We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice first night restaurant”
Review of Ye Olde Tavern

Ye Olde Tavern
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casual Family Restaurant set in a beautiful old building showcasing the interesting history of Montagu, with a delightul garden for diners that enjoy the fresh air. Extensive menu caters for all tastes, including vegetarian and gluten free, with a Kiddies Menu as well. Drinks are served in the garden or at the bar from 3.30 PM and dinner is available from 5.30PM with the kitchen taking the last order at 9.30 PM. Reservations are advised as tables are taken rather quickly, so to avoid dissapointment - "phone or email ahead of time! We look forward to having you dine with us!
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Arrived late this was recommended. Very homely bustling atmosphere with log fire. Menu choice extensive fish, steak, lamb, pork, burgers, veggie, pasta, pizza. Wine v good. Large portions so no room for desert but was tempted. Food quality and presentation good. Value very good. Can take kids.

Thank Speigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Glad we were first choice on your dinner venue menu. Your positive feedback and review is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 351 of 593 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a great restaurant. Friendly and great service. Warm and cosy restaurant and the prices are very reasonable. Best pizza I have had in a long time.

Thank Vanessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you very much. Always great to get positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Loved this place. My 2nd visit in 2 years and the food is consistent and tasty. I had a salmon Alfredo with penne which was delicious and a fine bottle of van Loveren wine. If you can , sit a table away from the fire if in winter time...cosy, warm and amazing. Great service too.

Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback. Glad you enjoyed your dinner with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We expected a pub-style restaurant from the name, but it is a converted house as many are in these outlying towns. We went on the recommendation of our B&B hosts on a Saturday evening and were not disappointed. My husband went for the lauded lamb shank and I had a delicious pasta dish. Value for money was excellent and there would be something to suit every taste. Just slightly disappointed to learn that you cannot take part-consumed bottles of wine away with you due to their licensing arrangement and also felt a little rushed at the end of our meal to pay the bill. Would not be put off going again though.

Thank Jangles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you so much for your detailed review and praise. I must apologize if we were a little too premature in presenting you with the bill as it is never our intention to rush our customers. Sadly the liquor licensing laws were updated about 2 years ago. Ye Olde Tavern only has an ON CONSUMPTION Liquor license therefore, no liquor may be taken off the premises but you are more than welcome to bring your own in future which you may take back with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Good choice of fayre, Homemade steak and ale pie simply delicious, great portion size and very inexpensive. My boyfriend had a pizza and it was better than most pizza's in pizza restaurants! Malva pudding and Apple crumble also delicious! BYO only R10 a bottle, but the sizeable glass of house white Sauvignon is a steal at R15 fo a large glass. Very friendly and attentive service too! Andrea and Mark

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andreaandmark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you so very much for your praise and review. Hope to see you next time you come this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Tavern also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Ye Olde Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing