We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aparment Rental February 2014”
Review of A Whale of a Time

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Whale of a Time
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at one of the aparments in February 2014. I was very disapointed it is classed as a luxury apartment, but I would not call it so, my opinion is that it should be rated as very basic. The apartment that we had as a family was down below ground level and.We asked if there was many steps down as we had a child of 4 and a baby of 6 months and some one that found to many steps dificult to manage and was told there is only a few in fact there was 37 to our apartment then another 29 if you wanted to go to the pool or was staying in the aparment down there.The steps also narrowed of and was only just wide enough to get through on your own without suitcases or shopping. What was classed as the 3rd Bedroom was just like a out house that had been converted into a bedroom. All that there was in that room for was Bunk Beds with just a gap down one side to use and the bed was up against the wall the other side. The room was very noisey and a lot of draft come through the windows and the door in that room. I would not recomend this to any one that is expecting Luxury accomadtion or have children. This apartment was not chils freindly at all even though it did have a small gareden, there was a lift for something or the other there and there was a drop of around 4ft where it came down as the lift was always at the top, not sure what it was used for certainly not for people.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cgw54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for A Whale of a Time
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 30 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed for 23 days in the Neptune Garden Apartment. Spacious. Stunning view and perfect location. A great base to explore the Cape area. A short stroll along Jager's walk and you are at the great Fish Hoek beach and town.

Colleen and all her staff were welcoming, friendly and so helpful. Our cleaning lady Primrose was absolutely wonderful.

Great value. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stumbled upon his magnificent guesthouse when we decided not to stay in Hout Bay - what a find. Colleen looked after our family and the 3 bedroom apartment was fresh, clean, basically a home away from home. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We saw whales from our patio area and I would say Fish Hoek is a great base to explore the cape region. At the end of our trip to South Africa this rated as the best guesthouse we stayed at for the price and features.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Staying at "a Whale of a Time" was a experience i'll always remember! Beautiful scene from your suite are to kill for. From there you can travel by foot to the most attractive, cute and interesting shops with their funky clothes, antique furniture, haberdashery and coffee shops. Fantastic beaches with the most beautiful blue waters and silky white sand. I took sunrise and sunset-photo's from this guesthouse that outdone most of the more experienced photographers!
The staff are super. Lilly white sheets and bedding. To be able to eat what and when you prefer is tops when your on holiday with no schedule!

Room Tip: The cottage we were in are lovely and very private, although all off the guest uses the swimming poo...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TertiaGoosenScholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great base from which to explore, or simply to hang out at Fish Hoek, the local beach has a great restaurant where you may stay the whole day swimming or tanning.
Whale of a time we have stayed several times in various configurations and numbers, from the large thatched lodge below to various suites on the upper levels, each suite has a view and patio looking straight out onto False Bay below, you let yourself in when you arrive via envelopes with your name on it with keys inside (this is the Cape - people are relaxed and trusting), the suites are well appointed with clean linen and comfy beds, the place is spotless without any cause for unhappiness. The prices are most competitive and we have no complaints with regards management.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing, behind you is a huge mountain. Have all meals on your patio and watch the...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KelvinZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Lovely B&B with amazing views over False Bay. Great location for exploring Cape Town and surrounding areas. Would use again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have stayed here twice, in June 2010 in the midst of the World Cup and again in May 2011. The first time it felt like they had saved us. We had received a very reasonable quote from A Whale of a Time before we flew to Cape Town , but unfortunately we got it after we had already reserved our accomodation. Luckily I kept their contact details with me, because after one horrendous night in our booked accommodation, I called AWoT hoping they still had availability. (highly doubtful given the major event in the City) They were fantastic - the single room we wanted was no longer available, but after hearing our tale of woe, we were offered a two bedroom for the same price. Within the hour we were there and the 180 degree sea view as we came in the door nearly made me cry. And it was the little touches that mattered - in the hour it took for us to get there, they had put up the travel cot for our 2&1/2month baby, made his bed and put the heater on to heat up the room. When it rained and they saw all the wet baby clothes, they offered to tumble dry everything. We loved the space, the view, the daily cleaning service, the genuine friendliness and thoughtfulness. Which is why we went back in May 2011. And why I have just recommended AWoT to a colleague of mine who wants to go to RSA this year 2012 on holiday. We would not stay anywhere else

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonipinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Hoek
0.5 mi away
Calders Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Beach and Bay B&B
Beach and Bay B&B
#8 of 19 in Fish Hoek
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunny Cove Manor
Sunny Cove Manor
#4 of 19 in Fish Hoek
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chartfield Guest House
Chartfield Guest House
#1 of 5 in Kalk Bay
730 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Tuscan Villa Guest House
A Tuscan Villa Guest House
#3 of 19 in Fish Hoek
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fish Hoek Bed and Breakfast
Fish Hoek Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 19 in Fish Hoek
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Whale of a Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Whale of a Time

Address: 11 Echo Road, Fish Hoek 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fish Hoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fish Hoek
Price Range: $76 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Whale of a Time 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering apartments and cottage available, with breathtaking sea views of False Bay. Perfect for whale watching, we are a 5 minute walk from the beach, and close to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your A Whale of a Time reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Whale Of a Time Fish Hoek, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing