We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good for the soul weekend away.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montagu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ravenna Mountain Retreat
Ranked #28 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
2 reviews
“A good for the soul weekend away.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just returned from a weekend away at Ravenna Mountain Retreat. Can highly recommend to travellers looking for a simple, relaxed get away in tranquil surroundings. There are a range of cottages on the property all with their own quaintness. A value for money experience and an awesome way to get away from it all to rejuvenate the soul. A variety of entertainment options are available including some MTB trails (both on the farm an in the surrounding areas), hiking and swimming. For avid photographers there is the option of a photography course.

Friends of the owners recommended the place and we were not disappointed in anyway - all the promises made were fulfilled. Suggest you discuss your requirements with the staff and they will happily recommend which cottage options would suit your requirement and pocket!

We will definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chubbles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrydale, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Getting away from it all where never truer than the visit to Ravenna. Snuggling at the foot of the majestic Langeberg Mountains you have the most amazing views! At the back the towering mountains and at the front the sweeping country side! It feels as if you are in the middle of the veld. Landing at Ravenna I could feel the tightness of the stress leave me, I could breath again.

The nature is beautiful, open and wide. The buildings are not overwhelming, it feels part of the whole setting from the chicken coop to the old stables backpackers to the cosy chalets with all you need in. Crisp linen, electric blankets, indoor fireplaces, etc. Luxury in nature, bliss!

Now where do you get more hospitable or friendly people than in the Little Karoo and Ravenna is no exception. Staff go out of their way to make your stay as wonderful as possible. Just have to ask.

The best place to go back to nature, do a photographic course with Laresa, visit Montagu and surrounds or even Barrydale that is not that far away. Ideally situated for a good rest after an interesting sightseeing day.

Friends and family, truly worthwhile to visit. Let me know when you go, I might pop in to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catz at Play v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After a tiresome journey the relaxing homecoming to Ravenna was more than I could have expected. The lodgings were warm and simplistically stylish – a constant reminder for us to rest and relax. The friendly staff, graciously guarding dogs and breath taking views was all we needed to ensure that we got the relaxing break desperately needed. Combine the picturesque surroundings with the very professional facilitation of a photography course from the owner Laresa Perlman and you have a winning combination for a break away from the city hustle and bustle! Can’t wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa_Esbe_Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We, as a family of 4, had a fantastic time at Revenna!!!.The location is awesome,the views spectacular,the sunsets and sunrises even better,the peace amazing,the walks great fun...escorted by the 4 legged pack from the farmhouse!!!!...the cottage comforable,adequate,cosy....indoor fireplace,electric blankets on the beds...for those cold winter evenings......value for money (10/10)...you can go for walks,bird watch,play with the dogs,swim,run,cycle,chill out.....if you want tv,music,shopping and bling bling...dont bother...leave this place to all of us who enjoy this kind of getaway.
We wil go back with family and friends.
Only caution:watch out for the ticks when walking, check yourselves afterwoods!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARTH T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at Ravenna with a group of friends. Part of the stay was a photo course that the owner Laresa Perlman gave. I must say it was extremely beneficial and the best I have been on - I can now understand all basics needed for photography - A must do for those that want to understand more. The farm is situated on the foot of beautiful mountains. Different levels of accommodation allowed everyone to chose what suited their pocket. All of the cottages we stayed in were well maintained and kept. We had a delicious breakfast and all staff were very friendly and efficient. The farm itself is quiet and most enjoyable with long walks through natural vegetation and beautiful views. Definitely a place to hang your hat and recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Yes, Ravenna is a tad scruffy and the cottage we stayed in only had one lavatory for four people, but there was another just around the corner in another part of the building...What are people complaining about? You can pay four times as much for a communal tent in some larny Game Park and get bitten to death by mosquitoes. At Ravenna you get a taste of freedom: freedom to wander wherever and to come back to a swim in the dam: bliss!

Room Tip: A cotttage facing 'the view' is probably better in high season as the pool is communal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I would just like to commend the way my complaint "false advertising" was handled. We were very impressed when we received a phone call from the owner of Ravenna to address the issues we had with our stay. It seems that most of the problems have been rectified and other issues explained to us as to the the reasons behind them.

It is great when businesses take negative feedback to heart and turn the problems into solutions, this is exactly what they have done and I am very impressed at the positive and helpful way that this was handled.

We will definitely be back to stay next time we are in the area to see and enjoy the improvements. Well done Ravenna on being pro-active, you clearly do care a great deal for your retreat and I hope you have many people coming to enjoy the fruits of your labour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
1.7 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
89 reviews
27.7 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Inn Guest House
Anchorage Inn Guest House
#16 of 27 in Montagu
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
0.3 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#8 of 34 in Montagu
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenna Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenna Mountain Retreat

Property: Ravenna Mountain Retreat
Address: Farm Ravenna Route, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montagu
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenna Mountain Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing