We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its just another day in Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sai Vishram Byndoor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paduvari
Hyderabad, India
1 review
“Its just another day in Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Sai Vishram - the name may sound like a lodge or a dharamshala but it is not! It is a beautiful beach resort near Mangalore. I have never stayed in a tent before and always wanted to experience it and the tents at sai vishraam are better than 5 star rooms, with a walk in closet room and bath which are open to sky gives your stay in them a whole new experience.
The resort has their own private beach with water sports and they have a team of life gaurds to make sure you are safe.
Food!!!! This is the best part.. the food is excellent in taste and every meal has atleast a variety of 25 items to chose from.
I even indulged in a body massage in their spa which was quite relaxing.
All this and more are good but the best part of the resort is the service.. everyone working there seem to be so dedicated, warm and motivated to serve. This makes the place have a very positive viberation to it which rubs off on the guests too making it a very touching and memorable stay.
Thanks to team Sai Vishram.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhushbuMutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaiVishram, General Manager at Sai Vishram Byndoor, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your warm feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and took home fond memories.
Do come again and experience the new activities we would have lined up for you.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    78
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
465
94
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

It is 10 hours by road or 12 hours by train from Bangalore. The first thing that strikes you is the relaxed and friendly welcome. The tent and attached private area for bathing, etc is surrounded by greenery. All round the clock one hears the waves hitting the shore in almost regular background sounds. The sleeping “room” is about 200 sft with air-conditioned comfort. There are other kinds of accomodation to choose from.

Food is excellent. A wide variety of ice creams to choose from is added bonus – especially for kids. The menu changes each meal.

An early morn walk and climb accompanied by a Staffer to the top of a small hillock brings one to view sun-rise and back-waters of a near-by river. Playing in the sea-water is always under the watchful eyes of the helpful staff. Water-scooters are also a thrill one must enjoy. There is plenty of water activity. Evening snacks are served just off the beach. The beach itself is very clean and safe.

There is no need for swimming pool and fitness centre here - with the sea to swim and plenty of activities. Luckily no mosquitoes too !

Indoor games are mainly in the upper part of the resort : Snooker, Chess, Carrom, Table Tennis, a good Library, Art class, etc. in addition to All Terrain Vehicle ride. A Full Body Massage by professional hands, gives added relaxation.

But all this is nothing. What stands out is the ever-friendly staff – a new variety of genies who smile and say yes, making you feel like a king !!

No negatives ? Well, depends on one's thinking. You may not like the insect-life around you. You may not like the fact that there is no room service (except for drinking water), there is no TV, no newspaper, no intercom too, no booze, no non-veg, no smoking. I for one, am fine with these – and I think it is a piece of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: This was my second stay in the tents. If you want to be away from it all, choose the cottages or roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelRajBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaiVishram, General Manager at Sai Vishram Byndoor, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you four your detailed feedback. It will certainly help potential guests get a clearer picture about the resort when they are making plans.
We have upgraded the tents...and we are positive you will love the new facility.
Look forward to seeing you soon
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I did not know what I was going to experience - 2 days of the best time !!! Great food, cozy tent with a huge bathroom, with openings - to nature !!! There was no time to sleep too, except late night - what with playing in the sea under the watchful eyes of the Staff, having tea at the beach, playing with the friendly dog Budge, riding the ATV, snooker, table tennis, walking amidst greenery and a variety of flowers and birds, climbing to the top of the hillock to watch the sun rise and the back-waters of the near-by river, etc. etc. But I miss the friendly Staff - I did not want to leave the place, when we had to start back. Thank you every one at Sai Vishram.

Room Tip: Variety of rooms, but I liked the Tents - close to the sea and to the Dining Area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArihantDugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaiVishram, General Manager at Sai Vishram Byndoor, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were touched to read your experiences at the resort. Thank you very much and we hope to host you again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

A really neat and clean beach with attentive life guards who are really on their toes makes this beach resort really safe. They provide life jackets to be worn if you want to go into the water and this is compulsorily, hence keeping safety at priority. There are some water sports available, but had the best time with the waves. We had taken the AC tents which are the closest to the beach. these tents were maintained really very neat and clean as far as practicable. There is no Wi-Fi or TV in your tent but they have a small library in their office from where you can borrow books to read, as in the late evening you really don't have much to do. The hospitality of the staff is really commendable. The food is pure vegetarian and the taste is really good. So overall had really a good time. Thanks to the all the staff . Will definitely go back .

Room Tip: Go for the Tent as this is really very near to the beach .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dev s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaiVishram, General Manager at Sai Vishram Byndoor, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Dear Guest
Thanks for sharing your views. It is a nice feeling when guests tell us they would like to visit again. We will look forward to hosting you again and will ensure an even better experience.
Thank you
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

A non-alcoholic, vegetarian, pet friendly beach resort.
One of the best holidays spent in a wonderful place. We two sisters planned to detoxify ourselves in a well known naturopathy center in Udupi for 10 days and had planned a trip to Sai Vishram at the end of our trip. There were rave reviews of both these places but our personal experience was not upto expectations in Soukayvana,,,which had staffs with bad attitude, no system to handle the amount of people checking etc.. that we had to cut our stay short by two days to avoid further stress. Our booking at Sai Vishram was for 2 days away. However, a call to Mr. Adarsh Shetty put us at ease. They accommodated us in cottage at no extra cost for one night as tents were full and shifted us to the tents next morning. Booked tickets for us and also arranged for a cab with a very friendly driver. What a contrast between two institutions.
Best Staff, good food...the word "no" is not in their dictionary. Even though they have fixed menu, they accommodate our request without a murmur.
They also took us to nearby temples. On one such visit we forgot to take any money with us, Sanjeev who had accompanied us lent us money but later refused to take even a rupee extra when we returned him the money. Common tip box is nice idea.
Beach is clean...life guards always present to help you, life jacket given everyone going to sea... service of juices and evening snacks and tea at the beach very nice idea.
Kids are taken care of. Staff encourages us to venture into sea with confidence.
Coastal cruise and swimming in sea was an experience.
Hospitality is unmatched. Best getaway place to be with family.
Even though it rained the second day...it just added beauty to the place.
Way to go Team Sai Vishram...Hope to come back soon to this paradise.

Ensure that you take 1) sun screens 2) creams for small insects bites
Wish I could have spent time with their dogs in the beach and also that they did not have to tie the dogs so much.

Room Tip: Go for tents that are near the beach. But if do not mind walking (as dining hall is near beach and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nima8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaiVishram, General Manager at Sai Vishram Byndoor, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Coming from senior contributors, it helps our guests get a realistic picture, when compared to other options.
We really hope to host you again and have already lned up new activities for you!
See you soon!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We a group of 8 families ( 35 members ) visited Sai Vishram in April 2014. This personally was my family's second visit.
The resort is a very well maintained place. The tents are excellent and cottages are amazing!! The hospitality and food are beyond compare. The staff is very kind, helpful and courteous. The life guards are always alert and ensure that their guests are safe. They provide life jackets as soon as one steps on the beach. The water rides - Banana Boat Ride, Jet ski and Costal Cruise were a good experience.
The resort provided us with a small bonfire along with their music system which all of us enjoyed.
A must visit for all vegetarians food lovers.
- Kushalraj.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kushal r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaiVishram, General Manager at Sai Vishram Byndoor, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for not only choosing to stay with us again, but also bringing a huge crowd along! It was really wonderful to host you all and we are glad you all enjoyed your stay.
We have a few new activities up our sleeves for the upcoming season, so do stay tuned.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Writing this review to thank all the other reviewers and to add a couple of pointers to people who are thinking about staying here.
Why you should go:
1. The Sea - they provide life jackets which allow you to laze around in the sea and have fun

2. Off the grid - No TV & No wifi in the rooms or tents and if you plan to spend time in the sea, you will not have a lot of time with your mobile. Just disconnect and enjoy

3. Food - Veg food only but finger licking good. They do customize the food if you have allergies or don't want some ingredients in it (onion, garlic etc.)

4. Hospitality - Extremely polite and very quick service. Special attention given to kids especially if very young. Love the idea of afternoon classes to keep the kids engaged. Would like to thank the painting master for keeping my son engaged

5. Crowd - Mostly families who are looking to have a quiet but fun time. Had a good time with total strangers

6. Water sports - The jet ski ride as well as the dolphin sighting trip were amazing. I guess these are available only in summer and after the monsoon season.Slightly expensive but totally worth it

7. No Alcohol - Hence no drunken revelers to spoil the experience

I stayed in the AC room & Bhatkal house and the biggest problem is the distance between the rooms and the beach. You need to walk quiet a bit and the uphill climb after lunch is not very pleasant. Would be great if the management could arrange for a golf cart to move people from the beach/dining area to the rooms uphill.

Definitely going there again and would close my eyes and recommend the place to family & friends.

Room Tip: - Book any of the tents or the mud hut as these are closer to both the beach and the dining area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Procrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaiVishram, General Manager at Sai Vishram Byndoor, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
We sincerely value your feedback about our property. Being tagged as a Senior Contributor and having visited similar locations elsewhere in the country, your feedback definitely gives our potential guests a very balanced and accurate idea of what one can expect (and more importantly, not expect) at Sai Vishram.
We have considered your and a few other guests' suggestions and are planning to put a golf cart in place shortly.
Thank you once again for recommending us to your folks.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paduvari
14.3 mi away
Hotel Mahalakshmi Residency
39.0 mi away
Samanvay Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#3 of 16 in Chikamagalur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
UVA Meridian Bay Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Wild Woods Spa and Resort
17.5 mi away
Mavalli Beach Heritage Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Vishram Byndoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Vishram Byndoor

Property: Sai Vishram Byndoor
Address: Baindur, Dombe Village | Udupi District, Paduvari 576214, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Paduvari
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paduvari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sai Vishram Byndoor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sai Vishram understands the essence of warm and gracious service. We Offer a collection of destinations in state of Karnataka, Southern India, each with its own unique personality, offering guests an experience that is distinctive and memorable. From Business Travel, Family Holidays, Spa Vacations, Pilgrimages, to Luxury Caravans, we welcome you to try the Sai Vishram hospitality, where we "Love to Serve and Serve to Love" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Sai Vishram Byndoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sai Vishram Hotel Udupi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing