We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Experience, Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge du Prieure

Auberge du Prieure
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Cheriennes
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience, Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have been here many times and it is always enjoyable.
The whole experience from the welcome to the fair wells is a must, but please note that there is no choice of menu so if you have special dietary needs it is well worth asking them beforehand. The food is always excellent and something special, this time we had pork cheeks which was a first for me and were superb.
Please allow several hours to eat the many courses, drink and chat.
Great value for money, but please think before you go who will drive or who is the lead walker if living locally!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MW2822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corringham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Proper "French" experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were taken here yesterday to celebrate our 50th birthdays by my mum and her partner who have dined here before. They were nervous about taking us, worried because there was no menu to chose from, a new experience for us. They need not have worried as the entire evening - welcome, table, service, food and drinks - were all amazing. Between the 4 of us our French is at best limited but at no time were we made to feel anything other than very welcome and the whole evening was perfect. Our hosts even took on their own camera a photo of the 4 of us with our desserts which were complete with a birthday candle and which they then printed off and gave to us to take as a souvenir of our evening. A perfect and proper French experience and one I hope to repeat on future visits.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hidden French auberge you need to discover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hélène and Rodrigue are the perfect hosts. If you have not been here, you are missing a truly French gastronomic treat in a truly country style. The converted farmhouse is a real dining experience. There is only one menu. You eat what is served today unless you are a vegetarian or have special dietary needs which you must specify in advance. You must book or will not get in The menu at 32 euros is for 5 or 6 course including drinks is excellent value. You must be hungry and will leave replete.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswood
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is an amazing place. We have been for meals here at Hélène and Rodrigue's Ferme for the last 14 years and have had fantastic food and service evader since. The one off price of 32€ includes (home made) apéritifs, nibbles, starter, soup, main course, cheese, dessert and coffee. And as much wine and bottled water as you can drink! Everything is freshly prepared on the premises: the brother is the chef, the son in law prepares and delivers all the charcuterie, another brother is the butcher and drivers all the meat, a niece is a cheese specialist and all the staff are members of the family. You cannot go wrong booking a table here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StargazerKingswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, great price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

You really can't go wrong for €32-00pp it seemed like we were given 8 courses & wine included, friendly staff & fab atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank captainskicool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge du Prieure also viewed

Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
 
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
Hesdin, Pas-de-Calais
 
Auxi-le-Chateau, Pas-de-Calais
Labroye, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Auberge du Prieure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing