We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Henley

“One of the best!”
Review of Duke of Cumberland

Duke of Cumberland
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Henley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Eaten here several times over the past 4 years and the food is amazing. Also good selection of wine. The pub is full of character and 'dog friendly'. And if the bar is full - as it usually is on weekends! - the outside seating area with open fire is a good option!!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Woodenpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 564 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

Totally amazing lunch! We booked a roast rib of beef at the table about 6 weeks ago for 6. (This is necessary, but one can also book pork, lamb or chicken), it is very popular. It is deservedly popular, it is frankly superb. Most of us had oysters to start, beautifully served and delicious. The scallops were also chosen and proclaimed delicious. Then we had the beef. Omg. Completely divine! Served with lashings of roast potatoes, Delish cauliflower cheese and fresh vegs. You carve the beef yourself and can take any extras home. It’s soooooo very good! We were beautifully looked after by some lovely ladies but also by Sam from the bar. If you have never done this lunch, seriously suggest you think ahead and book. It’s a special experience in a picturesque pub, coupled with sensational food and service ! Puddings also very good! Can’t wait to go back!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank dragonfry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2019

We were recommended to visit this hostelry by a local and we were not at all disappointed. Hard to find without a local guide but, like Henry Stanley, an absolute marvel to behold. The setting, even in winter, has a magical quality; the ambience is perfect; the chef is brilliant. We must return in spring and summer and autumn. Well done all of you.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank wiltingbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2019

Another wonderful Sunday lunch at The Duke of Cumberland. Delicious starters and then a rib of beef - cooked to perfection and carved by one of our group at our table - always a talking point! A lovely selection of vegetables to accompany the main course and of course roast potatoes and Yorkshire Puddings. A great atmosphere and, as always, great service. A real treat!

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juliet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2019

This is a lovely pub but more than just a pub, great atmosphere, very homely and the chef is super talented. Classy presentation but the atmosphere not too fancy which makes this place feel very homely and welcoming! Recommend highly.
We will be back for sure.
Thank you for a lovely time.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Libbyeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Cumberland also viewed

 
Midhurst, West Sussex
Lurgashall, West Sussex
 
West Dean, Chichester
Lodsworth, West Sussex
 

Been to Duke of Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing