We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airlies Gastehuis
Ranked #5 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Arrived at Airlies B&B and were met by the friendly owners and welcomed. All facilities and breakfast were excellent. The room is welcoming and spacious and has lots of charm. Close to everything. WOW



  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rudolph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 331 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We generally do not prefer B&B's, but this one was different. The old property was in excellent condition, everything worked and the hosts know exactly how to treat guests. The breakfast was everything one can wish for

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ewald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good service, everything was taking care of. The owners gave us a warm welcome. Nice breakfast as well. The room was perfect. Montagu is a great place to stay, very peaceful. It was worth it for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ruo-yu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Breakfast served at 8.30, we went without due to the fact that we were to early for breakfast, being 8.00, which hotel or BnB or Guesthouse does not serve breakfast before 8.30...its unbelievable....never in all my 50 years of traveling have I ever been told I can't get served breakfast before 8.30 on a Saturday morning NEVER.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bev And John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tielman_de_Villiers, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Bev and John,

Thank you for your review. I must however say that I am truly surprised and would like to respond, for the record.

You stayed with us for two nights. Upon registration at arrival, you chose the option to have breakfast at 09:00 the following morning. I do recall that you said that you might want to have breakfast a little earlier on the second morning. You however never discussed a specific time with us on the evening of your second night, which I think would have been courteous.

Bearing in mind your comment to have breakfast a little earlier, we prepared to have it ready by 08:30 instead of 09:00. When you came for breakfast BEFORE 08:00 we were not ready and you decided to leave without breakfast rather than wait for a few minutes. You seemed quite comfortable with this and we deducted the cost of breakfast from your account (you did not pay for the breakfast that you did not have).

We often do serve breakfast earlier than the normal times and have done so just a few days ago and will definitely do it again. (we have done it as early as 04:00 in the morning).

Kind regards.

Tielman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at Airlies B&B for two nights in June. What a pleasant and relaxing stay it was! The owners are so friendly and make you feel like you are at home, away from from. The town is peaceful and the perfect getaway from the hustle of city life. The rooms are very comfortable and warm, especially for winter time. The home cooked breakfast by the owner in the morning was a very nice surprise. Will definitely recommend to anyone who would like a peaceful weekend getaway and I will be back too! Great value for money

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Airlies B & B, in a softly furnished comfortable room surrounded by birdsong in the garden.

Our hosts were professional and friendly with a kind interest in their guests. I would gladly recommend Airlies B& B in Montangu.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Benna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A superb guesthouse in a superb location in one of my favourite small towns. Our friendly hosts offered advice on places to visit and eat and the morning breakfast was one of the best we have had. Well done Corrie and Tillman!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CapeTownBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 27 in Montagu
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Address: 36 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range: $63 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience nostalgia with a memorable stay at Arlies guest house. You can experience an abundant choice of old and new luxury and comfort beyond your expectations : choose to sleep under a blanket instead of a duvet just like it used to be : have a cozy hot water bottle in your bed or a modern electric blanket : indulge in a deep cast iron bath on legs or a shower : walk on beautifully aged creaky warm wooden floors : enjoy the smell, warmth and convenience of a fireplace in your room. : appreciate the extravagant extra high pressed ceilings full of skill and character The soft chime of church bells will wake you blissfully in this unique historic village. Together with the smell of old fashioned aromas like coffee and cinnamon in preparation of your breakfast. For a moment in time you can stand still, dwell in your imagination and go back in time. We will give you a splendid and memorable experience in our 107 year old home. The only difference will be electricity instead of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing