We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Burgundy Gherkin

Burgundy Gherkin
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A popular local Pizza and Pasta house with a variety of wraps, sandwiches, salads and desserts also available. Offering dine in and take away options.Focusing on the fun in food and people, if you lucky enough to be here on the last wednesday of the month join us for our Open Mic / Music nights. We also have live music ad lib during the rest of the month. We look forward to welcoming you to our town and our restaurant.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

A nice place to eat some italian food in the nice village of Montagu. I had pasta arrabiata which was nice and spicy. Lasagne was also good. The place is decorated in style and waitress(es) were kind. Only downside is they have no other pasta than spaghetti and tagliatelle. Would've loved some penne. Overall recommendable!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgundyGherkin, Owner at Burgundy Gherkin, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi Rick

Thanks for the constructive feedback on your experience at the Burgundy Gherkin. Have taken note on the penne pasta and got some in stock as an alternative.

Rhoda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    46
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pizza surprise!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Saturday lunch - looking for something light.
Saw the positive reviews on tripadvisor and decided to try it.
And what a surprise. Certainly the best pizza in Montagu, and Klein Karoo, and Boland, and will even give the Western Cape a go! We had 4 different pizzas, one with a gluten free base, and they were GREAT. The bases are really special, thin with something special in the dough.
They have a great variety of pastas too - going back there to try the it

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisOosthuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgundyGherkin, Owner at Burgundy Gherkin, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback, we are really glad you enjoyed your pizza's and look forward to seeing you back again.

Rhoda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Burgundy Gherkin in Montagu”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

What a fantastic little place. My 3 children had the best pizza they have ever tasted they say, and the spaghetti carbonara was truly out of this world! Really really good food, thankyou! Always handy to have a playroom for kids too. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikkivdwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgundyGherkin, Owner at Burgundy Gherkin, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for giving us feedback on your experiance at the Burgundy Gherkin, hope to see you back again.

Rhoda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its me again”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

When ever I have walked in to this restaurant, I feel a welcoming feeling. I just know that I will have an great experience and wonderful pizza. Thank you guys for exceptional service and a kick bottom pizza. Keep it going....A absolute must.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terence d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgundyGherkin, Owner at Burgundy Gherkin, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks so much Terence, its always a pleasure to serve you.

Rhoda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“SURPRISE FIND”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

After wandering around Montagu for a while & not receiving a particular welcome reception at The Docks restaurant in Montagu, we eventually ended up at the Burgundy Gherkin. We should have first walked in the other direction from the Vic Hotel because the BG is practically next door. The gentleman who served us (I'm not 100% sure but I think that his name was Phillip) was very pleasant & helpful & their pizzas are amazing! Why? Thin & crispy (not thick & spongy) bases, that's why. We went on Saturday evening & after completing Bloupunt Hiking Trail on Sunday were really disappointed that the BG was closed - despite the Monday (16 June 2014) being a public holiday. Tip: EVERYTHING seems to shut down on Sunday evening in Montagu. Will definitely be back for Bloupunt, the Vic Hotel & the BG. Adam West.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdamWest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurgundyGherkin, Owner at Burgundy Gherkin, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks Adam for your review, we look forward to seeing you again and congratulations on hiking Bloupunt, its quite a hike.

Rhoda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgundy Gherkin also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Burgundy Gherkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing