We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Pumpkin Pie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prestons Restaurant - CLOSED

Prestons Restaurant
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Pumpkin Pie!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I decided to have supper here and what a great decision. We sat in the Pub area. Sitting by an open fire with a good glass of wine and fantastic food. I would recommend the Beef and guiness pie and do not leave untill you have had their Pumpkin Pie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Robertson, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best pie!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Excellent pie, really enjoyed it.
Also - good wine list.

The food is traditional, but well cooked. Quite a simple menu, but I think there is something on there for most people including vegetarians.

Reasonably priced - one of the better value meals that we had in the area. The wine was also reasonably priced.

Restaurant area was quite quiet - would be nice for couples. If you are a group of friends, ask to eat in the pub area - much more of a lively atmosphere there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lady_haywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hosts, tasty veggie food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Good veggie meals - quiche to start and a spicy Thai style curry for mains. Nice alternative to the standard bland pasta I normally have as an option. Good service - friendly and helpful. There is a new owner here, James, who is also the new chef. Also, he was very accommodating when he learned I was vegetarian and made a special effort to ensure I was happy.
Will return

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K8hay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NadineRaeber, Owner at Prestons Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi k8hay, thank you for your great review!!!! We pride ourselves on accommodating special requests whatever they may be. We are of the belief that a menu is basically a list of ingredients and are happy too bend over backwards to prepare a meal to suit your tastes whether it be on the menu or not. We look forward to welcome you back soon. James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty, traditional home cooking”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

After drinks here a few nights ago, we decided to return for dinner. I has the chicken livers to start, followed by a fantastic beef and Guinness pie. It was delicious, and very reasonably priced too. Again, service and staff were lovely and friendly. Make sure you have a drink in the cosy pub and meet the locals too

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolsJollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went to Prestons for a nightcap after dinner elsewhere, and had a lovely evening. Friendly hosts and guests ad a great atmosphere. Will be returning to try the food there tonight.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolsJollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prestons Restaurant also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing