We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull accomadation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Airlies Gastehuis
Ranked #4 of 28 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderfull accomadation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My partner and I found the accommodation perfect, great attention to details, very clean, peaceful and warm and spacious. The breakfast and coffee was excellent. felt so welcomed. Everyone working there was very friendly. Even though we purchased on a winter special the quality was not compromised. will be back next winter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hellen & Angelo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you very much. It has been a great pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    90
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
216
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a great B&B on the main road in Montagu. It is a very old house and may not appeal to folk who enjoy modern amenities. The floors creak so badly that I was afraid that I was disturbing the whole house when I got up in the middle of the night. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was nicely presented, regular guesthouse breakfast - nothing spectacular. The hostess was helpful in making suggestions about what to do nearby and booked a Breede River boat trip for us. We would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank civharas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you very much. It has been a great pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

A beautiful bed and breakfast with a homely feel. The house and cottage is set in well maintained gardens close to the main area of town. The host is a lovely chap and you really feel part of the home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you very much. It has been a great pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We drive Route 62 and stay 1 night in Montagu, Airlies b&b. We did like it very much. Its a nice, clean and near centre of Montagu. Its a very good B&B and i can recommand it. Route 62 is one of the most nices way to drive from Oudtshoorn back to Cape Town. You passed different villages, mountens and the natur is realy beautifull. Its a easy to drive highway wit a lot of beautifull viewpoints. I say...........drive the Route 62 and the Garden route.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johan And Elly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you very much. It has been a great pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The bed and breakfast was excellent, rooms really clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely both days and Montagu is a great place to visit. All in all an excellent couple of days break which we hope to repeat soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jill & Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you, it as been a great pleasure. We would love to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent rooms, very clean, superb host, could not do enough for us. Location extremely convenient. We walked to all the facilities in the town, never once having to move the car, which was securely parked. All in all a wonderful experience 5 stars plus

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patrick & Lorra... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tielman_at_Airlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you, it as been a great pleasure to have you and your friends here. We would love to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room as well as the friendly host. The service was amazing and the food was excellent. This has been our best experience so far in Montagu. Thank you for an amazing getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carla c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TielmanAirlies, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you, you are a beautiful couple and we wish you all of the best.
Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 28 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
7 Church Street Guest House
0.3 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.2 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Property: Airlies Gastehuis
Address: 36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the stateliness of a bygone era, when this elegant home welcomes you with charm and style. Your friendly hosts, Tielman and Corrie will spoil you with warm, South African hospitality. Enjoy the comforts of spacious elegant bedrooms where high ceilings and wooden floors offset crisp linen. Sparkling pool for summer, log fires in winter. Within safe walking distance from excellent restaurants and many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing