We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and Tranquillity”
Review of African Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
African Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Relaxation and Tranquillity”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Would like to take this opportunity to say thanks for accommodating us for the 3 days we were there.
We really enjoyed our stay and you guys made it even greater by your warmth personalities.
The hospitality, genuine friendliness and evident knowledge of the game farm was exceptional.
I’m actually telling all my friends about this.

Big thanks to LEN & Mandy you guys rock
Zane and Izelle great customer services skills

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simphiwe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Manager at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Simphiwe,

Thank you for the nice review. It was nice having your company with us at the lodge and we surely hope that we will be seeing you soon.

Regards
Zane and Izelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    66
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
102
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you want to get away from it all, this is the place for you. About 2:30 drive from Cape Town its ideal for a weekend away. From the moment you stop there until you leave you feel so at home. Len and Mandy Freeman, the owners, are very attentive hosts and personally met us and took us to the charlet. The charlets are stunning and really have everything you need!! We opt for the self catering option but decided to have supper on the Saturday night. It was amazing and Zane really made a lovely 3 course supper for us. They even cater for healthier eaters!! The Sunday we were treated to a fossil walk which was amazing!! Really would recommend this to any person just wanting to get away from it all. There are a number of accommodation choices each catering to your needs. I have NEVER seen the stars look this beautiful!!

Room Tip: The honeymoon chalet is the furthes away from the lodge and overlook the cheetah enclosure
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blommielin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Manager at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the review. It was a great pleasure having you and your husband with us for the weekend. Next time we might be able to show you a little more of the reserve once our renovations are done.

Regards
Izelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a great time at African Game Lodge. The Cottage was beautifully presented and the whole place has lovely views with a real sense of isolation. Zane and Izelle were very good hosts: cooking for our family and advising on a wonderful four hour walk that took up behind the mountains. A couple of things: this is not a safari-type reserve: more a big property with some wildlife here and there. Also, the "Cheetah Awareness program" needs to be developed: it's basically watching a couple of rescued cheetahs being fed. These are small matters though: the place is just great and the price is extremely reasonable.

Room Tip: Any of the cottages
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank atgkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Manager at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Anne,

Thank you for the review. We are in the process of developing a more interesting approach towards our cheetah awareness program and hopefully when we see you again it would be a nice venture for you and the kids.

Regards
Zane and Izelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This camp is set in a most peaceful place in the Klein Karoo just 35mins drive from Montagu on reasonable dirt roads. Our party of 6 were the only occupants of the camp during our mid-week stay which made it very special. There is much that needs to be done around the camp to bring it up to scratch but Zane & Izelle as the new management team are young & keen and we have no doubt that they will achieve all they set out to do.
The chalets themselves are comfortable & have an African themed decor. They are powered by solar panels with just 12v output so self caterers can only cook on a gas hob or the braai (barbecue) outside - no microwave or toaster but we managed perfectly well.
Donkeys, ostriches, eland & a water mongoose roam freely which makes for an interesting stay. The birding is really good & we saw many species. The lodge is part of a cheetah awareness programme & we enjoyed watching feeding time for the two that were there at the time.
All in all a very good visit & we will definitely return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Manager at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Jill,

Thank you for your nice review. We enjoyed your company and life that you brought to the lodge.

It is always nice to hear what people think. You mentioned the Birdlife SA association that you belong to, could you email me the contact persons details in order for us to get involved with them.

Regards
Izelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Forget about big five! Go here! This is a great place to experience the Klein Karoo. We spent two nights in the tented camp. But it was hardly camping. It was a hotelroom with a unique view from the bed on nature and on the cheetas that are there for rehabilitation. Lots of activities: from easy walks to serious trekking. And a nice gamedrive. We saw all kinds of bok and wildebeest. On the compound itself there are ostriches and eland. The hosts are really welcoming and the homecooking is great. We could easiliy have spent more days. As for the drive to the lodge. The unpaved road is ok to drive with a sedan, but take your time and drive carefully. It took us just under an hour from Montagu. But it is worth it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joost D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Joost
Thank you for posting a review and your positive feedback about your staff. The Little Karoo is indeed the most wonderful place to visit and it is inevitable that the quietness and space will make you rest! We also had a great time hosting and meeting you and seeing our reserve through your appreciative eyes. Come back soon. Regards Len & Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our visit to the African Game Lodge was
absolutely fantastic. Everything was perfect...
Mandy and Len made us feel so welcome .
The cottages are super and so well equipped
and the interior decorating is wonderful and one
immediately feels at home.
We thoroughly enjoyed the eco/game drive
with Len. He told us so much about the
fauna, flora and animals in the area .. it's
really worthwhile to do. One does not often
get the chance to see such a breathtaking
landscape with the such rich variety of colors.

Then there are the ostriches Emma and Sadie
and what a delight to see them every day..
coming for their snack.
not forgetting Mildred the goat ..she is so cute..
although a bit mischievous we heard say...
Seeing the cheetahs so close by and how well they
are cared for was quite an experience. They
are such beautiful big cats...
The weather was great and while enjoying
our walks we discovered some strange insects
as well as an enormous turtle...
A quiet and and most beautiful paradise ..
Many thanks Mandy and Len for the most
wonderful stay.
Johanna and Cor from the Netherlands....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna26_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Johanna, thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor and also for the really beautiful pictures that you sent through of the animals you encountered during your stay. Sometimes we are so involved that we forget to take pictures of what we see, so it is really nice to have some good photographs of the animals and creatures. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Regards Len and Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Isle of Wight, UK
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Lodge is about 45 minutes from Montagu along a mostly gravel road which is in pretty good condition. You pass through some beautiful Klein Karoo mountain scenery and interesting vegetation to get there, and the Lodge itself is set in a very peaceful valley. There is a restaurant/bar and swimming pool for guests use and the accommodation is in pretty thatched eco-cottages and a tent on decking overlooking a dam. Len and Mandy are wonderful hosts and their commitment to conservation shines through everything they are doing. No big five squashed into compounds here and no big five prices - instead tranquility, solitude (except when the ostrich tries to eat lunch with you!) and a host of animals in an appropriate environment.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Norma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
13.6 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
88 reviews
14.2 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
14.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
White Lion Lodge
White Lion Lodge
#14 of 34 in Montagu
90 reviews
14.3 mi away
Klein Nektar Wine & Olive Estate
14.1 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#5 of 27 in Montagu
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Game Lodge

Property: African Game Lodge
Address: Driekuilshoogte Pad, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — African Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a vast valley amidst the spectacular highland mountainous scenery of the Little Karoo, lies African Game Lodge, a private nature reserve where wild animal have a future. Whether you are looking for a relaxing nature break, need to recharge your batteries or you are looking for an active holiday where you can hike & bike in natural surrounds, African Game Lodge is ideally situated, being only 2 ½ hours from Cape Town and just 30 minutes from the magical town of Montagu. Well-appointed thatch cottages, built in traditional Karoo architecture, provide a comfortable retreat where you can relax and look out over the valley, open spaces and surrounding mountains. Each Cottage is equipped with a fireplace for those chilly winter evenings, and the thatched roofs ensures an inviting coolness during the heat of summer. Awake from a good night sleep, and venture out into the healthy mountain air to choose from a variety of activities such as day hikes, short walks, self-drives, Eco & Game Viewing Drives, bird watching, nature exploring, or just sit and absorb the absolute silence and sounds of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your African Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing