We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“place very refined and cosy”
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airlies Gastehuis
Ranked #5 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2009

our hotel was very well situated in the centre of town . I liked the quiet atmosphere, the beauty of the garden and your warm welcome. Thank y very much and I hope to come back once more.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HESTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 335 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2009

When we arrived we have received a warm welcome which gives you immediately a home-away-from-home feeling. Both Tielman and Corrie were excellent hosts. We consider them as the nicest and friendliest place we have been staying during our 4 week trip across southern South Africa.
I recommend this Airlies to anyone who wants to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HankBally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Good position on main street but set back from road so very quiet. Decor quaint, rooms delightful, lovely guest lounge with complimentary local liquor. Fantastic breakfast and attentive hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keepwalkingStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We loved this place, the gentle and warm welcome of its hosts and the dangerously delicious breakfasts. A must when you stay in beautiful Montague! Oscar and Mara

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maraossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Airlies, situated in the picturesque town, Montagu, is an exceptional convergence of tranquil accommodation, good food and hospitality. Tielman and Corrie, the friendly host and hostess, went to great lengths to make our stay enjoyable. The beautiful surroundings, well-kept lawns, gardens, decor and atmosphere added to the pleasant experience. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and clean and the availability of internet is a welcome bonus. I can recommend this fine accommodation and will most certainly return on my next visit to this region.
- -Myra Lochner

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We stayed at Airlies en-route back to Cape Town after our Garden Route Tour. The drive to Montague fron Oudtshoorn was wonderful. We arrived a little early for check in but it wasn`t a problem. Our room was one of the garden rooms and was lovely. It was bight and spacious with a lovely bathroom with twin basins and a brilliant shower. We spent the afternoon by the pool ( and in it), it was quiet with lovely views of the mountains. After our drive it was wonderful to relax in such pleasant surroundings.

Tielman had booked us a table at "Jessica`s" for our evening meal. This was a safe easy walk along the main street. We ate in the garden at the back of the restaurant - excellent food and good hospitality.

When we returned to Airlies, the room and verandah lights had been switched on and they had set the fan running to cool the room. The breakfast the next morning was nicely presented and plenty to eat. It would have been nice to spend at least another night as it felt so comfortable. A great stopping place on Route 62.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welshwhitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbeienaar, Owner/Manager at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2009

Thank you for your kind words about our guest house. We would love to see you agin some day.
Kind regards.

Tielman and Corrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

The Airlies B&B in Montagu is a place we strongly can recommended everyone who is searching and looking for a genuin and memorable staying in the Western Cape. The room where large and included a bathroom big enough for persons, the indoors area where nice and clean, thee and coffe tray with cakes and a vase with fresh flowers everyday. The outdoor where equipped with relaxing chairs and table close to the lovely garden.
The pool area where clean with sun beds, towels for guests.
The morning breakfast where extra ordinary with decorated table with flowers and a big attention from the hosts. Our car where on a parking bay close to the entrance of the B&B. The Airlies B&B is central located in Montagu, a small and tranqil village between the mountains, we had a safe feeling when walk-about outside the Airlies. There are a post-office across the road, a lot of restaurants, small shops, very interesting buildings from the past within walking distance from the Airlies. At the end of the same street, there where a bird sanctuary with especially Ibis within watching distance.
Finally, this is a place to return to. Our 3 -days is unforgetable, very much effected of the hosts kindly hospitality.

Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Airlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 27 in Montagu
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 27 in Montagu
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingna Lodge
Kingna Lodge
#8 of 27 in Montagu
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Address: 36 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range: $74 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience nostalgia with a memorable stay at Arlies guest house. You can experience an abundant choice of old and new luxury and comfort beyond your expectations : choose to sleep under a blanket instead of a duvet just like it used to be : have a cozy hot water bottle in your bed or a modern electric blanket : indulge in a deep cast iron bath on legs or a shower : walk on beautifully aged creaky warm wooden floors : enjoy the smell, warmth and convenience of a fireplace in your room. : appreciate the extravagant extra high pressed ceilings full of skill and character The soft chime of church bells will wake you blissfully in this unique historic village. Together with the smell of old fashioned aromas like coffee and cinnamon in preparation of your breakfast. For a moment in time you can stand still, dwell in your imagination and go back in time. We will give you a splendid and memorable experience in our 107 year old home. The only difference will be electricity instead of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing