We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airlies Gastehuis
Ranked #5 of 28 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night in August. The rooms was very large, well appointed and well heated. Our hosts were very nice, offering us advice on local hikes. Breakfast was very good. They had 3 well behaved dogs and a parrot. I would recommend this place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank csinger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    95
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
221
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here - delightful hosts and it's not often you meet a parrot at breakfast! Our accommodation comprised a large room with en-suite and patio located in the garden. Unfortunately I didn't get to try the pool - the weather was too cold!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lovely rooms, very close walking distance to town's best restaurants and shops. Excellent breakfast and overall service. Nice pool and courtyard for use in summer time. can definitely recommend Airlies

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melvi & Gerhard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We Loved Airlies! From the welcome at the front door on a cold Winter's day to a really Large Warm Room with a lovely selection of assorted drinks on our Hospitality tray. We were pampered. A lovely Montagu tradition of a Muscadel Night cap was most welcome after a cold walk to the restaurant nearby. Breakfast was excellent and our hosts really charming and informative. No visit to Montagu will be spent at any other venue in future. All of this at an affordable price fitting a pensioner's budget. Thank you for a great Stay!!!!.. God Bless you Both

Room Tip: We had a lovely garden room with very few stairs to climb and a big shower with hot water. Warm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tielman_de_Villiers, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, it has been a pleasure to have met you.
We hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Arrived at Airlies B&B and were met by the friendly owners and welcomed. All facilities and breakfast were excellent. The room is welcoming and spacious and has lots of charm. Close to everything. WOW



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rudolph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We generally do not prefer B&B's, but this one was different. The old property was in excellent condition, everything worked and the hosts know exactly how to treat guests. The breakfast was everything one can wish for

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ewald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good service, everything was taking care of. The owners gave us a warm welcome. Nice breakfast as well. The room was perfect. Montagu is a great place to stay, very peaceful. It was worth it for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruo-yu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 28 in Montagu
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#5 of 34 in Montagu
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Property: Airlies Gastehuis
Address: 36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the stateliness of a bygone era, when this elegant home welcomes you with charm and style. Your friendly hosts, Deon, Jaco and Hannes will spoil you with warm, South African hospitality. Enjoy the comforts of spacious elegant bedrooms where high ceilings and wooden floors offset crisp linen. Sparkling pool for summer, log fires in winter. Within safe walking distance from excellent restaurants and many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing