We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay for Wacky Wine weekend!”
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airlies Gastehuis
Ranked #5 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay for Wacky Wine weekend!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Lovely B+B, perfect location in Montagu! Wonderful hosts and delicious breakfast! Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireRoodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tielman_de_Villiers, Owner at Airlies Gastehuis, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you, Claire. It has been a pleasure to have you and your family/friends here at Airlies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    95
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
221
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Lovely, relaxing weekend stay, home away from home in a comfortable setting. Delicious hot breakfast with lots of variety, warm hospitality from Corrie and Tielman. Thoroughly worthwhile base to explore Route 62. Break from the rushed city life.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Corrie and Tielman were the perfect hosts. We met the dogs and not forgetting the parrot who was very sociable. Airlies was a real surprise and the rooms were delightful. Breakfast was a feast with Tielmans home made bread included. We spent 4 lovely days in Montagu and felt we were very lucky to have chosen Airlies as our base. Thank you Corrie and Tielman

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nika u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The Garden Room overlooking the pool at Airlies was a lovely choice of accommodation inthis centrally situated period property in the centre of Montagu. The room was artistically decorated, well furnished and spacious, At the time of our visit the temperature was in the 90's and we would have appreciated some air-conditioning. The oscillating floor fan had difficulty in keeping the room sufficiently cool. A room safe was also noticeably missing. On the pluse side the owners Tielman and his wife Corrie do everything to make their guests feel at home, and can supply lots of information about places to eat, but be warned that this is not a late night town: we were advised by the Montagu Hotel that no further food orders were being taken and it was not even 8.30pm. The breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The owners were also very forthcoming in providing historical information about the lovely town of Montagu, and gave us maps showing places of interest to see on a walking tour. One small complaint is that the guest house is not licensed to sell alcohol. A cold beer on arrival however was conjured up by our host. But no mini-bar facility which is the norm for most places we have visited.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Well, The title of my review must give you a clue.
I've been lucky enough to stay with Tielman and Corrie (and Dogs) at Airlies three times now in the last three years. It is the most beautiful, comfortable, quiet and welcoming place you could ever imagine. When you arrive, Tielman and Corrie welcome you not only to their guest house but also into their home. Style, Attention to Detail, Service and Comfort are a part of everyday life at Airlies. A breakfast that has to be seen to be believed, served either if the superb Dining Room or in the Garden by the Pool. Start with an enormous choice of freshly prepared fruits, cerials, yoghurts, cheeses, Home Made Breads and Jams, and a freshly cooked breakfast prepared to your liking by Tielman. Me... when I've finished that lot I need a snooze! The garden and pool are at your disposal to enjoy as you wish and, a good book with the dogs asleep at my feet are heaven. Airlies is a Gem, a haven of peace rarely found, in a town which is simply gorgeous. Superb restaurants a plenty to choose your evening meal, a stroll in the town centre or, a brisk walk in the hills and stunning countryside.
Tielman and Corrie... Thank you so much for yet another fantastic stay in your exquisite home, I really did not want to leave. Hoping to see you both again soon.

Room Tip: Every room is different at Airlies and, every one is special. Either in the Main House or the Garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, N.Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night and wish we could've stayed longer. The home is beautiful, welcoming and the gardens are something else. We were in a garden room which I would recommend as it was nice to sit outside and enjoy the view. Breakfast was great, freshly made to order by our hosts. My only word of caution is if you don't like dogs, let them know beforehand. I love dogs so it wasn't an issue for me and they were very friendly but they are allowed to roam free so if you are scared of dogs you should be aware. I loved this place and would return without hesitation. P.S there is a lovely restaurant just around the corner - Ye Olde Tavern which I can also recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We had a large comfortable room in this historic house with wooden floorboards.The owners were very attentive & prepared an excellent breakfast.Lots of restaurants closeby as well as an amazing pool teeming with birdlife

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelwaters2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 27 in Montagu
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Property: Airlies Gastehuis
Address: 36 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the stateliness of a bygone era, when this elegant home welcomes you with charm and style. Your friendly hosts, Deon, Jaco and Hannes will spoil you with warm, South African hospitality. Enjoy the comforts of spacious elegant bedrooms where high ceilings and wooden floors offset crisp linen. Sparkling pool for summer, log fires in winter. Within safe walking distance from excellent restaurants and many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing