We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid Big 5 lodge in Western Cape”
Review of White Lion Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lion Lodge
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Etten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Splendid Big 5 lodge in Western Cape”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

As a place to stay overnight and have dinner this is a wonderful lodge. The four cottages/suites are furnished and decorated wonderfully, perhaps the best we have seen on our many trips in SA. If you like a quiet luxury place this is the lodge for you. Do not expect herds of 50 elephants or 15 giraffes at the same time, compared to northern SA the animal density is limited but the big 5 is there, and it is probably the best place to view it if you want it relatively close to Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael188580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    7
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Spent two nights at the Lodge with four game drives. Saw almost everything the nature reserve has to offer. The lodge is amazing, four individual lodges with amenities fit for a king. The food is out of this world amazing. The extra 30 minutes into the park is worth the drive to stay at this lodge. With a maximum of 8 guests, versus the larger Sanbona lodges, this is truly a place to get away from it all, and still see the Big 5.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcoxpharmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Like the other reviewers, we can't say enough good things about White Lion Lodge! Our family enjoyed every minute of our stay from the luxurious (and immaculate) rooms, delicious meals and incredible game drives. One could happily spend a day just birdwatching and stargazing from the porch. We were completely spoiled by the attentive and well-informed staff (thank you Travis, Elizabeth, and Abigail!) and warm hospitality of Gerry who personally shares her knowledge of flora and fauna. We had heard that other game reserves are really just large zoos, but Sanbona was a beautifully restored wilderness that seemed to go on forever yet was manageable for a family with elementary children. We would absolutely recommend this as the best safari experience in the Western Cape!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaisingGlobalKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

White Lion Lodge is a fabulous place to stay and was the absolute highlight of our 3-week trip to South Africa. Everybody present on our two days agreed that White Lion Lodge is the most impressive looking accommodation in the whole of Sanbona by a large margin.
Our individual lodge was extremely luxurious with massive bed, top quality sheets, great views, superbly appointed bathroom/toilet etc. The fire was a pleasant addition in the cool September evenings. The attention to detail is second to none.
The food was beautifully cooked and presented in a large convivial dining room. We did eat lunch on the terrace, which was lovely but evenings in September were too cool to dine outside. The wine accompanying meals was very pleasant and free flowing.
The staff members were enthusiastic and professional at all times and were inspired by the leadership of Gerry who is absolutely committed to ensuring that guests have a fulfilling, interesting and enjoyable stay. She is very knowledgeable and provided many insights into the environment of the Sanbona reserve.
The game drives were amazing. Our two ‘morning’ drives turned out to be almost ‘whole day’ events as Gerry took us to the far extremes of the reserve to find as much game as possible. She even managed to lay on a view of the White Lions which had not previously been seen for several days. Andrew’s contribution to the drives was a real bonus providing additional insights into the use of plants by local peoples.
We fully recommend White Lion Lodge. Even for people not particularly interested in game a stay here to experience the facilities, the location and the food would fully justify the cost but then it would be a shame to miss out on the wonderful environment of the Sanbona reserve.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilGordon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

This 5 star property located on the Karoo Wilderness area near Montagu offered an interesting blend of outstanding accommodations and an extremely picturesque panorama of the wilds. The meals were prepared by their cook, Elizabeth who served up outstanding examples of local delicacies. The tours were all day adventures that combined looking for animals as well as learning about the vegetation and plant life on the reserve. The tours were hosted and narrated by Andrew and Gerry who made the trips an educational adventure. The trip into the camp site was on a bumpy, dusty road but the end result was an exceptional 3 days.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strathy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arabian Gulf / London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I cannot recommend this lodge highly enough, in fact I am not sure where to start. The location is stunning, nestled in a small valley so that you aren't aware of anything but the natural surroundings. The drive into the park and to the lodge was 'bumpy' in our hire car but no problem at all and before we arrived we had seen Baboons and various Bok.
We were met on arrival by our hosts with lunch ready and shown to the sumptuous rooms. The best feature is the slide open glass doors opening two sides of the room to the elements, and the sounds of the park at night. Don’t miss out on an outside shower under the stars either!!
The game drive was amazing, yes an early start, and yes 30 minutes to the North end of the park for the predators, but to be driving up there as the sun rises…..amazing. As has been said in other reviews this isn’t the park to guarantee you the Big 5, but to enjoy the animals in their own environment, the thrill of trying to seek them out….incredible.
For the record….White Lions & Lionesses, Rhino, Elephant (including the calf), Giraffe, all types of Bok, wild dogs, Secretary birds etc etc….I haven’t even finished going through the photos yet. More over, they will stay out with you as long as you want unlike the commercial lodges, 9/10 hours each day, and the first night with champagne at the Hippo pool.
Dinner is like going to a Michelin starred restaurant, too which I have been, and beautifully prepared, even as far as fresh ice cream.
I would highly recommend White Lion Lodge for the beautiful bedrooms, a lodge big enough to be apart from other guests and of course the safari drives.
Stunning, we hope to be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rud0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

The 4 lodges at White Lion are beautifully equipped - the interiors are fit for a 'style' magazine. Don't stay here if you want the big 5 on your doorstep - it is about 30 minutes in the 4 x 4 to the north part of the reserve where the lion/elephant etc. can be seen but the 30 minutes is a VERY small price to pay in return for such accommodation. Furthermore, we went out twice for the whole day with a picnic lunch (8/9 hours) so the trip to the gate didn't reduce 'safari' time. The food was superb, my wife has even learned to prepare a South African dish in Geri's style because it was so good (the Bobotie). Very friendly, charming people. Go soon before Sanbona overdo the lodges in the North!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roulade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitelionlodge, Owner at White Lion Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2009
Dear Roulade!
How wonderful to read that you had a great stay, enjoyed the Lodge and the Interior.
I hope, while enjoying the “White Lion Lodge Bobotie” at home it will bring back all the good memories of the Lodge and the Reserve.
We are looking forward welcoming you back one day again.

Gerhild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
23.2 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
23.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
African Game Lodge
African Game Lodge
#3 of 34 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
23.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 27 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
23.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Lodge

Property: White Lion Lodge
Address: on the Sanbona Wildlife Reserve, Montagu 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lion Lodge is situated on the Sanbona Wildlife Reserve a 3 hours drive from Cape Town. Sanbona is home to free self-sustaining White Lions, the Big Five and the endangered riverine rabbit. The privately owned White Lion Lodge offers luxury accommodation, exceptional personal service and delicious cuisine. The Lodge lies in the southern part of the Reserve and is set along a tranquil, remote river valley offering an ultimate Karoo experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Lion Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing