We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Myself and my husband have recently returned from a holiday in south Africa. While there we had the pleasure of staying 3 nights (originally booked 2 - but extended it) at Montagu Vines.

Richard was the perfect host - not intrusive but always there for assistance when needed. Unfortunately we did not taste Richards own wine produced from grapes grown in his vineyard - Beverly Dawn Chenin Blanc - as it had all been sold. However we did get a carafe of wine as promised on arrival and also shared a bottle with Richard the following day. We had been informed that Jessica's restaurant had the last 2 bottles of Beverley Dawn Chenin Blanc but by the time we arrived the customer on table 2 had just ordered the both bottles! So I will have to wait until I make a return visit to taste this special wine.

We missed the tractor ride but on Richards recommendation we visited some of the surrounding vineyards and must admit that we tasted some really wonderful wines. I believe that The Robertson wines are equally, if not better, than those from around the Cape.

We both fell in love with Montagu which is more than a village but smaller than most towns. I felt completely safe walking around the town at nights and no worries about security.

Montagu Vines has 5 separate cottages so that you retain your independence but at the same time you have the opportunity of joining other guest in the garden if you prefer. The accommodation was excellent, spacious, comfortable and spotless. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely recommend a stay at Montagu Vines but as there is so much to do and see in the area i would recommend a stay of at least 3 days. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mags48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 530 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2008

We are over 60 and have tried lots of B and B's in South Africa.This is how one should run one. Richard the owner greets you on arrival and brings compimentary wine from his vines. He spends as much time as you want explaining where to eat- there are 6 places,at least in Montagu- and he will book a table, where to go and what to do.He is interested and interesting but not overbearing -so helpful and friendly. He even has your car washed each morning, except Sunday. The garden nestles alongside the vines- plenty of very comfortable loungers for all 5 rooms. Tiny pool but he is building a new big one, and more rooms shortly.Rooms are all good- 5 is the best- sunny patios-and lovely beds etc. Richard cooks the excellent breakfast. We planned for 1 night and stayed 5 because Montagu is great. We walked into town each night- what problem?-we checked on the Thermal Baths in the Montagu Country Hotel- excellent- stayed for dinner and had real food like oxtail. mussles, steak, lamb shank etc. all accompanied by Kosieh(askhim about the cure all herbs from the Museum) on the piano, wonderful.We eat also at Jessicas and Templetons- both good.For 2 nights arrive Friday having booked for the Saturday-imperative-the Montagu Tractor Ride with an African lunch before. You are transported to 1700m,a really memorable 2 hours. We asked, and swam in their lake after. Before the tractor we went to the ex pat market- a 10 minute walk from the b and b.Most of the the Montagu society were there selling thei eggs, vegetables, needlework, water features etc. we loved it. Finish the day at the Country Hotel for dinner and we, certainly had had a truly memorable day.

From CANDANorfolk

2  Thank CANDANorfolkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
6
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gismosfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gaverb_415484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ericcS6906XC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jasmin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.4 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 27 in Montagu
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#5 of 27 in Montagu
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
7 Church Street Guest House
3 mi away
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
#6 of 35 in Montagu
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Vines Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Vines Guesthouse

Address: 2 Tanner Street | Western Cape, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range: $110 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Vines Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montagu Vines is situated in the historic conservation area of Montagu. The main farmhouse was built between 1900 and 1910 and reflects the early Victorian influenced Karoo style farmhouse of that period. The 6 Garden rooms and 2 courtyard rooms overlook the newly planted Olive Grove and compliment the stately main house. Following the damage to the vines from the floods of November 2008 the vineyard was removed in 2010 and replanted with an olive grove.We offer our guests a taste of old- fashioned comfort and luxury in the town of Montagu on the world famous "Route 62". You can relax in the splash pool set in the tranquil gardens with magnificent old oak and milkwood trees. Alternatively, you could lounge on the lawns enjoying the glorious views of the surrounding mountains whilst sipping a glass of local wine. Montagu Vines Guesthouse is just a stroll away from the centre of Montagu with its amenities that cater for all tastes and interests. There are restaurants, bistros, historic churches and tranquil gardens for the visitor to enjoy. Montagu Vines guesthouse is the perfect place for those intimate weekends, birthdays, and anniversaries or as a stopover whilst discovering "Route 62" and all it has to offer. You may be lucky and see the "resident" owls perched in the old oak tree or meet one of the big tortoises in the olive grove or surrounding areas that visit from the adjacent nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Montagu Vines Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing