accommodation
I was travelling with my elderly father and we stayed in Tilney Manor (although this problem applies to Dwyker as well). Our room was very large and luxurious, with comfortable beds and sofa, beautiful furnishings, a large balcony and an outside shower (too cold to use). However, the bathroom area adjoins the bedroom and is completely open with the bath having pride of place right in the middle. There is no place to get undressed/dressed/drying for showering either. I asked the guy who welcomed us (presumably the team manager) if they had a mobile screen of some sort (paravent) so that we could have some privacy. They didn't have one, which I found very strange as this is an easy solution to a problem "that has come up before" (team leader). My father and I had to wait until coming back from the game drive to take turns to use the room if we didn't want to avoid having breakfast at different times (not enough time for that either). We both felt very uncomfortable with the situation and it greatly detracted from our enjoyment of our visit. Surely the management could procure one or two paravents for such visitors. They can be folded up when not in use, and on wheels for easy positioning.
Other than that, the service and facilities were excellent, and the food was well above average most of the time (please put something juicy in the club sandwiches, they were just 3 pieces of toast with bacon and a solidly fried egg between them and were very dry, maybe a little tomato).
The WiFi was very weak and only available in the Manor House itself, in fact at the top of some stairs leading to a separate building of the rear terrace.

Game drives
Sanbona's greatest advantage is being so close to Cape Town, only a comfortable 3-hour drive away. It game park is enormous, but with very little game. This means long drives with far fewer sightings than in Kruger or Shamwari (owned by the same group). The landscape is beautiful, so there is plenty to see between animal sightings. Even with their radio collars, the cheetahs and lions were not always easy to find. Nevertheless, during our 2 days/4 game drives we had 2 wonderful sightings of cheetah, as well as buffalo (with new-born calf), bat-eared foxes, elephants, giraffe (from 200 m!), baboons sunning themselves, zebra, kudu, plenty of birds, and lions. Because game sightings are rarer, they are more intense. After driving for so long to see something, we really looked. Our game ranger Jannie was extremely knowledgeable and sharp-eyed, spotting all sorts of creatures great and small whilst driving along. He was forever cheerful and helpful, answering our questions with interesting details. We had several walks to see lion and white rhinos at closer quarters. Being face to face with 2 white rhinos at ground level about 50 m away was exhilarating, something I will never forget.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu
24.7 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
93 reviews
11.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
14.2 mi away
African Game Lodge
African Game Lodge
#4 of 35 in Montagu
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
#6 of 35 in Montagu
154 reviews
3.5 mi away
White Lion Lodge
White Lion Lodge
#13 of 35 in Montagu
97 reviews
24.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 27 in Montagu
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanbona Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanbona Wildlife Reserve

Address: R62 Between Montagu & Barrydale | Die Vlakte, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range: $914 - $1,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanbona Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Little Karoo, Sanbona Wildlife Reserve is a three-hour drive from Cape Town, along Route 62. At the foot of the towering Warmwaterberg Mountains, Sanbona boasts sculpted Cape Fold Mountains, wide open Karoo plains, indigenous flora and fauna and rare examples of San rock art, some dating back more than 3, 500 years. Explore all this from your choice of 3 different luxury lodges. Whilst the free roaming Big 5 call Sanbona home, it’s the vastness of the landscape and the raw beauty of the boundless plains that make safaris at Sanbona unique. Explore the 54, 000 hectares of this malaria-free premier, private game reserve for an ultimate safari experience close to Cape Town. PLEASE NOTE THAT BOOKING IN ADVANCE is ESSENTIAL FOR VISITS TO SANBONA WILDLIFE RESERVE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sanbona Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing