We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Airlies Gastehuis
Ranked #4 of 28 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

Fantastic welcome and amazing facilities. We really enjoyed relaxing here after a hard day's sightseeing. Nothing really to fault, but worth noting for those with chronic allergies there are some small dogs in the main building.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianclark78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    90
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
216
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saignelegier, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Swimming pool at the back very nice as the garden.
Excellent breakfast also..

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ffroidsaigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pierre
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Very nice. Tielmann and Corie are very friendly. They helped us a lot. And the room are perfect with a lot of details. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katestpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA REUNION
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

our hotel was very well situated in the centre of town . I liked the quiet atmosphere, the beauty of the garden and your warm welcome. Thank y very much and I hope to come back once more.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HESTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

When we arrived we have received a warm welcome which gives you immediately a home-away-from-home feeling. Both Tielman and Corrie were excellent hosts. We consider them as the nicest and friendliest place we have been staying during our 4 week trip across southern South Africa.
I recommend this Airlies to anyone who wants to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HankBally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

Good position on main street but set back from road so very quiet. Decor quaint, rooms delightful, lovely guest lounge with complimentary local liquor. Fantastic breakfast and attentive hosts.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keepwalkingStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

We loved this place, the gentle and warm welcome of its hosts and the dangerously delicious breakfasts. A must when you stay in beautiful Montague! Oscar and Mara

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maraossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 28 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
7 Church Street Guest House
0.3 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.2 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Property: Airlies Gastehuis
Address: 36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the stateliness of a bygone era, when this elegant home welcomes you with charm and style. Your friendly hosts, Tielman and Corrie will spoil you with warm, South African hospitality. Enjoy the comforts of spacious elegant bedrooms where high ceilings and wooden floors offset crisp linen. Sparkling pool for summer, log fires in winter. Within safe walking distance from excellent restaurants and many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing