We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

As a lodge / hostel type set up it's very clean, tidy and comfortable. We took the "freedom package" and found the food (including lunch for the crossing) to be real good quality and generous portions with healthy variety. The owners are very friendly and went the extra mile to make sure all that stayed in the lodge and did the crossing were looked after. Great service with a friendly attitude. If you're looking to do the crossing without the hassle of organising meals, transport etc then look no further - they take care of everything. The freedom package was excellent value for money I thought.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

We would just like to say thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback. We are constantly looking to refine the experience for our guests so we are pleased that we have continued to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 515 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in April 2012 as part of Freedom Crossing Package. The room was very clean and medium sized. The overall package is a fair price given the worry-free convenience of conducting the Tongariro crossing, and the excellent care and attention provided by Lorraine (front desk, pre and post crossing guide). Breakfast was very good, packed lunch was more than sufficient, dinner much better than expected! The actual hike across Tongariro Crossing was AMAZING and highly recommended (but somewhat dependent on weather and relative level of fitness is highly recommended; proper footwear a must, running shoes at minimum). Location of the Adventure Lodge is great and close to what little there is in the area.

Only downside of experience was noise transmitted between walls in motel accomodations. Luckily neighbours were equally exhausted and did not stay up all hours.

Some interesting things about National Park area: had an excellent dining experience at the Train Station restuarant (not really walkable from Adventure Lodge however, a car would be helpful to get to and from); make sure you know the gas station opening hours as it probably is the only place to buy things (e.g. anything and everything) in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaCanadianMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback. We enjoy meeting and welcoming people from all around the world. It is a pleasure sharing our little part of the world and making your adventure in the Tongariro National Park one you will always remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We decided on little notice to make the Crossing and were willing to take any room. We took two rooms in the lodge, rather than up in the dorms. Not as quiet as separate rooms, I am sure, but good enough.
The food and hospitality were perfect! The owners were delightfully helpful. Made sure we were well fed and well provisioned for what became a very difficult hike, due to an unexpected gale blowing in. I made the Crossing in a borrowed red jacket. Dinner was delicious, as were both breakfasts. Hot tub was just what we needed after the crossing!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcdt666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Now after living and travelling in New Zealand for 6 months, I can honestly look back on this as the most horrifying lack of hospitality I have ever seen. My friend and I were travelling through Tongariro, and wanted a night to ourselves away from the boys we were travelling with, so we dropped them at the backpackers down the street and booked a cheap shared room at the lodge. If only we had stayed with them at the backpackers...

We had been camping for about 3 weeks at this point, and were so excited for a hot shower and a warm bed. When my friend finished her shower she wanted to dry her hair, but when she plugged in her dryer (as there were none provided) it sparked. This spark must have set off the fire alarm. We quickly evacuated, while I was in only my towel, a coat, and some sneakers. We sat outside with the one other guest while the two women ran around searching for a fire. They first TOLD us there was no smoking in the rooms, which we replied with "we know" (we are NOT smokers, and I found this disgustingly offensive). We explained that the blow dryer did spark. A fire truck came, and they did an inspection, all the while these two women are frantic and upset, and I AM IN A TOWEL AND COAT OUTSIDE IN TONGARIRO NATIONAL PARK. Not once did they ask to move me somewhere warm, despite the fact that I am clearly half naked, INSTEAD they came up to us before letting us return to the Lodge and told us we were not allowed to smoke in the rooms.

I currently work for an international hotel chain in Queenstown, and I am sure that under any circumstance you would not see panic in the faces of, as well as such ignorant snide remarks come from my team mates. It is unfortunate that the friendly, kind impression we had gotten from kiwis thus far could be tarnished by these hosts.

The accommodation itself was okay, but I've stayed at much nicer backpackers who cook you breakfast, and are the sweetest of hosts. It's worth it to find this, or stay at the backpackers down the street, because when we picked up the boys they were so happy! The host there even let us cook some breakfast with them because we wanted to leave the Adventure Lodge ASAP

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwicole88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you had to stand outside in your coat; if we had been informed sparks from your friend’s faulty hair dryer set the fire alarm off, the fire brigade would not have needed to respond. The duty manager could not establish what set the alarm off, including guests smoking; therefore they had to follow the New Zealand Fire Departments regulations and evacuate the whole building. Every room in the lodge has to be checked for guests and no one is allowed back into the building until they had the all clear from the Fire Department. They needed to establish what activated the alarm before letting anyone back in to the building. The safety of all our guests is paramount. Hairdryers are available at reception and there is a special circuit breaker plug specifically for hair dryers in the bathrooms.
As you arrived early in the morning wet and cold from camping the night before, management allowed you to check into your room three hours early at no extra charge. We were told your boyfriends intended to camp out again that night. You then paid for two people; but four people came into the lodge and used the facilities including the hot showers. We did not charge your friends for using the facilities, but as they were not registered guests staying at Adventure Lodge management requested they leave. With most accommodation facilities in New Zealand you pay for the number of guests using a room, unit or suite. For health and safety reasons management needs to know how many people are sleeping in their buildings in case there is a real fire or emergency as we have to account for all guests. In New Zealand you are not able to have unregistered friends into your room to sleep; as a person working in the accommodation industry should know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

In general, we chose the Adventure Lodge for their National parks package. The prices were fairly reasonable. We enjoyed both activities - Tongariro Crossing and Whanganui River. Only glitch was that the company used for the Whanganui River was very unprofessional. Very limited info was given in regards to the activity.

Staying at the Adventure Lodge was OK. The room was basic and clean. The food was ok overall.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meso2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry the company we used for the Whanganui River Trip was not up to their usual standard. This company has new owners and maybe had a little teething problem at this time, I will pass your comments on to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

If you want somewhere to stay to do the crossing and don't want to worry about anything, then stay here. Get the package with breakfast, lunch, dinner and transport. You will be made very welcome and feel like you are the most important guests, even though there are many people staying here all the time. This is not a flash place, but it is warm and comfortable and the lodge managers are terrific and for me customer service is absolutely what makes a place. Good food too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldmountaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLodge, Manager at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for your review mountain girl, the Tongariro Freedom package is great for a group of friends catching up at the weekend. Every thing is taken care of, you just need to pick up dinner on the Friday night, or if you are early, there is a number of places you can eat. We look forward to meeting you all again in the ski season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We selected the Tongariro crossing package and stayed in a double en suite room. The room was basic but had everything we needed and was very clean. The shower was hot and the bed comfortable, including a very nice electric blanket. There were basic kitchen facilities including a microwave and toaster in the room and there was also a tv with plenty of channels.

The package was excellent value for money as it included 2 nights accommodation, 2 breakfasts, a lunch and a dinner, transport to and from the trek and a tshirt and certificate at the end!

The hosts Ron and Lorraine were so friendly and welcoming and also very knowledgeable. The food included a great packed lunch, a delicious and well pitched post walk dinner and a good continental breakfast on the last day. The cooked breakfast was a bit of a misfit as it wasn't up to the quality of the others but there was plenty of toast if you didn't like it.

I would recommend Adventure Lodge without reservation to anyone wanting to do the Tongariro crossing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountainclamberer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongariro National Park
7.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,628 reviews
8.0 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
441 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pipers Ski Lodge
Pipers Ski Lodge
#2 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Lodge & Motel

Address: 21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tongariro National Park
Price Range: $52 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Lodge & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and Welcome to Adventure National Park. Gillian and John(ex army)are a small family run business and welcome you to their lodge and motel in National Park Village. We cater for families, family reunions, schools, groups, and the independent traveler. Your choice of deluxe one bedroom units with King size beds, standard studio motel units with Queen Size Beds and private facilities. Our budget lodge rooms with double beds or Twin share, shared bathrooms, lounge and kitchen. Bed and Breakfast options available. Comfortable warm beds, Sky TV in lodge and all units, drying room, Internet and free wireless access available, large open fire, Dinner, Breakfast and a packed lunch available. Department of Conservation authorized shuttle to and from the Tongariro Crossing departing daily weather dependent, let us take care of you with our Tongariro Freedom Package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Adventure Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel Tongariro National Park
Adventure Lodge And Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing