We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crossing Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

I had a great time, very laid back and easy place to meet like minded people, I'm working in nz and planing my next trip back which will my 3rd time in Tongariro, owners throw lots of thongs to do in the area lots of free stuff if you have a car and the weathers good, crazy place I loved it

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CouperStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    23
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
24
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

This accomodation (double ensuite) offered probably the highest value/cost ratio of all hostels we stayed during our 1-month NZ-trip. We really regretted that our schedule didn´t allowed us to stay for more than two nights.
It is a pitty that this hostel is relatively difficult to find as it is not included on most servers if you are searching accomodation under "national park" or "tongariro crossing".
Very friendly and sociable owner creates definitely important part of the unique atmosphere you will enjoy here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cimicak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

This place is a laugh !! Just a few mins from the national park you get to hang out for great value !! Everytime I come here I leave with a different story ... Love it

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulous13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Great Place to stay. Very friendly owner! Good facilities, comfy beds, fireplace in tv-room......very warm place with tree in the middle of tv-room!
Thanks to Bryan & Miriam!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here with friends for a weekend skiing. You have to drive to everything (e.g. the pub for dinner) but that's not an issue. Our room was fine (double ensuite) although the bed was a bit soft and the pillows lumpy. However our friends had a twin room and no lock on the door. When you consider that the hostel itself is not locked, this doesn't seem very safe! they were offered a refund - but only if they checked out at 11pm on a sat night in peak ski season! Apparently they "don't have the technology to put locks on the rooms" yet. Anyone heard of yale locks?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HevvaRodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Ok, this place is VERY interesting because you either absolutely love it or hate it based on what you expected in the first place, so let me tell you exactly what to expect so you know whether it's for you before giving it a chance. DO NOT expect locks on your doors to keep your fancy jewelery and underwear safe, but rest assured you are in the middle of freaking no-where and you are more likely to be robbed in your own locked up home in Auckland. DO NOT expect sharp utensils and 100% working stove ignitions but do expect to improvise and cook a fine meal anyway. Expect more showers here than you have ever seen at any backpackers, so even if the showerhead is dodgy, just move on to the next working one. Expect toilet paper to run out, so just go ask for more. Expect the feeling of staying in a facility on its own surrounded by genuine wilderness as apposed to being surrounded by motels, shops and tourists in the main National Park village. Expect to meet hosts with character, some awesome fellow travellers and a few interesting farm animals. There is something very friendly and social about this place. Expect to find unique character that no other place in National Park village can offer. Expect clean showers and bathrooms, solid beds, a great sleep with the very occasional massaging rumble of a passing train. Expect to find more than enough power points for charging your gadgets. Expect quirky fixtures and a maze-like conjoined structure allowing access to all facilities without ever stepping out into the cold. Expect to receive an extremely helpful map of the structure on entry. If you are looking for raw fun, quirkiness and enginuity at the cost of a little luxury this is THE place, otherwise go look elsewhere. Almost forgot to mention they have a lounge with big screen Sky TV, another secret movie theater, flying fox, indoor paintball, spa pool, instant boiling water dispenser (LIKE) and V8 supercar simulator. Stayed twice now, and it only gets better. I know where my new National Park home is.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had a great time staying here! Had all the right facilities as well as things you wouldn't expect to be included for such a low cost. Beds and kitchen were perfectly fine, and there was also Sky television, a spa, drying room, paintball and an area to skate! Ideal!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simonbrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongariro National Park
7.8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
8.1 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
12.1 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.8 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tongariro Holiday Park
Tongariro Holiday Park
#6 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossing Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossing Backpackers

Property: The Crossing Backpackers
Address: Erua Road East, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Tongariro National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crossing Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have quality budget accommodation with a variety of room types to suit family, friends and individuals alike. We offer free bus or train pick up from National Park Village. We also have a spacious TV lounge, pool table, a DVD room, dining & outdoor areas, fully equipped kitchen facilities with free tea and coffee, Wi-Fi guest internet, laundry facilities and a spa pool. Great rates and summer package deals for accommodation and Tongariro crossing transport are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Crossing Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing