We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Montagu stop-over.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Somerset Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Somerset Lodge
East London
1 review
“Montagu stop-over.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stopped in Montagu on our way home to East London from Cape Town. Somerset Lodge was peaceful and an enjoyable break on our journey. David was so helpful with places to have dinner which we also enjoyed. Beautiful surroundings, two delightful dogs to welcome you. Definitely a place to return to in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
95
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Dear David
Thank you for a luxurious room in your beautiful Lodge, which was private, warm, comfortable and romantic with the rose and camelia petals on our bed every night! Will recommend you to friends and family for future stays! Have a great Season in your beautiful village with so much to see and do!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We loved everything about the place, from the ambience, conveniant location, fresh linen, cosy and comfortable room, enough to keep us warm, peaceful and a great host (David) made this a wonderful place to stay for a week. We have re-booked for next year already.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I have travelled to many Bed and Breakfasts, but we have never experienced the outstanding service we received at Somerset Lodge. Rose petals on our beds....who would have thought of such a beautiful touch. David, our host, was so entertaining, regaling us with stories of his days as a professional ice skater. The views from the B & B were magnificent. We stayed in the Hilton Suite and it was beautifully decorated with all the necessities for a self catering unit. I can't wait to go back and visit again. Thank you David for making us feel like one of the family!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Somerset Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. We only spent one night but David made us feel very special and welcome. We loved our room, the beautiful garden and the delicious breakfast prepared for us before we left! We hope to return one day :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I and two friends stayed at this gem of a Bed and Breakfast nestled among beautiful gardens and singing birds. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully appointed. The self-catering rooms have all the basics and extra touches that make you feel most welcome. The host has marvelous tales of his many travels which he relates with warmth and humor. Guests are guaranteed a memorable experience. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryjack67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velddrif, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The best place to stay in Montagu! This is a beautiful lodge and the warm friendly personality of David makes it very difficult to leave. Therefor we will definitely come back to stay in your lovely place again, but next time it will be for longer.

See you again!

John & Wilma

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hndv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.5 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
2.0 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 33 in Montagu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.8 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
27.6 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Lodge

Property: Somerset Lodge
Address: 4 Thomson Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerset Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Lodge is set in a gorgeous English country garden against a backdrop of magnificent mountains, offers luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Our swimming pool, situated in its own secret garden, invites guests to relax and unwind, and is the perfect antidote to city stress. We are situated a mere two minutes walk from the Montagu Nature Garden, and our garden is visited by a large variety of bird species. Our rooms are tastefully decorated with every conceivable home comfort, and our linen is of the finest 100% cotton percale. All our garden rooms are en-suite, and are equipped with Satellite TV (2 channels), Air Conditioners - a welcome tray with tea and coffee, and bar fridges. All rooms have their own private entrances and patios, with braai facilities. In the morning a full breakfast is served in our dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing