We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and people.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde Tavern

Ye Olde Tavern
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montagu, South Africa
2 reviews
“Lovely food and people.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The food was excellent and the service even better. If we are in Montagu again we go to this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Manager at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
My staff and I sincerely appreciate the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    187
    59
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montagu, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Needs a shake up!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Service was less than acceptable and incorrect orders were delivered. The food was mediocre to say the least. Perhaps a smaller menu and trained staff would help.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FriendofGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for the review and being a local I'm sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We do slip up every now and then and we have been extremely busy this season and constantly learning from our mistakes. We trust that next time you visit you will notice that we did shake things up for the better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of our favourite restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We visited Ye Olde Tavern 3 times during our recent stay in Montagu, Each time the food was great and service friendly and helpful .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AHT-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We love it that we are considered one of your favourite restaurants to visit in Montagu and certainly look forward to serving up another delicious meal for you to enjoy next time you in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

lovely surroundings, quality food and good service.Set in an old Cape Dutch house it was very atmospheric. Very popular place so advisable to book. Good interesting Cape dishes to choose from and delicious desserts. Particularly enjoyed the Cape brandy pudding. To die for!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank david q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your meal. Your review is sincerely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham sussex
Level Contributor
259 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

What can I say wonderful food and drink great staff and exceptional value. Would certainly recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Tavern also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Ye Olde Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing