We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 28 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay in Montagu. Very peaceful, with beautiful views overlooking the olive grove from our well appointed room. The breakfast was delicious and our hosts friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
351
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

When planning our 3 month journey of South Africa, our only mistake was booking only one night at Montagu Vines. Our arrival was on Valentine's Day, so I had e-mailed Ursula earlier asking if she could make a dinner reservation (I feared everything may be booked). Good thing I did and Ursula's expedient replies and assistance was very much appreciated. We checked in after a long drive from Prince Albert and found ourselves arriving at the most gorgeous setting and B&B. Ursula greeted us with a warm welcome and after showing us our room brought us a glass of wine, a rose for myself and a chocolate for hubby for Valentine's - incredibly thoughtful. What can I say about Montagu Vines other than it is perfection! We slept so well in the most comfy bed that I didn't want to leave. The décor is impeccable, details galore (which I love), clean, charming, stylish and I could go on and on. Sitting on the terrace of our room after a long drive with a glass of wine overlooking gardens and olive trees with the mountains in the background was peaceful, tranquil and relaxing. I have to mention the grounds and gardens - they are gorgeous! We concluded that when we return to South Africa, Montagu and Montagu Vines will be on our list.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Montagu Vines during a recent holiday, a "must" stopover for us on any visit to the area. The previous owner set a very high standard which has been surpassed by Ursula and Campbell the present hosts. Just lounging in the garden watching the ever changing shadows on the mountain makes it all worthwhile, plus some new landscaping with a lake attracting local wildfowl improves the view further.As is becoming the norm for many B&Bs now guest wi.fi is available, it worked well in our room and you may even have your car washed unbidden if the gardener has time!

Room Tip: New wing rooms are larger with air conditioning but older rooms are cosier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth Garden City, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Sitting on the patio outside our room looking at the mountains over the Olive Grove then lying by the splash pool in the sun, enjoying the peace was a great way to spend the late afternoon after a long drive from Knysna. The atmosphere of this splendid B&B was extremely tranquil; we only wished that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jab155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Upon arrival in Cape Town we headed out on the Wine Route toward our first night destination in Montagu. We were greeted by Campbell upon arrival at Montagu Vines (with a glass of local wine) and experienced first class customer service in a beautiful setting. Our room was comfortable, clean, quiet and nicely furnished. The breakfast setting was picture perfect as we looked toward the hills, bridge and olive grove. Breakfast was delightful and plentiful. Sherry and Bea were so attentive and made sure we had the perfect breakfast to start our day. We spent two nights here and could easily have stayed longer! Easy access to town to the lovely restaurants recommended by Campbell. We hiked the Bloupunk Trail suggested by Campbell and thoroughly enjoyed the hike, waterfalls and view from the summit looking down on the town (Campbell's cool pool was refreshing). The final touch of full service was when we saw our car being washed each morning, now that was unexpected but greatly appreciated. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We were in the original section and found it just perfect. No need for AC while we were there as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Fantastic room and views. Only wished we could have stayed longer. View over olive groves beautiful. Breakfast wonderful and very friendly host. Walked into village was safe and easy. Lovely Dutch Cape Town.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms were wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue3254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

On recommendation we stayed at Montagu Vines and I am glad we took our friends advice.
Owners Ursula and Campbell are very welcoming hosts. This is a fantastic place to be , the house is wonderful and the views amazings. Breakfast is very good served in the room overlooking the gardens .Wonderful all round.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.4 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 28 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.3 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#4 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
28.1 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Vines Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Vines Guesthouse

Property: Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Address: 2 Tanner Street | Western Cape, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Vines Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montagu Vines is situated in the historic conservation area of Montagu. The main farmhouse was built between 1900 and 1910 and reflects the early Victorian influenced Karoo style farmhouse of that period. The 6 Garden rooms and 2 courtyard rooms overlook the newly planted Olive Grove and compliment the stately main house. Following the damage to the vines from the floods of November 2008 the vineyard was removed in 2010 and replanted with an olive grove.We offer our guests a taste of old- fashioned comfort and luxury in the town of Montagu on the world famous "Route 62". You can relax in the splash pool set in the tranquil gardens with magnificent old oak and milkwood trees. Alternatively, you could lounge on the lawns enjoying the glorious views of the surrounding mountains whilst sipping a glass of local wine. Montagu Vines Guesthouse is just a stroll away from the centre of Montagu with its amenities that cater for all tastes and interests. There are restaurants, bistros, historic churches and tranquil gardens for the visitor to enjoy. Montagu Vines guesthouse is the perfect place for those intimate weekends, birthdays, and anniversaries or as a stopover whilst discovering "Route 62" and all it has to offer. You may be lucky and see the "resident" owls perched in the old oak tree or meet one of the big tortoises in the olive grove or surrounding areas that visit from the adjacent nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Montagu Vines Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing