We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Treehotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
156
23
10
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
23
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree hotelroof terracemirror cubeunique experiencethree nightsthe main housedouble bedbucket listnorthern lightsbirds nestmini barshower facilitieshot tubshower blockcinnamon bunssmall bagnorthern sweden
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 195 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Unbelievable place to visit! This should be on everyone's bucket list! It's family run and they plan to add a tree hotel in the US as well. This is a must! The dragonfly is where we stayed and it had luxurious contemporary accommodations ! The bird house looks super cool too! We are going ziplining later and on a guided hike tomorrow and we can't wait! The family that owns and runs this 365 days a year are so sweet and helpful. They have thought of everything. Unfortunately though we thought they said there was a phone in our room incase we need anything but we can't seem to find one and its a looooong walk to the reception area! (you would expect that in a tree house anyway but just so ya know....)

Room Tip: Ask them how to run things before deciding on a room. Some of them are accessible very easily like the dragonfly or the blue cone. However the cube (very cool one) has a rope walk and the UFO and birdsnest both have steep, sketchy ladder type entrances. (don't bring anything more than a back pack!)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The designs are extremely interesting, toilets and accommodations is inside little wooden boxes, great for novelty value for a night. Proprietor very friendly,
.long walks if you enjoy that and a few other activities

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ian-visser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

When we arrived at Britta's we were left to wait for 2+ hours due to the clocks having changed. It was not clear at all how it was related to Treehotel, but clearly not anything 5*. Nothing to do but wait in a reception room for 2 hours except stare at a faded poster of Frank Sinatra and a chipped, creepy mannequin with an icy draft blowing in. We were told our bags could be taken to our room no problem, but that all guests had to trek there themselves through the ice, steep inclines and builders mud. When we reached our room, the mirror cube, it was an impressive sight however, after navigating along the infirm hanging bridge, we were dropped into 18 square metres of plywood portacabin, a "frozen" toilet (where there is no flushing, you just do your business, close the lid and hope to avoid eye contact with the maid the next day when she has to empty it!) and no running water (just a limited supply to drink/use in the kettle/wash up).

There is a small, bookable sauna and a shower so communal, it is shared by all the rooms, has no door, can be fully viewed by anyone looking in the door or sauna or coming up from the relax room! 1 shower x ~20 guests, no privacy and another slippery, icy trek back to Britta's museum of dusty niknaks for all your meals.

For the completely exuberant price, you'd be expecting 5* luxury, but you would be sorely mistaken.

It's definitely quirky and adventurous for the concept alone, but the price vs facilities and lack of basics leaves one out of pocket and sadly disappointed.

It was a special surprise trip from my partner and just seeing his disappointment made it worse :(

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
39  Thank MadeInAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at Treehotel with my young son back in the summer of 2010 when it first opened. I'd been following the progress of the hotel since I first read a blog piece about the concept over a year earlier. I loved the idea, contemporary design combined with eco-tourism and the childhood fantasy of living in a treehouse.
Arriving at Britta's, the guest house which serves as a base for your stay, we were met with the warmest welcome I can remember receiving at any hotel/B&B. Walking into Brittas was quite familiar to me...it's quirky, full of period bits and bobs and not unlike the house I grew up in (with antique collector parents).
Britta and her daughter Sofia made us a drink and a snack before Sofia took us up to our room for the night. That was to be The Cabin...which is a recangular pod suspended from the trees. It has an enormous picture window with views through the branches to the Lulea river. Access is via a ramp and a door on the roof terrace....the steps are steep.
Inside, everything from the bedding to the light fittings to the Eva Solo coffee making facilities were brilliantly thought out. Simple but luxurious.
We returned to Brittas for dinner, where we also met Kent (who had just returned from on of the fishing safaris he runs). We were fed on Britta's special moose-balls in the most incredible juniper sauce. It was hard not to be the one embarrassingly asking for more....and more...
There was still a good deal of construction work going on with new tree rooms so we shared dinner with the architect and his building team. It was fascinating to learn about the whole design and construction process.
After dinner we took a torch and made our way back up through the darkening forest to the cabin, where we had a fantastically comfortable night's sleep.
The following night we stayed in the mirrorcube, which was a different, but equally exciting experience. Again, it was very comfortable indeed.
We were invited to have a sauna that day with Kent and the workers...which my son really enjoyed. He especially enjoyed the cured reindeer and elk snacks that came with the experience.
When we left it was actually with a heavy heart, despite the fact that we were moving on to our own favourite bolt-hole 100km south. My son and I had been treated with such warm hospitality we really felt that we had made some very good friends in the space of two days. Indeed, we are still in touch now. For various reasons it was a very worrying time for our family and for those critical two days, it was as good a place in the world for us to be.
Now, I should mention that, if you want to stay there in the tree rooms, the experience doesn't come cheap...however, you aren't just buying a roof over your head. It's a very special and never to be forgotten experience and, if the hotel can be sustained as it is, ecologically sound, it's worth it.
If you haven't visited Swedish Lapland before, it is highly recommended. You can do the whole winter thing but, personally, I think the place is paradise in the summer. It's a truly stunning wilderness of a kind that you don't find elsewhere in Europe. It's warm, the days are endless and the natural world is engaging in any way that you choose. Just don't forget the citronella mosquito repellent.

Room Tip: For luxury, the Cabin...for out of this world fantasy experience, the cube or maybe the UFO.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cns259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in the cabin from the bed of which we had a wonderful view through the snowy forest. It is a significant hike along snowy and perhaps icypaths, but Kent was busy making this safer after each snowfall and also offered to take our bags to our cabins. Some cabins offer panoramic windows; the cabin, blue cone and mirror cube, the birds nest and ufo are cozy looking dens and as is obvious from the hotel website are not going to have panoramic views. The blue cone would be fairly accessible for someone with mobility issues, the others would not. The cabin has a pretty steep internal staircase, but did not cause us any issues. The food was fine, we especially enjoyed the breakfast. We were so glad that we had taken the opportunity to visit this special place and although many people could be put off by having to visit the sauna for a shower, we didn't find it a problem.

Room Tip: If you want a view from your room, choose a room that has one!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vpexplores1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews