We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Ranked #8 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very enjoyable visit”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge for B&B in February 2012. We had a warm welcome from Paul and Shirley and were shown to Room 3. This was large and airy with a comfortable bed and was very clean. In the room there was a sofa, a small desk and the usual tea and coffee making facilities. What was unusual was that there was a bath and a separate shower cubicle. Room 3 and several other guest rooms open onto a garden/courtyard giving a private but open feel. There is a large comfortable shared sitting room with plenty of information leaflets and menus for many of the local restaurants - and complimentary wine.

Paul and Shirley are friendly hosts but not intrusive and are very willing to provide information on the town, things to do and where to eat. We ate at Ye Olde Tavern which is nearby on the first night and were so impressed we went back for the second. There is wifi, charged at a nominal R20 for unlimited access and an acceptably fast connection in our room. Breakfast was excellent, well presented, well cooked with a wide variety of items on offer. Breakfast is available during the usual hours but we asked for an earlier time and they happily provided a full cooked breakfast.

We have tried, and failed, to think of some criticism. If you want excellent accommodation and service at a reasonable price in Montagu then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooKaroo, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Many thanks Joanne for your kind comments about your stay here with us at Koo Karoo. It was a pleasure to offer you and your husband suggestions on places to visit and restaurants in the village too. We trust that you had a successful holiday and perhaps one day you may return to Montagu! Kind Regards, Shirley & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
74
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, south africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We just loved our stay with Paul and Shirley at Koo Karoo self catering cottage in historic Montagu. The self catering cottage was perfect for 4 adults in 2 bedrooms sharing a large bathroom. The cottage was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Paul and Shirley were great hosts, helpful and attentive. The cottage is perfectly situated within walking distance to the centre of town and main attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jvdb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooKaroo, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Many thanks Jane & Brent for your kind comments. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your trip to this area and explored lots of new places! It was a pleasure to have you stay and perhaps the next time your sons will be able to complete the rock climbing that they are so interested in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is a lovely little place in a lovely little town (an easy 2 hour drive from CT airport). We stayed in the bigger of the 2 self catering cottages out the back of the main accommodation, and it was perfect for what we needed, 2 nice/large bedrooms, with a large living/kitchen area that was very well equiped. The bathroom is accessed off both bedrooms but that wasn't an issue for us. From inital contact until we left Paul and Shirley made everything easy, and were full of useful info. Great value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodfiendWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Four of us stayed here just one night on our way to Cape Town from PE. Shirley and Paul were very welcoming. We planned to go out for breakfast then decided at the last minute that this would take up to much time so Shriely and Paul put themselves out to provide piles of toast and bottomless pots of tea at he very last minute.

The two bed cottage is very reasonably priced,good beds, tv and heater if needed. The only minor problem was that both bedrooms had a door into the bathroom which could have been a bit embarassing, so sing when you visit the loo!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IVH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Lovely little cottage, nice and social for 3-4 people. Little touches like kitchen roll, paper napkins etc make a difference to you feeling at home. Paul and Shirley are friendly and welcoming and available for advice but manage to strike the right balance of leaving you to get on with your trip. Absolute value for money, not the flashest place we stayed in our 3 weeks, but a cute place in the heart of Montagu.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strollinthepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Shirley and Paul welcomed us on arrival and immediately we felt at ease. This was where we wanted to stay for, sadly, a one night stop from our base with family in Capetown. Our room was very spacious, the BIGGEST DOUBLE BED I have ever slept in, a very welcome bath with masses of hot water, and we shared a complimentary aperitif with Paul and Shirley in front of a log fire before we walked over the road to a very cosy, busy Bistro for dinner. Next morning we had a sumptious breakfast with more than anyone could eat, and left , in pouring rain back to Capetown ( it was winter! ) but we promised to keep in touch and I can highly recommend Kookaroo Guest Lodge with the most charming hosts.....next trip to South Africa we will be back!!!

Room Tip: I would recommend our room with a massive bed and the bath behind screens in the room with patio doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theodorospaphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We had a very nice stay at Koo Karoo! Wifi in the cottage was nice. Good beds and a heater for the cold nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinevrijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
552 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kogman & Keisie Guest Farm
0.0 mi away
Squirrels Corner
Squirrels Corner
#14 of 27 in Montagu
32 reviews
8.7 mi away
Glen Eden Farm
Glen Eden Farm
#10 of 27 in Montagu
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koo Karoo Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koo Karoo Guest Lodge

Property: Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Address: 5 Piet Retief Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koo Karoo Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious en-suite B&B rooms with private entrances. Economy double/twin; queen double and king double. Economy room and Queen room offer tea/coffee facilities, heater/fan and SABC TV. King room offers tea/coffee facilities; modern airconditioning unit and overlooks the garden. Early breakfasts catered for if required! Secluded garden, braai area, gated off road parking and small pool. Free WiFi available in all rooms. Visa & Mastercard accepted. Two self catering facilities with well equipped kitchens and lounge areas with DSTV (30 channels)located on the same site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Koo Karoo Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koo Karoo Guest Hotel Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing