We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in the Karoo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Montagu Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked in for two nights at this hotel and all I can say is how friendly and accommodating they were. We booked in on the special which included a massage at their heath spa. We really enjoyed the whole stay and their food was first class. The lamb shank was fantastic which was served by a very pleasant staff compliment. I was slightly to big for my bed (six foot four inches) but was quickly moved to a larger room the following day. This staff went the extra mile all the time. We were sorry when our time was up but will return in the near future.

Room Tip: Opt for the luxury rooms if it is in your budget.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Adrian N

Thank you for the review, it seems you made use of all the facilities at the hotel, and I’m glad you had a good experience. We will continue with the wellness packages, it is very popular. I would suggest a tour of the winelands in one of our American Dream Cars with your next visit.

Have a great New Year,

Kind regards

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
There are newer reviews for Montagu Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 567 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

We enjoyed the hotel's grounds. There are ample garden areas where you can relax and inside it is uniquely decorated. The rooms however are a bit small considering the price paid, but that is about all I can fault.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Groeniexyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Groeniexyz

Thank you for the review. Our pianist, Kosie Hanekom, also helps us with the upkeep of our gardens, and we have a beautiful show of colour this year. You stayed in our classic rooms in the main hotel building, and I must agree that 5 of the 14 rooms upstairs are smaller than the rest. We have converted some of these rooms into suites a couple of months ago, and will do more in the off season. Please contact me directly when you book us again, and I will make sure you stay in one of the recently upgraded rooms.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Montagu is a beautiful town and this hotel fits in perfectly with its wooden floors, huge rooms and high, pressed-steel ceilings. Every possible comfort is catered for, including something that I haven't seen in any South African hotel: an international wall socket. The bed was comfortable and the shower adequate. We also had a huge bath and two basins, which makes early morning much easier.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Com4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Com4t

Thank you so much for the great review, we’re glad that you enjoyed both the hotel and Montagu. We are privileged to have a nice mixture of international visitors and South Africans this time of year, we don’t often get guests from Potchefstroom!
Have a wonderful new year; we look forward to welcome you back in Montagu.

Kind regards

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I recently spent an all too short one night at the Montagu Country Hotel. This was my 6th visit and certainly will not be my last. There is so much in the area to explore and keep one occupied. The room was spacious with all the modcons one requires for a comfortable stay.
The staff were helpful, knowledgable and friendly and breakfast the following morning beautifully cooked and presented. Cant wait to return. Thanks P-J for your kindness in giving us an indepth and personalised tour of the "village".

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear happytraveller125

I like your username, we love the idea of happy travellers!

Thank you for the nice review, I’ll be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff. I enjoy showing our guest more than just the hotel, Montagu is a special village, the centre of Route 62.

We look forward to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A fantastic hotel and very welcoming owner. The hotel is all art deco and very well done indeed. The food (especially the home made bread) is wonderful. Well worth visiting and also asking to check out the owners american car collection.

Room Tip: The 'african hut' is well worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LumberjackUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear LumberjackUk

Thank you for the review, I’m glad you had a good time at the hotel. The “American Dream Car” concept is becoming very popular, and we enjoy showcasing our beautiful area using the old-timers.

We wish you and your family a blessed festive season.

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a hotel which was built in the late nineteenth century and has the charm of years gone by.
Several rooms have been renovated and the owner is in the process of refurbishing the whole hotel - step by step. The public rooms are comfortably furnished and the service excellent.

The cuisine at the hotel is known to be the best in Montagu and the diningroom is cosy but can cater for large groups.

The patio and garden is lush with greenery and there are flowers everywhere. The pool is inviting and this is a lovely area where one can relax and have a drink. A delicious "cold platter" can be ordered outside on the patio (at a reasonable cost) and enjoyed together with local wines about which the owner, Gert, is knowledgeable and will be happy to advise.

Gert loves Classic Cars and will take you on a trip down Memory Lane in his beautifully maintained American 1956 De Soto. A visit to the nearby winelands is a must and the scenery alongside spectacular mountains, rivers, lakes and vineyards is an unforgettable experience.

The route from Cape Town via Montagu and Oudtshoorn, alongside the Langeberg Mountains and Northwards towards Colesberg is known as South Africa's Sunshine Route where you can be assured of warm hospitality, good weather and excellent food.

Room Tip: Request one of the renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouristGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear TouristGuide

Thank you for a great review on the hotel. As a tourist guide, you are obviously well travelled, making your review so much more special to us.

We wish you a blessed festive season, and look forward to welcome you back in Montagu.

Kind regards

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here one night recently. We had a comfortable stay and the hotel is in a great location but it certainly wasn't our favourite hotel in South Africa.

The art deco theme was unique and fun but at times the hotel just felt dated. The air conditioning unit was very old, the windows single glazed and the room had no fridge. We also had two single beds pushed together after requesting a double room.

Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good but again the instrumental Lionel Richie music playing in the background just made the hotel feel dated rather than art deco!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Alex H

Thank you for the review, I’m glad you had a comfortable stay. As you will see from many of our reviews, we are constantly upgrading the hotel to maintain our standard. We have replaced more than 50% of air-conditioning units already, and will continue to do so in the off season. With regards to Lionel Richie music during breakfast, you must have mistaken us for another hotel. Apart from our piano music in the evening, performed by Kosie Hanekom, we play carefully selected music fitting in with our hotel theme.

Kind regards

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu
1.6 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
91 reviews
24.7 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.4 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
1.5 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 35 in Montagu
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Country Hotel

Address: Cnr Bath & Kohler Street | Central, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montagu
Price Range: $93 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only original Art Deco hotel in SA. 32 Bedrooms. Restaurant serving traditional cuisine. Modern Conference facilities, Wellness centre, Wedding packages. Classical car trips to Robertson Wine Route. Situated halfway between Cape Town and the Garden Route on historical Route 62. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montagu Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing