We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
137
48
4
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
137
48
4
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews movie room spa pool the kitchen pool table place is clean ping pong shuttle company great place to stay northern circuit dorm room lots of character separate lounge entertainment area height of summer hot tub communal areas loved our stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I booked the Crossing package here at the height of summer. When we arrived, we discovered that the Tongariro Crossing was closed and we were unable to do the hike. The lovely owner upgraded our room to a beautiful ensuite family room and gave us tons of advice on other hikes to do, as well as where to go for good meals in the village. We had a lovely stay. The facilities are excellent and the hostel is very clean and well maintained. My favorite thing was the "Backup Staff" for Gandalf, which is displayed in the hostel.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank LeonaHtheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crossingbp, Manager at The Crossing Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry you were unable to do the crossing, but glad you still managed to take up the opportunity to explore other activities in the area! It was a pleasure hosting you, and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

The three of us stayed in a bunk room before walking the Northern Circuit. The owners organised our track transport to and from 'The Crossing'. We were able to leave our car safely at 'The Crossing' while we were walking and we had a lovely hot shower upon our return even though we were not staying another night. The kitchen/dining area is fantastic and there is a spa pool!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crossingbp, Manager at The Crossing Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the walk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2019

We stayed in the family unit. The deck was perfectly situated to relax and watch the sunset. The facilities were very clean and beds were super comfortable. We were made to feel very welcome and our late check in was no problem for the team. The shuttle was on time and the drivers were all friendly and helpful. This was a really great start to our Crossing. The shared kitchen/lounge is fantastic, and the games room is a real treat with something for everyone.This is a return trip for us and we are already planning our next Crossing with more friends next year, and will be staying here again.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Seenthecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crossingbp, Manager at The Crossing Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2019

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay, see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2019

I always enjoy the hospitality and atmosphere here. Owners have done a lot to tidy up the kitchen and communal areas since my last stay. My usual tent site just outside the kitchen was peaceful. Everything inside was nice and clean. Thanks, see you again soon.

Room tip: Nice for hiking National Park but be away from hustle of park based accommodation only 5 minutes away. Personal service, peace and quiet.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whio_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crossingbp, Manager at The Crossing Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2019

Thanks for your feedback, was great to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2019

Our room was nice. We loved sitting on the deck on the sunny days. It was a good location to nip out and do all the walks. Kitchen was well stocked with cooking supplies. We found the owner to be very helpful with all our questions. I would stay again with my family in the future!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwaysonvacation88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crossingbp, Manager at The Crossing Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2019


Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased your enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews