We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief stay - wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de la Poste
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Assesse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Found this hotel by chance, booked it in February as it was relatively cheap for a one night stay - very impressive county house, lovely rooms but a bit hickey-pickeldy layout. Rooms very well appointed and equipped - big beds and everything spotlessly clean,

Room Tip: rooms and public areas decorated in dark grey - bit strange but don't let this put you off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 473 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

Beautiful chateau in the countryside, nicely modernised and tastefully decorated. We had a large room with nice views on three sides and a very well laid out bathroom. Comfortable beds, delicious breakfast buffet with a large variety for all diets. As previously commented the WiFi was unusable, to the degree they effectively do not have it, however it was our only criticism. Wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Asfaloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Beautiful chateau, very well maintained. Comfortable bedrooms and modern bathrooms. Lovely peaceful and beautiful setting. Particularly enjoyed drinks on the terrace overlooking the extensive grounds. Good night's sleep in comfy bed, felt like a princess!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We visited this very beautiful hotel in June 2014. The place is not only stunningly beautiful with its old (restored) buildings, terrace, lovely rooms and restaurant but also with its spacious and greatly landscaped gardens and surroundings.

When we entered the place the staff first addressed our children, telling them that there were free (and fully functioning...) bicycles standing at the entrance which they could use. Then they told our kids that they could have the keys & rackets to use the tennis court, that they could use the pool billiard and many more places & toys. We never saw our children thereafter as they were playing & venturing in the vast Hotel gardens, having fun.

The hotel is run with very little staff on weekends (that's why the weekend-rates are so low I guess) - so the hotel-restaurant is closed then. That's a bit sad - they do supply a list with nearby restaurants and places a alternative, which we found useful.

The hotel has many places where one can sit and read, talk, socialize, use the computer and go online. If I remember correctly, there was good and free WiFi.

The bed-rooms are lovely, nicely decorated, good beds and beautiful and functional bathrooms.

The breakfast is nice - mostly you have to/can do everything yourself: boil your own egg, make your toast, and use the full-fledged coffee-machine to make your beloved cappuccino or cafe-latte. The table is laid for the whole group. There could be some more choice of cheeses and sausage, but then one can't always have everything, right?

All in all it was a wonderful experience in a beautiful environment away from the beaten track. Our children told us that next year we MUST return to this hotel and stay here longer :-)...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel is very good. The staff is really nice, helpful and always smiling. The hotel is a real château so you get to enjoy the spacious rooms , a beautiful terrace with marvelous view, and very nice authentic decor. The hotel has many facilities including sports activities and massage room. We enjoyed our stay very much but I have two comments first, the room is very hot in the summer, no ac and if we open the windows the mosquitoes invade the room. I think the management should consider putting at least a fan. Another thing the breakfast is very nice but really over priced.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 73nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent M, Directeur général at Chateau de la Poste, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous sommes conscients que certain jour, les chambres exposées plein sud sont plus chaudes.
Mais en Belgique cela reste exceptionnel. Merci pour votre idée du ventilateur. Le petit déjeuner à un prix juste compte que le buffet est à volonté et composé de produits locaux et du terroir.
Laurent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We only did an overnight stop here en route from the channel tunnel to Italy, but wish we could have stayed for longer.

It's around 3 hours from Calais and well worth the 15 minute diversion from the motorway.

The château is a witty mix of old and new, clearly overseen by someone with both a sylish eye and a sense of humour (wooden jigsaw stags' heads being one example). Our family room was a good size for four, with a great modern bathroom. An evening drink on the large terrace was a welcome way to relax after the driving and breakfast the next morning was delicious.

We didn't get to try all the leisure facilities but they all looked great, hence why we would have liked to stay for longer.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank callcottstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were really excited to book a long weekend in this castle that looked really amazing and since we were paying quite a lot (164euros/ night) were really excepting a nice room. We arrive and the castle indeed looks amazing , located in an idyllic location and with a beautiful terrace- however the moment we enter the room the biggest disappointment ever- the room is small and there is hardly any light as the window is as big as a prison window. We asked to have our room changed and we were told to ask again the day after as the hotel was fully booked. The day after we were told that the only option was to move to a different building if we wanted a different room, however we would have to check out at 11 and get our new room only at 4pm - which is by no means the service you expect from a highly rated hotel. The lady at the reception was not willing to help further.
At the same time we read in the review book of customers , that was just by the reception, where another guest was complaining that his room was like a closet and it was in the other building that we were offered to move. Hence we decided to keep our current room to avoid the hassle and further disappointment.
Not to mention that during the 2 nights the temperature was extremely high and due to the lack of fresh air (due to lack of a proper size window) we slept really badly- on top there was no fridge in the room, just to be able to have had some cold water to drink during the boiling night.
Finally the day of the check out we asked the same lady to see the manager as we wanted to complain- she was quite rude and was trying to get rid of us. We also mentioned that we were extremely disappointed and that we were going to complain about that and her response was , just do whatever you want and with no signs of good will, claiming there was no manager.
Finally, if you want to visit this place i would recommend to just go for a walk around the park and have a drink on the terrace but in case you go and pay this amount for money then then you sleep in a room that reminds of a prison you will be disappointed, like we were.

Room Tip: ask for a room that has a proper window (maybe is the superior room) - most probably the rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alceste K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assesse
1.3 mi away
Le Moulin des Ramiers
Le Moulin des Ramiers
#1 of 1 in Crupet
83 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dinant Castel de Pont a Lesse
7.5 mi away
The Royal Snail Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Ibis Dinant
Ibis Dinant
#1 of 4 in Dinant
787 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#13 of 19 in Durbuy
148 reviews
18.7 mi away
La Malle Poste Rochefort
La Malle Poste Rochefort
#1 of 1 in Rochefort
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Poste

Address: Ronchinne 25 | Maillen, Assesse 5330, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Namur Province > Assesse
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Assesse
Price Range: $64 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de la Poste 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing