We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Ranked #6 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Small guest house nicely placed with good restaurants within easy walking distance. Very quiet rooms. Easy secure parking. Friendly welcome. Good breakfast. Very clean. Hot water. Garden to sit in. Beautiful little town. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreacleGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 169 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2010

wonderful place and wonderful people.
definitelly recomended !!
my kids and my husband and I had a very pleasant stay .

Thank you
Marzena Janse van Rensburg
Albertinia

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marzenaAlbertinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Just come back from our third stay here in the last year. Had the SC unit which is very spacious, well equipped and maintained and very comfortable. Shirley & Paul are great hosts and will help with anything.
Koo Karoo Lodge is centrally located in a lovely part of Montagu and within 5 minutes walk of several restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetcornfritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We spent 1 night at Koo Karoo as a stopover and were very pleased with our stay. The service was excellent and it represented very good value for money. The family unit (we have boys aged 8 & 10) was fine for our needs. The kitchen was well fitted out and all the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bristolhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Set on a quiet, sleepy road in a quiet, sleepy town, Koo Karoo is a friendly and informal guest house thanks to its hosts, Paul and Shirley, who go out of their way to make their guests comfortable. The guesthouse was built in the 1890s and is full of character. Our room was large with old, pine furniture, wooden floorboards and a king size bed. There is also access to a small pool along with a braai area which guests can use and Wifi access for a small charge. A complimentary glass of Muscadel, the local speciality dessert wine, is also offered.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markswin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

This was the most peaceful place ever. If you are looking for tranquility and relaxation this is the place for you. The owners are friendly and interesting as well as very helpful on advising us on the best visitors sites in and around the area.

Value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

For those driving along the Route 62 this is a great value guesthouse to stay at in Montagu. We had a lovely double ensuite room with it's own separate entrance in the back garden area. Plenty of off road parking, easy walking distance to local restaurants, and there was a small plunge pool which would be a welcome facility on a hot day. Generous breakfast and friendly owners helped to make the Koo Karoo a winner for us.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonymousGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
1.5 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#8 of 35 in Montagu
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Glen Eden Farm
Glen Eden Farm
#11 of 27 in Montagu
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#5 of 27 in Montagu
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 27 in Montagu
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koo Karoo Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koo Karoo Guest Lodge

Address: 5 Piet Retief Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range: $41 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koo Karoo Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious en-suite B&B rooms with private entrances. Economy double/twin; queen double and king double. Economy room and Queen room offer tea/coffee facilities, heater/fan and SABC TV. King room offers tea/coffee facilities; modern airconditioning unit and overlooks the garden. Early breakfasts catered for if required! Secluded garden, braai area, gated off road parking and small pool. Free WiFi available in all rooms. Visa & Mastercard accepted. Two self catering facilities with well equipped kitchens and lounge areas with DSTV (30 channels)located on the same site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koo Karoo Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koo Karoo Guest Hotel Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing