We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attitude spoils a good break...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montagu Springs Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
L'Agulhas, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Attitude spoils a good break...”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The springs area... Beautifully laid out!

However, a chap pulls up in a golf buggy and says I may not park where I am parked as it is for the hotel guests only... I am a day visitor. No advice or suggestion to "park there"...

When I ask, I must go behind a point.
But there's a pile of soil dumped and blocking the area?
Yes!
So where shall I park then?
Just park on the pile!
In a car when a 4X4 could not get there???

Then inside the pool area - lots of signs saying no smoking. But the stompies are all over, floating in the jacuzzi and pool. the sign says "No glass!"

Empty bottles and glasses lying around, in the flower pots and the place is a pig-sty with old tissues as well...

Then a chap says we may not be in a part of the pool as it is only for hotel guests...

Where does it say that?
On the sign over therewe are told...
I did not see it.
We leave the area through the muddy path and look at the sign...

No restrictions like that at all!
No sign saying day visitors are not allowed in!
Of course, the staff member concerned is not to be found...

The fact that we are caucasian and the staff who were so officous were not caucasian makes me wonder what their agenda was...

Awful place!
Filthy!
Filthy pool area!
Filthy change rooms!
Bad attitude from the chap behing the bar when I asked when I could buy a cooldrink!

Really awful experience and my advice is stay away! You earn your money so don't waste it at the Montagu Springs!

Room Tip: Choose the hotel in the village - see my review on that! It is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Weary_of_Work_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontaguSprings, General Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Gerard, your review is posted on the wrong properties page. It should have been on the Avalon Springs Hotel page. Montagu Springs and Avalon Springs are two totally independent and separate businesses.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    18
    18
    11
See reviews for
43
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were a family that went away to Montagu springs for a couple of days - booked two chalets mid-July after school holidays, so the resort was literally empty. stayed at the Golden terraces with wonderful views of the vineyards and mountains from bedroom. loved the indoor fireplace, and undercover private braai & patio. I think however that the rooms linen needs replacing as the duvets and pillows have definitely seen better days and the shower needs upgrading/retiling - lots of mould evident on edging. Other than that we had lovely weather with some winter sun, my kids loved the hot pool and the playpark area kept them entertained. will definitely go back - but for longer stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontaguSprings, General Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Bronj, many thanks for you review. For your information, we have just purchased new linen for the Chalets and the Golden Terrace bathrooms as well as the exterior of the houses have just been upgraded and have received some fantastic comments from our recent guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Montagu Springs!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at Montagu Springs last weekend. What a wonderful and relaxing weekend. We booked a Golden Terrace – it had 2 bedrooms, a full bathroom (shower over bath, full equipped kitchen, and full dstv bouquet. The unit was comfortable, spotlessly clean. We had our own private braai and patio and under cover parking.

We were amazed at the beautiful gardens and the pure beauty that surrounded Montagu Springs. The pools where clean (did not smell like chlorine) and the hot pool and absolute bliss, so relaxing. There is ample running space for kids and with a big play park. Watching them feeding the birds was also very interesting.

The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
There was lots to do in and around the town, we visited quite a few farm stalls and dried food stores and came home with bags and bags filled with nuts, preserves and dried fruits.

The weather was on the cooler side (which suited as best) as the hot pool is the ultimate treat then.

My only complaint… we should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Golden Terrace - it is bigger than the plets, not as big or as luxurios as the Vilas, but you want b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontaguSprings, General Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Dolla_16, many thanks for your review. We do appreciate the positive comments. We trust that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were 3 friends that went away to Montagu Springs for my friends birthday. The weekend started rocky but it was all worth it at the end. we had loads of fun especially the warm water. Staff was really friendly and helpfull. Golden terraces was lovely our view of the wineyards great I was speechless the morning when I saw the surroundings. We will definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: Corner chalets more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontaguSprings, General Manager at Montagu Springs Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Illana, thank you for your review of your stay at Montagu Springs and the positive comments! We look forward to welcoming back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

We have come over many years and have until recently stayed in the plettenbergs - many of them . Totally agree with the other reviewer that they are old and tired looking. Never dirty but outdated and very worn. Saying that we stayed in the villa in april and that was lovely but the kids missed being close to the park and so forth. Staff are lovely and the grounds spotless and beautifully maintained. But the hotel at the springs have very competitive prices and we may consider staying there next time

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We were a party of 3 adults who had booked in for a mid week stay in a larger Plattenburg, from the broucher it looked wondeful. We were advised we could collect the key at 3pm.
we arrive a little early. The reception staff were very nice and suggested we pop to the coffee shop, we were advised that the cleaning was still in progress. 3pm we collected our key and directed to number 36 Plattenburg. The accommodation did not look as nice on the outside as the broucher had shown. On entering the smell was disgusting it was dirty, it stank, the bedrooms looked as though they had never been touch never mind cleaned, the bathroom and kitchen were the same. Curtains looked like they were going to fall off the runners. We went back to reception to say it was unacceptable for us to stay in the place, we were offered an upgrade of a more superior unit which would include a higher tarrif, this was also unacceptable.
We returned to reception to say we were unable to accept and we wanted re embursment of our money. This was promptly done and staff were very sorry we had found the place unacceptable and suggested we book in into the hotel which was on the complex, but they could only offer 1 night which was no good to us.
I would not reccommend this place for a stay.

Room Tip: Nothing acceptable filthy conditions.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank mal_lonsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montagu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
1.6 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#11 of 34 in Montagu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
1.5 mi away
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
#9 of 27 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.0 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#8 of 34 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Springs Resort

Property: Montagu Springs Resort
Address: Uitvlucht Street, Montagu, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montagu Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break from city life to unwind at the peaceful Montagu Springs Resort situated just two hours from Cape Town in Montagu. Select one of over 100 fully equipped self-catering chalets with direct access to hiking trails, heated and cool swimming pools, hot springs, and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Montagu Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing