We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
Ranked #26 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Sadly we have to state that this was a rather strange place to stay.
While the rooms where absolutely clean, they were rather minimalistic. There is no toilet door or fridge, you are not even allowed to consume your own drinks - I have never seen this in a B&B in 5 months in which I am in South Africa. Instead there is a bar where you can get local and Beglian beer for reasonable prices, but it was completely empty and it closed at 9 when we were there.
Our room had a door to the next one and we could hear every word that was spoken - unfortunately the neighbours talked until midnight.
We did not really feel welcome as the owner - not like his wife - can be described as quite unfriendly - at least that is our impression. As we only spent one night there, he might just have had a bad day.
It might be the right place to spend one night as the prices are decent, but we prefer a hearty welcome - as we experienced it so oftern in SA - to a modern but minimalistic room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaikPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVLMcoza, Owner at Mountain View Lodge Montagu, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear MaikPowell,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review !

I have to explain, we don't fall under the B&B category since we have a full liquor-licence, an on-site restaurant and a bar, nor are we a hotel (this requires a 24/24h reception), neither do we rent out self-catering units(no refrigerator or kitchenette in the rooms).

Guests are always allowed to consume their own drinks, we do however charge a small corkage fee when brought alcoholic beverages are consumed on-site. Please remember we pay for a liquor-licence in order to serve our guests "legally" with alcoholic beverages.

The bar is open from 11:00 until ... in fact, the bar is always open. If however no guests are in the bar at 22:00 we do switch off the main lights (as a power saver) but the service at the bar is still available and full lights will be switched on again as soon as service at the bar is requested.

According to our booking-records, if you stayed in March and your room had "a door to the next one", you have either booked for 4 persons and got the 2 rooms that can be converted into a family room (in that case I do apologize for your travelling partners keeping you awake) or you booked for 2 but then the room next to you was vacant.

Our rooms (rented out @ very competitive rates) are 32m2, have a spacious bathroom, toilet is around and in the far corner of that bathroom, a spacious shower (can fit 2) a dressing, a safe, 3 mirrors ( 1 off them full length), free coffee and tee facilities, a king-size extra length bed, discrete african art pieces on the wall, 2 night-stands each with 2 drawers and night-lights, a wooden desk with multiple drawers and a matching chair. Indeed the rooms don't have clutter or any unusable, excess museum pieces that can only be broken or are there just to gather dust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 45 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our belgian hosts alan and Maud just built the new 7 room b/b accomodation.
Not 5 star but excellent value for money and good 3 star.
The deck above the flats looks over Montagu with a fantastic view of the mountains plus a pool.
Also electric gate and 6 dogs so excellent security.
Small snacks made at any time and full evening menu if ordered in advance.
Alan also rents out big motorcycles and an old Rolls Royce for visiting the wine cellars, quite a combination.
Its definately the place we will stay again when in the montagu area. The lack of toilet doors in bathroom may disturb some but it is behind a corner so fairly private.
The breakfast is very good.
No fridge as b/B and not self caterind

Room Tip: all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The owners were friendly and helpful in making our stay a memorable one. They even gave us suggestions of the must-dos in the region. We spent most of our time chilling on the veranda, enjoying the breeze, view and Belgium beer!

Room Tip: Get the room with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgavatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Nothing makes my husband happier than to be sitting on several hundred CCs of motorcycle (rented) and enjoying some of our favourite Belgian beers. Our trip included both of these things, and the bonus of a B&B that was meticulously clean, modern, newly built, and with a wonderful breakfast service as well. The room was lovely, and the deck had a breathtaking view to enjoy. The food was very good! This B&B is an excellent value, and the owners are very welcoming and kind. I recommend it highly. :D

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We found this guest house basic, function and very minimalistic. There is no fridge, air conditioning, TV or toilet door. Whilst the place is clean it offers very few comforts to make your stay more pleasant.
We expected a better standard.
Our main disappointment was the fact that there is no privacy whatsoever. The rooms are a line of modern units with a large full frontal glass door facing the house and car park. Everyone is walking past so you need to keep your curtain drawn. In our case, we were opposite the kitchen window so it was drawn permanently and became very claustrophobic and depressing.
Also, there was no evening restaurant in the 3 days we were there.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank brumpa100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed one night in this newly built B&B. The rooms are well designed and extremely clean. The bed was huge and comfortable, the rest of the furniture minimal but sufficient. The bathroom is perfect with step-in shower. There is a small clean pool. The main attraction though is the viewing deck above the accommodation building offering probably the best mountain views from any hotel in Montagu as the property is located high up on the South-facing hillside overseeing the town. The Belgian owners Alain & Maud are extremely friendly and helpful. There is a bar with a large selection of imported Belgian beers offering an unexpected and unique beer-tasting experience with commentary by raconteur Alain. The breakfast selection is limited but sufficient served in a pleasant modern environment. If you don't need TV or WiFi (although WiFi is advertised but in practice unworkable) and are not offended by the terrible tiling job in the bathroom - this is a great place to stay where I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed for one night in this place. The rooms are very new, spotlessly clean and have a nice combination of modern interiour with some african decoration. The owners were very helpful and gave us lots of advice regarding our trip. Even though we were the only guests at that day, there was a very good breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, there was no dinner that night. We saw the menu for another day where a three course meal was on offer and it looked excellent. We wanted to pre-book it, but were told it was not available that day. However, they recommened a few restaurants from which we picked the "old tavern" which was very good as well.

There were lots of belgian beers on offer. We did not try them because we can get them at home and we usually try out the local stuff when on holidays. However, tthis might be interesting for people that are not from around Belgium.

So far the nicest rooms we had on our trip.

Room Tip: We had room #1. WIFI reception was only working close to the door. I guess it becomes better with in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unfugmail-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Sanctuary
Little Sanctuary
#9 of 27 in Montagu
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#8 of 35 in Montagu
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 35 in Montagu
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 27 in Montagu
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Lodge Montagu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge Montagu

Address: 33 Kohler Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range: $58 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain View Lodge Montagu 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in total privacy while enjoying our spectacular mountain views.Just below Kanonkop and just above the town centre of Montagu, still within walking distance, Mountain View Lodge in Montagu is almost completely concealed from the street, this means privacy, relaxation and a 24h monitored and secure location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mountain View Lodge Montagu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing