We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Ye Olde Tavern

Ye Olde Tavern
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casual Family Restaurant set in a beautiful old building showcasing the interesting history of Montagu, with a delightul garden for diners that enjoy the fresh air. Extensive menu caters for all tastes, including vegetarian and gluten free, with a Kiddies Menu as well. Drinks are served in the garden or at the bar from 3.30 PM and dinner is available from 5.30PM with the kitchen taking the last order at 9.30 PM. Reservations are advised as tables are taken rather quickly, so to avoid dissapointment - "phone or email ahead of time! We look forward to having you dine with us!
Reviewed March 7, 2014

What can I say wonderful food and drink great staff and exceptional value. Would certainly recommend.

Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you so much for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 386 of 587 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great food and great staff. No wonder we went there more than once. The menu was extensive and dining there should be recommended to anyone.

Thank itma_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your visit and dinner. Thank you for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very good selection on menu with very good food although the evening we went there seemed to be a staff crisis and the wait was fairly long although sitting in the garden relaxing made this acceptable.

Thank ADooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you so much for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We ate outside on a balmy evening. Excellent piri piri chicken liver followed by great lamb. Really liked the place

Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you so much for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had reserved a table which was essential certainly on a Sunday night when many places are closed. The service was all a bit confused and we had to wait an hour between starter and main. The food was quite good but not worth the wait.

Thank howard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and my sincere apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. As you mentioned, many restaurants are closed on a Sunday in Montagu and so we end up with a lot more foot traffic. When nights like this happen, especially in the middle of summer can sometimes be overwhelmed which can put a lot of pressure on our kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Tavern also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Ye Olde Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing