We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B with friendly welcome and great local advice - kid friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airlies Gastehuis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Airlies Gastehuis
Ranked #4 of 28 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great B&B with friendly welcome and great local advice - kid friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Our second stay and although our last one was in 2002, it was as good as last time. Thielman and his wife offer a warm reception and are only to keen to help with advice to visitors. In the centre of town it has some good restaurants around - try the Old Tavern.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneZeroBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    92
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
217
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melsungen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

We were very kind received. In the spacious Room of the gardenhouse we wants for nothing, we found more than we need. We found an ambience of privateness. The excellent breakfast completed this wunderfull accomodation

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophietango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

In March 2010 I stayed at Airlies with Tielman and Corrie and had a wonderful time. I said at the time that old cliche' "I will stay here again". My review for that visit is on the SafariNow website. Well I have just spent 10 days on a return visit to Airlies in March 2011 and... I can only describe my stay as "Perfection Repeated". Tielman & Corrie thank you for yet another wonderful time at your beautiful home and, I am sure you will believe me when I say 'I WILL' return yet again. Your attention to detail is without doubt the best I have ever seen and, the breakfast is fantastic.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Philip Unsworth

P.S.
I am also happy to note that an earlier concern by another visitor about mosquitoes HAS BEEN COMPLETELY SOLVED. There was not the slightest evidence of even a single mosquito during the ten days I stayed in your garden rooms.

Room Tip: Every room is special at Airlies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

We had a lovely, spacious garden room and the guest house is in easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The friendly owners made us very welcome and cooked delicious breakfasts. We were able to relax and unwind around the pool and in the gardens.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed in one of the garden rooms for 1 night. Very quiet, well appointed room with large shower and nestled into pathways and flowers. Hosts very pleasant, breakfast good. Perfect for an overnight stay on the mountain route. Recommend a trip to the hot springs resort but dont expect to find lots of nightlife here - place is deserted after 8pm! Pack the mosquito repellent too - we got bitten for the first (and only) time on our entire trip when staying here...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

Friendly, warm and professional hosts. Excellent breakfast. Well maintained pool and garden. Beautiful garden suite.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frauke_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

This is a lovely, friendly place to stay. We did not have a booking but luckily a "garden room" was available. The room was a recent addition to the main house. It is very spacious and the ensuite bathroom is huge. The Garden in which the room is situated is full of fabulous plants and flowers. The guest house is within safe walking distance of several restaurants. Breakfast was served in the traditional style dining room and was very good. The hospitality we received was very warm. I would recommend Airlies to anyone driving through Montague and needs a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edgemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 28 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
7 Church Street Guest House
0.3 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.2 mi away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlies Gastehuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlies Gastehuis

Property: Airlies Gastehuis
Address: 36 Bath Street | 36 Badstraat, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlies Gastehuis 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the stateliness of a bygone era, when this elegant home welcomes you with charm and style. Your friendly hosts, Tielman and Corrie will spoil you with warm, South African hospitality. Enjoy the comforts of spacious elegant bedrooms where high ceilings and wooden floors offset crisp linen. Sparkling pool for summer, log fires in winter. Within safe walking distance from excellent restaurants and many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Airlies Gastehuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing