We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying the lower cost accommodation requirement, but you get what you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Satisfying the lower cost accommodation requirement, but you get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed with a group of friends over a weekend. We had two different "chalets" .
We stayed in the Tupenny? One. This was very small and should be renamed "halfpenny".
It is not suitable for 4 adult people ( and I believe the brochure says 2 Adults and 2 children). The bedroom is very small, just big enough for a double bed and small bedside cabinets, no cupboards.
However every thing works and the unit is very clean, even though it is showing signs of needing TLC. The bedding was really first class and the shower worked well, with no problem with hot water.
Our friends accommodation was more suited to 4 adults (I think it was the Rose Unit) and this had a nice braai area and larger kitchen.
The owners were friendly and helpful.
Overall not a bad place for the budget minded people to stay, but do not expect 3 star standards.
Location is very nice, next to the river and surrounded by nice mountains.
Well within walking distance to the town centre and Saturday Market. Safe off road parking available, but can get full if camp is fully booked as I believe happens often.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have been to Rainbow Glen on numerous occasions and were there again this last week-end. It is an absolute haven for children and adults. The kids play while the Adults relax. There is a lovely inviting pool and chickens and rabbits for the kids to feed. There is also a jungle gym and trampoline. There is a huge stretch of grass for either just relaxing on or playing ball games etc. The chalets are well equipped and the hosts Tara and Dave always friendly with a wealth of information on what to do in the area IF you wants to venture out. It is great value for money and we will of course return.

Room Tip: Highly recommend Muskadel cottage for 2 families with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was about the 5th stay at this resort. This visit the largest unit attached to the house was hired for 5 people. When hiring self catering units like this one, besides cleanliness and comfort, it is essential that such units have a reasonable kitchen with adequate facilities such as a hob with oven (not just a microwave) fridges with freezing facilities (not bar size fridges), suffient hot water for the amount of guests at all times,adequate bathroom facilities, heaters in winter and good barbeque facilities. This unit has all
The owner David is extremely helpfull without being obtrusive and we would always return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGA700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We are very greatful for the efforts that Dave and his wife did for us by looking after our car when the river flooded. The staff are friendly and the grounds are well maintained with beautiful surrounds.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abi-camo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our second stay at Rainbow glen good walks, good golf with our host , Montague golf club very friendly such a comfortable town after a long tour .
The cottages were very comfortable and well equiped
The peach stones in the car park the view of the cliff all good memories my husband has since died but Rainbow glen was good for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at Rainbow Glen on the recommendation of local friends. We had the Garden Cottage for two nights. It sleeps 4 and has a private braai/BBQ lapa. Dave, the owner, was friendly and helpful and my daughter enjoyed playing with the bunnies and being included in the chicken feeding and egg collecting routine in the morning. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wildish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncih
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We did our 1 night stay very much in these guest cottages. Nice location outside town, which was very quiet. The bed was a little hard, but all the rest was perfect.
Every cottage was having a private table for having, breakfast, a bbq or just to relax. Nice size swimming pool and mountain view.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
1.4 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 33 in Montagu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
1.4 mi away
Montagu Guano Cave Resort
Montagu Guano Cave Resort
#15 of 33 in Montagu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kogman & Keisie Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages

Property: Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages
Address: 10 Tanner Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Glen guest farm is located conveniently close to the Cogmanskloof hiking trails and Rock Climbing crags and has a splendid view of Kanonkop from all of the cottages. It is a great place for couples or families and is child friendly as well as pet friendly. The seven self-catering cottages accommodate between 2 to 8 people each and every cottage has a private veranda and built in braai facilities. Additionally, each cottage has an equipped kitchenette and all linen is provided, including bath towels. There are smaller family chalets, couples chalets and two larger family chalets , perfect for a large family or group of friends (sleeps up to 8). Guests can enjoy the pool on hot summer days as well as a spacious lawn where families can play games or simply relax and enjoy the mountain view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing