We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
32
19
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
32
19
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing views garden apartment false bay daily cleaning service cape town swimming pool out of this world enjoyed our stay fish roe sunny cove archie ivan balcony bedroom binoculars accommodation wifi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 54 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2019

It's is a lovely place to stay with a stunning view. Ivan was so helpful and even went out of his way to make sure I has dinner after arriving late because of flight delays. It was the relaxing escape I was hoping for.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smarti169191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
312ivany, Owner at A Whale of a Time, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Thank you once again. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Regards

Ivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2019

Each unit is different in these apartments, so look at their website to pick the right unit for you. The Dolphin is where we stayed, it is a top unit with great views of the bay, amazing sunrises!

Checking was great and easy. Archie came to open for us and was helpful and friendly. Communication was good.

The kitchen is a kitchenette and small, it does have microwave, kettle, toaster, and a small w plate stovetop/toaster oven. There is limited space to eat here, so best to eat on the patio overlooking the sea. (Kitchen has 2 chairs). Bathroom has bath and shower and is modern. They do have a hairdryer! There are two bedroom. The 2nd bedroom has two beds, one is shorter than the other. The bedroom itself is good for children. The main bedroom has large double bed and TV. This bedroom over looks the bay and patio. There is a repeater in the room for Internet. We were able to connect to the network, but unfortunately no internet available (do believe the ISP was down). There is a swimming pool available down two flights of stairs. Parking is street parking.

Room tip: If you don’t like stairs, go for top units. Look at their website for each unit information as they differ.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
312ivany, Owner at A Whale of a Time, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

Dear Astrab

Thank you for a wonderful review.

Unfortunately, Fibre is not available in Fish Hoek at the moment. We are installing Satellite connectivity in the next few weeks to try and improve the signal.

Kind Regards

Ivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

We stayed at A Whale of a Time for 3weeks in Feb/Mar 2019 & enjoyed it immensely. The apartment was great & the perfect relaxed base for our trip. The views across the bay are stunning from the living room & bedroom - giving the impression of floating on the Indian Ocean - beautiful. Archie was great - very welcoming & allowed us to check in early which was really helpful, nice 10minute walk into town to shops & restaurant (although quite steep climb back up the hill on return) Really useful train system that runs right along the coast & into Cape Town, right on the doorstep at Sunny Cove, be aware that the timetable is pretty unreliable but if you're not in a rush it's an interesting way to travel with the locals, very cheap & with amazing coastal views,
We found the whole neighbourhood & village of Fish Hoek very pleasant, welcoming & safe to explore, Our apartment was perfect for our needs, clean, comfortable & stunning location, Archie & all the staff were very friendly & accommodating. We would definitely recommend staying at 'A Whale of A Time' & we hope to return ourselves sometime - possibly during whale season. Thanks Archie - we had a great time.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bobcwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
312ivany, Owner at A Whale of a Time, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Dear Faraway

Thank you for a wonderful review, we strive on making each guest feel right at home. We look forward to welcoming you back during Whale season.

Once again "Thank you " for choosing " A Whale Of A Time".

Kind Regards

Ivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

We had a great time, very clean and great view. Nearby restaurants and a very nice beach. The hosts are very nice and helpful. Great location for trips on the Cape and only 45 minutes away from Cape Town.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Explore38540230390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
312ivany, Owner at A Whale of a Time, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Fantastic, glad you had a great stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

The family garden apartment is very nice. It has a beautiful terrace with stunning view over False Bay and the other apartments above with balconies surely have the same. The apartment itself is spacious enough to suit two parents and two kids. Everything was nice and clean. A bit more cutlery in the kitchen would help, but it's fine for breakfast and small dishes. Overall a nice place to stay in Fish Hoek. We would go there again.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Departure64895627760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
312ivany, Owner at A Whale of a Time, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Thank you for a great review, we will address the cutlery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews