We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal in cozy atmosphere”
Review of Ye Olde Tavern

Ye Olde Tavern
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casual Family Restaurant set in a beautiful old building showcasing the interesting history of Montagu, with a delightul garden for diners that enjoy the fresh air. Extensive menu caters for all tastes, including vegetarian and gluten free, with a Kiddies Menu as well. Drinks are served in the garden or at the bar from 3.30 PM and dinner is available from 5.30PM with the kitchen taking the last order at 9.30 PM. Reservations are advised as tables are taken rather quickly, so to avoid dissapointment - "phone or email ahead of time! We look forward to having you dine with us!
Ottenbach, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious meal in cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very cozy little restaurant. Very friendly staff and owner. Meal very good. Prices ok. Would go again anytime.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthias T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, my staff and I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    200
    68
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A very busy restaurant which is patronised by the locals, which is a good sign! Important to book as many people were turned away. Excellent food which is reasonable priced.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the review. We have a saying in Montagu that if you visit us often enough we will call you a "local" :-) so next time you pop in consider yourself at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liscannor, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“liked it so much we went back on our second night in Montagu”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The house specials are delicious, they make an excellent Bobotie and the apple crumble (huge portion) is no ordinary apple crumble, I would love to get my hands on that recipe!
Prices are very reasonable also.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susannejward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review. If you can email me on yeoldetavern@telkomsa.net then I will be very happy to share our Apple Crumble Recipe which is so very easy to make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food...huge portions”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place has a nice fireplace which was great on that night as it was pretty cold. We came in and were welcomed by the friendly owner, a friendly and efficient waitress looked after us all evening. The food was very good and correctly priced. The portions are huge...I couldn't finish my bobotie but my partner managed (with difficulty) to finish his lamb shank: it was too good to leave behind!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Being in the countryside, we like to ensure that our locals and our visitors are "well fed" and I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and the service. I will share your comments with my staff which is always a huge motivation for them. Hope to have you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing Restaurant”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

With not much choice when it comes to dining out in Montagu, and our favourite restaurant fully booked, we had no option but to try Ye Olde Tavern. My husband and I both ordered the Chicken Cordon Bleu. We were served one tiny Cordon Bleu, not homemade but out of an I&J box from the supermarket, a pile of chips and a ramekin containing watery creamed spinach. The spinach was like spinach soup, the single, tiny Cordon Bleu tasted just like the one I make at home, straight out of a box, and in order to satisfy our hunger, we were forced to fill up on the huge pile of chips!
I will make sure that when next we are in Montagu that I phone ahead and book at our 'other' restaurant to avoid a similar disappointing experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your review and it is regretful that we were not able to live up to your favourite restaurant expectations. We have a vast variety of dishes on our menu that are made from scratch and unfortunately, the Chicken Cordon Blue (although not out of an I&J box) is pre-portioned and packed from our suppliers. I do trust that the ambiance and service at Ye Olde Tavern was up to standard and hopefully you will allow us to redeem ourselves should you ever decide to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Tavern also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Ye Olde Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing