We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Simply Delicious

Simply Delicious
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Please take note Templetons has closed down The new eatery at Four Oaks is called Simply Delicious It is open for lunch and dinnerIt is now run by Simon & Wendy Bernstein who's motto is IT'S ABOUT THE FOOD our aim is to deliver the best food at resonable pricesThe new restaurant serves light lunch and dinner which can be eaten indoors or outside in our wonderful courtyard which is shaded by two 100 year old safforn pear trees.light lunches with fresh organic produce, mouthwatering chicken pies, a double burger with a twist and delicious salads. A daily specials board reflects the season with gourmet soups in winter and cool meals in summer. We make a legendary baked lemon cheesecake, scones with jam and genuine Devonshire style clotted cream. Dinners is a fair of good old fashioned home cooking with a modern twist, generous portions that always arrive at the table beautifully presentedOur wine list reflects the best that the Robertson Wine Valley
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stumbled upon this place whilst walking around Montagu. What a find!! It has recently been taking over by new owners. The food and service was way beyond anything we had imagined. The presentation was incredible. A must if you visit Montagu

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fifi330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonber123, Owner at Simply Delicious, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the positive review our goal is to become the top eatery in Montagu
From your review I can see we on the right track we glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again if you are in the area
Kind Regards
Simon & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    48
    22
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napier, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Seriously good food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A standard of menu choice, presentation and taste far beyond expectation in a mountain-ringed village. Slightly unusual taste combinations, served efficiently yet in a most friendly fashion, and not over-priced. A good selection of local wines (also for sale in the front shop). A cosy bar, and comfortable accommodation in the adjoining Four Oaks guest house. (Only 4* because the eclectic mixture of poor artwork on the walls did not add anything at all!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonber123, Owner at Simply Delicious, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi
Thank you for the positive review I glad you enjoyed your meal
Just to let you know the eatery is now called Simply Delicious
We look forward to hosting you again soon

Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
251 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A PEARL IN THE LITTLE KAROO”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This leading restaurant of Montagu is manaed by the most professional people in the industry. Linda is a warmhearted person and you feel it in the surroundings of this restaurant. The food is excellent and service impeccable. Value for money and certainly you can not miss it. Cozy atmosphere and very good local winelist. I still dream about it

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“in Montagu - a treat to dine @ Templeton's”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Not only did we eat @ Templeton's, but we also stayed at Four Oaks, the guest house, of the same owner; wonderfully friendly, accommodating & set in a beautiful, comfortable & lack-for-nothing room. The delicious food perfectly presented by well-trained, efficient & friendly staff, was plentiful. Great one- on-one experience!
Although we were there using a voucher, we nevertheless received the best treatment.
The only snag was the passing traffic; the house is on the main road.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweet63capetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Was only place in town open”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Terrible food and restaurant self a bit dirty with very old furniture

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlErasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonber123, Owner at Simply Delicious, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Please be advised this was under the old management the eatery now has new owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Delicious also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Simply Delicious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing