We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misnoma?”
Review of Ye Olde Tavern

Ye Olde Tavern
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casual Family Restaurant set in a beautiful old building showcasing the interesting history of Montagu, with a delightul garden for diners that enjoy the fresh air. Extensive menu caters for all tastes, including vegetarian and gluten free, with a Kiddies Menu as well. Drinks are served in the garden or at the bar from 3.30 PM and dinner is available from 5.30PM with the kitchen taking the last order at 9.30 PM. Reservations are advised as tables are taken rather quickly, so to avoid dissapointment - "phone or email ahead of time! We look forward to having you dine with us!
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We expected a pub-style restaurant from the name, but it is a converted house as many are in these outlying towns. We went on the recommendation of our B&B hosts on a Saturday evening and were not disappointed. My husband went for the lauded lamb shank and I had a delicious pasta dish. Value for money was excellent and there would be something to suit every taste. Just slightly disappointed to learn that you cannot take part-consumed bottles of wine away with you due to their licensing arrangement and also felt a little rushed at the end of our meal to pay the bill. Would not be put off going again though.

Thank Jangles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you so much for your detailed review and praise. I must apologize if we were a little too premature in presenting you with the bill as it is never our intention to rush our customers. Sadly the liquor licensing laws were updated about 2 years ago. Ye Olde Tavern only has an ON CONSUMPTION Liquor license therefore, no liquor may be taken off the premises but you are more than welcome to bring your own in future which you may take back with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 391 of 637 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

Good choice of fayre, Homemade steak and ale pie simply delicious, great portion size and very inexpensive. My boyfriend had a pizza and it was better than most pizza's in pizza restaurants! Malva pudding and Apple crumble also delicious! BYO only R10 a bottle, but the sizeable glass of house white Sauvignon is a steal at R15 fo a large glass. Very friendly and attentive service too! Andrea and Mark

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andreaandmark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you so very much for your praise and review. Hope to see you next time you come this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Cosy and warm, even when it is freezing outside. Excellent service. Big choice in food, well presented and very tasty. Most of the restaurants in town were empty and Ye Olde Tavern was jam packed full after 19.00 , mostly locals. That should mean something. Will return for sure.

Thank 2011Happy_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local . The staff were very friendly and helpful. Service was fantastic and the food was excellent . Well priced and a wonderful meal. Would most definitely recommend the restaurant and I'd definitely go back.

Thank Ant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your review and recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Ye Olde Tavern has a relaxed, cosy atmosphere and the service was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed a good, unpretentious meal. The dishes were tasty and well-prepared. Definitely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 360Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and glad you enjoyed your dinner with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Tavern also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Ye Olde Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing