We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Ye Olde Tavern

Ye Olde Tavern
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casual Family Restaurant set in a beautiful old building showcasing the interesting history of Montagu, with a delightul garden for diners that enjoy the fresh air. Extensive menu caters for all tastes, including vegetarian and gluten free, with a Kiddies Menu as well. Drinks are served in the garden or at the bar from 3.30 PM and dinner is available from 5.30PM with the kitchen taking the last order at 9.30 PM. Reservations are advised as tables are taken rather quickly, so to avoid dissapointment - "phone or email ahead of time! We look forward to having you dine with us!
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Ye Olde Tavern was recommended to us. Walking distance from our overnight stay. Lovely and warm atmosphere with a fire going in the fireplace. Friendly service and the food was excellent. We had the Shanks and the Bobotie. Very good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you so much for the review. My staff and I sincerely appreciate it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Ye Olde Tavern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 407 of 578 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very nice lamb shank.
Friendly service catered for families (coloring books and puzzles for kids)
Wine list a bit too restricted

Thank SteffAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Glad you enjoyed the Lamb Shank. Sadly we just do not have enough storage or fridge space to stock more wines and because we have so many visitors travelling from or on way to Stellenbosch/Franschoek and Cape Town, I thought it best to only stock local wines from the area. Even so, there are many excellent wines out there and our corkage fee is a mere R10 so visitors are more than welcome to bring their favourite wines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a cracking little place which gets very busy so you need to book. Varied menu and enjoyable food and wine.Very good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Glad that we were able to offer you a nice selection and provide good value whilst on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

There was a smashing atmosphere and welcome. Food was first class. This place is highly recommended.

Thank PGGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. My staff and I appreciate it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent food & lovely atmosphere. Great traditional treats and deserts to die for. Second time we've eaten there and will definitely go again.

Thank Mattie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

So glad you returned to try us again and hope that Montagu will be a favourite stop for you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Tavern also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Ye Olde Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing