We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really beautiful place to stay”
Review of African Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
African Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
cape town
1 review
“a really beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our family rented 3 cottages for 3 nights in September 2012. The setting of the African Game Lodge is remote and beautiful. The game drives we took with Len and Mandy were enriched by their extensive knowledge of the animals, fauna and flora of the area. It was quite special to have Cheetahs as your nearest neighbours. The landscape always looks breathtaking, even when viewed through the cottage windows as a spring storm raged outside! The open fire and thick blankets kept us warm and when the sun came out the next day, we were eating outside and walking the hills. Thanks to Len and Mandy for everything; we hope to return to this tranquil setting soon.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sally t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Sally, thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that African Game Lodge was such a wonderful experience for you to spend time enjoying the family. Particularly that it was Anna and Deon's second visit to African Game Lodge. We also enjoyed the fun time we had on the nature drive, and please tell Elih that the tadpoles in the river all have legs now! Regards Len and Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    66
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
100
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our second time at African Game Lodge and it was even better than the first. The relaxing mode that one gets into at this wonderful nature paradise is just wonderful. The quiet,
tranquility is just great in this mad world we live in.
It is lovely just to hear nature without cellphones,tv.etc.
Len and Mandy Freeman are wonderful hosts and make you feel so at home. The meals that are
prepared there are great. One can do self-catering, which is also great, but if you really want to do nothing you can organize breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The whole ambiance is great. It really makes one realize what a beautiful world we live in. The eco/game drive is really worthwhile. We were very fortunate to see all the animals.
We had visitors from England with us and they were really entralled at the concept of this lovely lodge.
The chalets are most comfortable with all the necessary requirements for a very comfortable stay.
Mildred the goat is so cute and the two ostriches that like to share your rusks while having morning coffee on the stoop. There are also wonderful walks. We will definately be returning for another tranquil stay at this glorious place. Thank you Mandy and Len.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruises2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Janet and John. Thank you for a lovely review. For us, having guests here who appreciate the beauty of African Game Lodge and the sensitivity with which we are trying to manage our reserve gives us the energy to do more for this special place. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your return. Regards Len and Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

What a beautiful spot to get away from the hustle of city life. The two bedroom cottages are well kitted out for a very comfortable stay.

The wide open spaces were truly breathtaking and whether chilling by the pool, with Midred the goat to amuse us, or walking up to three and a half hours across the hills and through the kloof, or taking a game drive, this is a must visit destination.

The owners and staff were so welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The braais at the lodge boma were a great opportunity to chat to the staff about the history and the fossils, rock paintings and game that can be seen around the lodge area.

As well as the Eland, Ostrich and Helmeted Guneafowls that roam around the cottages, we saw Cape Rhebok, Kudu, Gemsbok, Black Wildebeest and Angulated Tortoise on our walks and game drives.

It was our first visit, but it will certainly not be our last.

Room Tip: All of the cottages are spaced out, so that you almost feel like you are on your own and they are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeliaandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Celia and Charlie, it was wonderful having you and your relatives at African Game Lodge and I hope you were able to relax a bit after your travels around South Africa. I am still amazed at how you managed to complete our 5 hour Slagkloof Trail in just over 3 hours (and take all those wonderful pictures of the flowers you posted). See you soon. Regards Len and Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We spent 2 nights in one of their lovely perfectly equipped cottages, with 2 rooms. Each cottage has its own deck looking out across their land. The staff were very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially game viewing in our own 4X4. We were able to explore their land in our own time along with our 5 month and 2.5 year old in the car which was ideal for us, although the lodge offers safari game viewing for those without 4X4's. Excellent value for money and looking forward to returning again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of African Game Lodge. Your experiences are exactly what we want to achieve - a restful stay and getting back to nature. We hope you return soon and the little ones grow up to be part of a community who appreciates the environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Spent two nights there, an adult and two children aged 11 and 6.
Beautiful quiet spot, nice accommodation and caring management

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Manager at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you Dave for visiting African Game Lodge, we really appreciate your comments and are happy that you and the family had a great time. We hope to see you again in the future.
Take Care
The Staff at African Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the African Game Lodge from the very first second.
The lodge was friendly and comfortable in all aspects. Mandy and Len are the most wonderful hosts and we quickly felt part of a little family.
The food was outstanding as was the service given by everyone. The game drive was amazing. In addition, walking with the cheetahs was an unforgettable experience, we learned a lot about this fascinating animals and the conservation awareness program, which takes place at the African Game Lodge. Having looked at the prices that other game lodges charge African Game lodge provides excellent value for money. We highly recommend this place and looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Manager at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for Visiting African Game lodge, we are truly glad that stay was a memorable one and hope to see you again in the future.
Your photos that you forwarded on to us have helped us show the Lodge in a different light, Thankyou
All the best
The team at African Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Trevor & Nerida, South Africa
4 February 2012
Mandy & Len are the most wonderful and friendly hosts, we were really spoilt with our full on
board.( food was great) if you are looking for some peace and quite and like to be in tune with nature, then this is the place for you.( chalets are so stunningly decorated and well equiped with everything you need) The experience on the game drive was very informative.It was a
great opportunity to get up close with the cheetah, what a wonderful creature.we were so chilled out that it was very sad to leave. will defintely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIDS_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy F, Manager at African Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
I am very happy that your experience was a good and memorable one, and look forward to your next visit
Have a great day
From all at African Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
14.2 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
11.7 mi away
White Lion Lodge
White Lion Lodge
#13 of 34 in Montagu
90 reviews
14.9 mi away
Kogman & Keisie Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
14.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
435 reviews
11.0 mi away
Glen Eden Farm
Glen Eden Farm
#10 of 27 in Montagu
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Game Lodge

Property: African Game Lodge
Address: Driekuilshoogte Pad, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — African Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a vast valley amidst the spectacular highland mountainous scenery of the Little Karoo, lies African Game Lodge, a private nature reserve where wild animal have a future. Whether you are looking for a relaxing nature break, need to recharge your batteries or you are looking for an active holiday where you can hike & bike in natural surrounds, African Game Lodge is ideally situated, being only 2 ½ hours from Cape Town and just 30 minutes from the magical town of Montagu. Well-appointed thatch cottages, built in traditional Karoo architecture, provide a comfortable retreat where you can relax and look out over the valley, open spaces and surrounding mountains. Each Cottage is equipped with a fireplace for those chilly winter evenings, and the thatched roofs ensures an inviting coolness during the heat of summer. Awake from a good night sleep, and venture out into the healthy mountain air to choose from a variety of activities such as day hikes, short walks, self-drives, Eco & Game Viewing Drives, bird watching, nature exploring, or just sit and absorb the absolute silence and sounds of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your African Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing