We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
140
46
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
140
46
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small pool private access home from home self catering cottage quiet area booking restaurants our room was spacious restaurants and shops breakfast was excellent excellent place to stay very comfortable stay town centre safe parking no hesitation in recommending lovely place south africa mystic tin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 191 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2017

It was great to return to the Koo Karoo again. We got a great welcome from Shirley and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves yet again. We had our usual room which we like very much. Shirley and Anne were very helpful in booking restaurants and doing washing etc. Hopefully we will be back again next year.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AHT-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2017

Thankyou so much Heather & Andy for your review. It is good that you keep returning to South Africa and in particular Montagu and to me here at Koo Karoo! I know that you enjoy the king room and you that you greatly appreciate Anne's washing and ironing. With my best wishes for a successful year of travels, Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017

This was my second stay at Koo Karoo and I thoroughly enjoyed it again. My room was comfortable, Shirley was so welcoming and the pool was wonderful for cooling off in the afternoon. This is such an interesting and attractive area that there is plenty to do and Shirley is a mine of information about local places of interest and, of course, the wine tasting! It's so good, I've already booked for next year!

Room tip: I loved having the room with air con but the self catering cottages are great too.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filetmylar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Many thanks Janet for your review. I am so pleased that everything was acceptable for your stay, it was a real pleasure to host you again and to discuss your travels and new places of interest. I am already looking forward to your return visit in 2018! With my best wishes for many happy and safe travels during the year, Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017

The rooms was nice and large, had wifi and a small tv. There a nice garden with splash pool.The price was very cheap for one person. There is a communal kitchen with a fridge in the kitchen. The rooms don't have a fridge.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank faiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2017

Hello Faiek
Many thanks for your review, however some of your information that you have supplied is incorrect.
The room that you booked is the 'economy room' and is a standard bed and breakfast room with ensuite shower, tea and coffee facilities, WiFi and small SABC TV. The queen bed and breakfast room has the same facilities.You rightly saw the economy room does not have a fridge, neither does the queen room, but there is no 'communal kitchen' for the Bed and Breakfast rooms. The king room at the back does have a fridge and also has aircon and DSTV too. The two self catering facilities on the premises have their own kitchens with fridge, freezer, microwave, toaster, kettle, ovens and stoves and sitting areas with DSTV also. They also have WiFi access.
I hope that this explains more fully the different rooms and the facilities that they offer.
Kind Regards, Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2016 via mobile

Thank you Shirley
We enjoyed our stay very much. The chalet were nice and clean and we enjoyed the peace and quiet. The private parking were an added bonus. The swimming pool came to our resque during the warm days. I will recommend this place defenitely

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 77jacquesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

Thanks Jacques for your kind and positive review of your stay. I am so pleased that the cottage facilities were acceptable for you and that you enjoyed my small pool. It was a pleasure to host you and your family and I hope you may return one day in the future. With my best wishes for many safe and happy travels, Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

You couldn't want more from Koo Karoo. Close to the main road but calm and peaceful. Spotless rooms were large and comfortable with kettle, fridge and clean towels provided. Plunge pool cooled us off after a hot day on the road. Shirley is a wonderful hostess, who will welcome you, book you a table at the best restaurant in town and even help you buy a house, if you find yourself in a bind in Africa without a printer! Montagu itself is beautiful and well worth a visit. We had an excellent stay, would highly recommend Koo Karoo, and hope to be back one day.
Thanks Shirley, all the best.
Sian & Henry

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2016

Thankyou so much Sian & Henry for your wonderful words. I am so happy that you enjoyed your time here and I am pleased I was able to help by printing and scanning the required document, it was a pleasure to be of assistance! I do hope that you will return to Montagu one day in the future. Enjoy all your travels, Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews