We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I chose this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magic Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Glad I chose this place”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I originally chose this place to be close to the Lyngen Alps, one of the location I chose to see the northern lights. Although during my stay the weather was not too great, and I didn't see any lights on this side of the fjord, I considered that two nights to be for rest.

Magic Mountain Lodge is located just outside of Lyngseidet town centre, probably less than 1km from the main junction, but very close to the ferry to Olderdalen. To get here from Tromsø, I recommend that you take the Breivikeidet-Svensby ferry unless you prefer hours of detour, which I didn't do but considering the beauty of this part of the world, why not?

This two storey large house has a ground floor that houses some of the dorms and a ski store and the second floor is where the reception, lounge/dining room, kitchen, laundry and en-suite room is located. During my lazy days, I spent hours hooked up to the wifi in the lounge researching locations to visit and doing some writing. Do so while going through the owner's epic europe-asia cycle trip.

This is a family-run place, and being so, the hosts are extremely friendly and helpful with tips. And anything that is within reason is probably do-able, which makes the place more personal than the establishment-run joints.

During my stay, the other guests were there to ski, and while I didn't do it myself, I was told that Lyngen was a great ski destination, minus the ski lifts but perhaps that means that there are plenty of virgin snow for those that prefers the more natural ski adventures.

During my stay I reserved a single room with en-suite bathroom, and I got a room for 3 and was charged only for 1 person. There's also a full board package where breakfast (which is always included) and dinner is included and you could also pack out lunch sandwich from the breakfast stock. The dinner was just perfect, and this place also employs professional cooks during the peak seasons for this reason - and I dont think I have anything to complain about it. I think I had too large chunk of salmon steak on my second night, and that's because it was too good to pass up. The food here is supposed to be local sourced, so it is an economical way to experience norwegian ingredients without stepping into one of those 5 star restaurants in Tromsø and spend an astronomical sum of money on food. I recommend that you include full board if you plan to be around the area for dinner around 6:30pm to 7pm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dufffader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    23
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
32
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

If you seek to get away from Tromsö and see a bit of the area I recommend this place. We came to see the northern light which unfortunately hid behind clouds. But the owners and the view made up for that. Really nice couple. Fun to talk to. Cute little baby. They made hot cider to take on our chase. And lend us a kind of ski/sledge mix. That was tons of fun!
Room were clean and ok for the price.
I would definitely stay again. We came by bus from Tromsö. You might get more out of the area and a better northern lights chase though if you rent a car. Apparently skiing is also great there. Didn't do it though.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saka2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

For a romantic getaway or an adventure filled week-end Magic Mountain Lodge is the perfect lodge in Tromso,Lyngen. The rooms are all very modern & spacious.You feel at home. Patrik and Henrika are 2 of the most helpful hosts.You can enjoy dinner in their restaurant while waiting to spot the Northern lights. Their Lodge is perfectly situated for all the skiing/hiking in the area. You can share travel stories with Patrick & Henrika for hours as they have traveled around the world mostly on bike! Magic Mountain Lodge will make your Norway adventure an everlasting memory!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Magic Mountain Lodge, is perfect for the skier, backpacker, traveller. It´s an abandoned nursing home, but in good shape! The rooms are clean, the sheats are clean, and you have what you need, that´s what matters! The rest you find up in 2nd floor, with cozy and chill environment with BEAUTIFUL view over the fjord......and after the perfect hike (summer&winter) you can sit down on the balcony and chill with a cold drink, to a good conversation with one of the other guests from all over the world. The food is a sight, and soo good, made of fresh fish from the local fishermen. The fishermen also come by and sell fresh fish packed in folie, good to go, and bring home ;) With 124 peaks over 1000m, and spectacular nature and view wherever you go, this is the place to be for the skier who wants spectacular skiing and scenery! My favourite place on earth!!

I recommend this place for it´s very nice staff, price, cleanness, very good local food, and chill environment! ALL a treveller needs ;)

Room Tip: You can geet bigger rooms with many beds, cheaper, and for groups (200kr the night i think, last yea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arnnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Went to Magic Mountain Lodge just to have some food and look around Lyngen. It was great. Fresh food. One uf us had cod, the other had meatballs. Both were great.

The place is an informal B&B, but they get the thumbs up, because they take the food seriously. It's an everyday kind of place, but where they seemingly care about doing things in a propper way.

The place was also clean, and in all ways sufficiently nice that I'd go back and spend some nights there.

Room Tip: My guess is that the fish is a safe bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hagimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyngseidet
23.7 mi away
Arctic Panorama Lodge
Arctic Panorama Lodge
#1 of 2 in Skjervoy
99 reviews
23.9 mi away
Welcome Inn Hotel Lyngskroa
13.9 mi away
Lyngen North
Lyngen North
#1 of 1 in Rotsund
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hakon Gjestehus
Hakon Gjestehus
#1 of 1 in Olderdalen
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soerheim Brygge
Soerheim Brygge
#8 of 12 in Lyngen Municipality
8 reviews
13.1 mi away
Artic Lyngen Sea-camp
Artic Lyngen Sea-camp
#2 of 3 in Olderdalen
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Mountain Lodge

Property: Magic Mountain Lodge
Address: Stigenveien 24 | Lyngen, Lyngseidet 9060, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Lyngen Municipality > Lyngseidet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lyngseidet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magic Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magic Mountain Lodge is surrounded by the Lyngen Alps and has a great view of the Lyngenfjord. On request we serve breakfast and home-made dinners. The lodge is family-run by (former) travellers. During winter you can book activities like northern light-tour, dog-sledding, ice-climbing and cross-country skiing, rent some of (5) pairs of snowshoes. Price-level is about half compared to most tours in Tromsø. You can cancel everything for free and we can also cancel if conditions doesn't fit the activity. During the summer you can find great hiking nearby and spot some of the highest and most beautiful mountains in Northern Norway. We also have bicycles for rent. In addition to 15 en-suite single- and double rooms we have a dormatory for 6 persons. There is also a chill zone with huge TV where guests can relax on the couches and also a table-tennis room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Magic Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing