We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Cove Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunny Cove Manor
Ranked #5 of 19 Fish Hoek B&B and Inns
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a delightful place to stay; Peter, Solveig and their son Eric are very gracious and welcoming hosts. I especially liked the veranda where I could enjoy bringing a meal home to enjoy while overlooking the bay with a glass of wine. Wi-fi was very much appreciated, as well as the delicious freshly baked bread for breakfast. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and were sufficiently warm (even though it was winter). I enjoyed having a small fridge in my room for leftovers, and can't think of anything I would improve.

The town (Fish Hoek), beach and railway are very close, and it's close enough to Cape Town without being in the city (quieter and more relaxing outside Fish Hoek). It's also a short drive to Simonstown (penguins) and Cape of Good Hope.

I can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomigirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Sunny Cove Manor is a spacious, old fashioned, charming, comfortable B&B on the slopes of the mountain in Fish Hoek with spectacular views over the ever-changing False Bay. The rooms are spacious and comfortable for those interested in quality and not glamour. There is a terrace (with views, shade, tables and chairs) and a well established garden featuring a whole range of Cape flora. Breakfast is plentiful, nay even sumptuous, and it is served in the ground-floor dining room. We were there in July, and the strong cold winter winds were blowing off the Indian ocean, but blankets were plentiful and space heaters were to hand to tackle the coldest mornings. Most important, the proprietors, Peter and Solveig, are wonderful, warm, hospitable people, who are willing to share not only their home but their humour and a lifetime of cultural, artistic, social, educational and political interests.This was a first visit for us (from the USA) en familie to Cape Town, and we could not have chosen better. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The rooms at Sunny Cove Manor are all named. We'd recommend Hangklip, a set of large spacious ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have been staying at Sunny Cove Manor since Peter and Soveig took it over many years ago. We feel so welcome every time we visit and always sad to leave as Solveig and Peter and son Eric have become such dear friends as well as the helpful staff who have also been there for years. The comfortable rooms are bright and sunny and the breakfasts delicious with home made breads. I love the close access to the beach and the views are stunning, it feels such a privilege to stand on the veranda and watch the antics of the whales at certain times of the year.
There are many attractions nearby, Boulders for the penguins, Simonstown with its pretty harbour and delicious restaurants and the dramatic Cape Point and of course Cape Town, with all its wonderful attractions is not far away either by car or local train.
I would certainly recommend this charming guest house for a unique and friendly experience.

Room Tip: Cape Point is my favorite and its on the ground floor. There is no lift to the upper floor although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

What an amazing place!! I couldn't recommend this bed and breakfast more highly. The location is perfect-- right off the train tracks a short ride from Cape Town, with a perfect oceanside view. The suites are HUGE and breezy and comfortable. Wi-fi was a nice luxury. Solveig and Peter are the comsummate hosts, providing home-baked breads, amazing hot breakfasts, radical hospitality, great travel tips (and fascinating stories from their own history, if you ask).

I wanted both some rest & relaxation and some adventure in the Cape Town area, and Sunny Cove Manor was my gateway to both. Put this place on your bucket list! ~Jessica H, Chicago

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I cannot say enough good about Sunny Cove. Solveig and Peter are the perfect hosts and make everyone feel at home. As soon as I arrive, between their hospitality and the calm of the water, I find all of my cares and anxieties melt away.The view is gorgeous. The location is fabulous. In fact, even when my work in Cape Town requires me to be far away from Fish Hoek, I stay here anyway because I love it so much. I have never regretted that decision. Addition benefits: views of whales outside your room window (in season), freshly baked breads and/or pastries at breakfast, a library, easy access to a beach, easy access to the train for the city, and easy access to the penguins at Boulder Beach. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: I have not yet stayed here with my family (but we will!). But I know that there is ample room for al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul,MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Sunny Cove is a lovely home with large rooms all sea facing and private bathrooms. Our family of 12 was very comfortable there and we so appreciated Solveig and Peter's warm hospitality.
They provided delicious breakfasts and even arranged a caterer so that we could entertain friends one afternoon. Our grandchildren loved the rock pools across the road and they explored the kelp, sea anemones, starfish etc. We have never felt so at home or so cosseted in a bed and breakfast before!!

Room Tip: They were all spacious and comfortable with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I felt at home immediately at Sunny Cove Manor. The B&B is absolutely lovely with comfortable accommodations and spacious rooms. Peter and Solveig were the picture of hospitality. Breakfast was delicous and they gave us helpful advice with regards to sightseeing around Cape Town. The location is great - the beach is just down the road, and the train stops right across the street. I would absolutely stay here again and can't imagine a trip to Cape Town without a stop at Sunny Cove!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Hoek
0.4 mi away
Calders Hotel & Conference Centre
13.9 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fish Hoek Bed and Breakfast
Fish Hoek Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 19 in Fish Hoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
A Whale of a Time
A Whale of a Time
#5 of 18 in Fish Hoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach and Bay B&B
Beach and Bay B&B
#8 of 19 in Fish Hoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Tuscan Villa Guest House
A Tuscan Villa Guest House
#3 of 19 in Fish Hoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Cove Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Cove Manor

Property: Sunny Cove Manor
Address: 72 Simon's Town Road, Fish Hoek 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fish Hoek
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Hoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Cove Manor's outstanding position on the Fish Hoek shore offers commanding views of False Bay: wide beaches of sugar-white sand, contrasting with a breathtaking silhouette of sheltering mountains. Our spacious suites contain DSTV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea facilities, and binoculars for those who desire an even closer view of the whales (especially August/September), dolphins, and sail boats year round. As our guest, you will enjoy a sumptuous homemade breakfast to start your day. Then, cross the road to Jager's Walk, a water's edge promenade that winds between boulders and sea-molded rocks. The Fish Hoek beach is just eight minutes away. Bask in the sun, and delight in the warm Indian Ocean water, ideal for swimming, sailing, kayaking, and snorkeling. If you like a relaxed atmosphere, spacious accommodations, and fresh baked breads for breakfast... if you enjoy watching spectacular sunrises and impromptu performances by seals, seen from the comfort of your suite.... then we invite you to be our guest. We look forward to welcoming you to Sunny Cove Manor!Peter, Solveig and Eric ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunny Cove Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Cove Manor Fish Hoek, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing