We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tranquillity Island Resort & Dive Base
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Fatumaru Lodge(Port Vila)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moorings Hotel(Port Vila)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
97
36
5
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
36
5
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle sanctuarygreat divingthe managerscoral gardenshavannah harbourrental gearrelease programfishother guestsprivate beachswim throughssolar panelsrain waterday tripthree meals a daycoconut crabshare stories
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 150 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Don't come here expecting luxury accommodation. This is not what this place is about. However, if you want some of the best ever snorkelling straight off your own private beach, with no-one else in sight, then come to Tranquility. We have snorkelled and dived at some of the best locations in the world and this is more than a match. Walk off your private beach and in less than a metre of water, you can see colourful corals and fish. Swim out a bit further and the variety and density of the coral is the best we have ever seen. Because this place is not on the mainland, the coral is undamaged by unwitting tourists and boat anchors.

We stayed in Fare 6 for five nights, which included ensuite toilet and shower. The Fare is basic, but clean with hot water and solar lighting. There is a bit of a walk to the Beach House (where food and drink are served), but it is a beautiful stroll through the trees, and what have you got to rush for? We loved walking back at night by torchlight, trying to avoid stepping on all the coconut crabs.

Food consists of simple and tasty home cooked meals and there is plenty of it. Any dietary requirements can be taken care of easily.

The hosts, Terry and Kim, are great people. Very welcoming and easy going and nothing is too much trouble for them. They won’t let you lift a finger to help. One day the regular cruise (Coongoola) to the island wasn’t running (because of elections on the mainland), so they packed their dive boat with a bbq picnic lunch and took all the guests (only seven of us at the time) round to the other side of the island for the day. It was lovely to have the entire beach to ourselves (half the group stayed on the beach, the other half took the boat out for a couple of dives).

Terry and Kim also maintain the turtle sanctuary on the island. A previous review mentions that the tanks smelled badly. We didn’t notice this and observed that the tanks were emptied and refilled every day. We, and the other guests, all had the amazing opportunity to take part in releasing turtles back into the ocean.

Tranquility Dive Resort is a relaxed and peaceful place with nothing to do except snorkel, swim, dive, kayak, eat, drink and relax in beautiful surroundings. Perfect.

A big thanks to Kim, Terry and the rest of the staff

Room Tip: You are not really paying for the room, but the location
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place is all you need and more!

Accommodation : basic and constructed out of local resources such as palm fronds, dead coral and local trees. Simply a bed in a room with solar powered lighting or candles with the sound of the sea lapping at your doorstep to sing you to sleep. I preferred our toilet and shower being separate from the fare itself as it adds to the adventure.

Food: Delicious, hearty, home cooked meals! Loads of fruit. The local fruit and vegetables are full of flavour and goodness!

Team Tranquility: Hosts, Terry and Kim, and the Tranquility team made us feel at home on the island. Very professional when it comes to dive instructing and their aim is to make your stay the best they can possibly make it.

Diving: Visibility was incredible!!! 20m+ Its the picture you envision when you think of scuba diving! Colourful, healthy reefs and plenty fish!

Location: Paradise! You are on a lush green Island surrounded by crystal waters away from civilisation with all you need! You forget about all the other overrated and unnecessary stuff we humans have come to obsess over and go back to basics. It really allows you to relax and reflect.

I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: I can only speak for Fare 4 as its the only one we stayed in. I really loved it. There is a bit of a walk between the beach house and Fare 4 which allows you to stretch your legs and settle your tummy after all the yummy food!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My partner and I spent 8 days at Tranquillity. We completed our Open Water dive course here and did another 8 dives while we where there. We loved our accommodation, it's called a FARE and is pretty much a hut on the beach, we loved this, very simple, the next step above camping. The food was great, homestyle hearty meals. The diving was unbelievable, so much beautiful coral and fish. The staff where all very happy and accommodating and Kim and Terry (the hosts) where very friendly and helpful.

If you want to get away from it all and be on your own island in paradise this is the place for you!

Room Tip: the lower the number of the FARE the closer you are to everything, I preferred being a bit further away and having a bit more of a walk in between emails and more privacy. Each FARE has their own beacgh
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned from 5 nights on Tranquillity. It was everything it was said to be. Traditional fares right on the beach - only a couple of steps from high water mark! We really did have our own beach! Walk straight into the water and snorkel in the most beautiful clear water and view a garden of coral and fish. Accommodation was basic but clean and comfortable. The meals were tasty and we were able to have a private dinner on our own beach (nothing was too much bother for Kim and Terry). We did plenty of exploring around the Island and found may snorkelling spots. The turtles were wonderful and it was amazing seeing them swimming by! No night life other than sitting on the beach watching the water and the lights on the mainland and having a quiet drink. It was a dream holiday and one we will remember for ever.

Room Tip: We would have been happy with any fare - they are all on the beach
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petersueturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We knew this was a basic place and we were looking forward to our Robinson's experience, we were quite dissapointed, however. It is one of those places where the word 'eco' is used as an excuse not to look after anything and to expect things to get clean by the rain.

The island is great, the water crystal clear and really away from it all.

The rooms/fares are just wooden huts no bigger than 4 sqm with no glass windows, just mosquito nets, and two or three beds and one shelf; The furniture is done out of pieces of trees. The beds are extremely uncomfortable, the matresses did not fit the beds and were very short for people above 1.60 cm. the rooms had not even been swept before we arrived.

The bathrooms are separate, outside the fares. Charming as an idea from a decorative point of view, but very small and run down.

Debris everywhere throughout the common areas, it looks like everything is being left to the mercy of the elements, abandoned: The common kitchen was very dirty and three of us got a bad diarrea that night after dinner.

the beach is very full of whatever the tide brings, most of it biodegradable but too much to lay down comfortably. it would be advisable to remove it, especially bearing in mind one has to lay down on the sand due to the total lack of sun beds or even minimally confortable chairs, but it stays there.

the turtle 'sanctuary' was also in a poor state, the water in the tanks where the turtles were stank and it was difficult to stand there for more than 2 seconds;

The resort in general was in a very poor state. There were only three men working there, two locals and the expat manager. Does not seem enough for the work it needs.

The price is also out of line with what they have to offer, mostly in view of the lack of maintenance.

This place would make a fantastic eco experience if only they kept it in a decent state.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizard7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews