We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Short but cool

This ride is quite short but very cool. We use to do trail and bike so it was like a promenade for... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Ruddy B
Lovely afternoon walk

We were disappointed to miss the last shuttle to Horopito for the afternoon ride (shuttles leave at... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2018
RustyAstro
,
Brisbane, Australia
via mobile
Read all 140 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Tongariro National Park
from $24.10
More Info
from $113.60
More Info
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
93
37
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
37
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain bike station information boards great ride return walk smash palace great scenery lots of interesting information blind corners lovely bush year olds tree roots lovely walk rainy day an awesome experience worth the effort new zealand viaduct
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This ride is quite short but very cool. We use to do trail and bike so it was like a promenade for us, but if you are not specially trained, it could be just enough.
It is cool to ride throught the forest, along the river, cross the old viaduc and...hahaha climb next after to realize that you have done a loop ^^ In fact after the viaduc, you can go back and continue. I you decide to go down...you will have to go up and it is quite hard for non trained people :)
Finally we arrived at the cafe bar to waitn for the shuttle. Nice village and the chocolate was excellent :)
Oh and you can find a pump track at the entrace of the village. Really cool while waiting the shuttle.

Thank Ruddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We were disappointed to miss the last shuttle to Horopito for the afternoon ride (shuttles leave at 10 and 2).
However we realised you can walk to the viaduct along the same path. We drove to the Marshall Rd car park and started from there. Starting from town just follows the road. The walk was lovely, an incline at the start but then flattens out. We started at about 230 took about 2 hours to the viaduct and back. You can also see and walk through the old tunnel. Not many bikes encountered along the way but keep an eye out around the tight corners.

Thank RustyAstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

We walked to Hapuawhenua viaduct with our 8 and 5 year olds. The coach road takes a bit of reaching from Ohakune station -- the initial part of the walk is along roads, but once you get to the Old Coach road itself, you get off into some very pastoral countryside and then forest. The kids loved the viaduct and the abandoned tunnel. All in all a very good way to spend a morning. The viaduct looks a bit rickety but was fine to walk on. We were a little concerned beforehand about encountering a lot of mountain bikers, but we did the walk before noon and only ran into a few -- you don't need wheels to enjoy this.

1  Thank MgDginOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2018

Not too short, not too long, a great bike ride for couples. Don't be put off by the initial incline on the grassy old coach road, it soon flattens out on the top before dropping down towards the viaduct. Really fun ride leading to an awe inspiring old school engineering masterpiece.

2  Thank ReubenU7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

Great ride from Horopito to Ohakune. We rode with two 13 year olds who had a blast. Took us about 1 hour 30 to complete with a short stop at the viaduct- we did push hard so expect 2-3 hours if your taking your time. We caught a shuttle from TCB, the guys looked after us really well. I’d be cautious of kids any younger unless they are a tougher and have done some biking before as the track has some bumpy bits. Going from Ohakune back to Horopito is a much tougher challenge.

1  Thank NZMidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2018

We got a shuttle ride to Horopito ($15 per person) then walked back to Ohakune. Stunning and varied scenery and really interesting information boards. Rain had been forecast but we were really lucky with the weather. Track was good throughout the 15kms and we took 4hours, taking it pretty easy and reading every board. Absolutely beautiful, and pretty easy walk - would really recommend.

3  Thank denise224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2018

Our family had a great time riding this trail. It has an interesting history and varied track with cobbled, grass and gravel surfaces. Our 8 year old walked up some sections, and we were glad to be on bikes with suspension going over the cobbles. We enjoyed going over the viaduct and exploring the tunnel. We got a shuttle to Horopito with Mountain Bike Station who we would recommend.

Thank Wellingtonfeijoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018

We used SLR. Easily the easiest, and most knowledgeable of the areas. Hugely accommodating to our group of diverse riders. Suggest unconfident riders only do the one way (returning to Ohakune after a drop off).

Thank Sione S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018

It was a overcast, spitting rain day that was perfect for this lovely bush walk, making you feel like you were in a rainforest for the most part.
This track can be done on mountain bike as well and having only walked it I would certainly recommend doing the bike ride! Especially if you like speed & adventure, its an awesome track - even if you are just walking.
Getting to the viaduct is super rewarding, such an awesome experience to walk along a part of history - just imagining being on a train, passing through that dense bush - bliss!!

The walk takes about 2 hours round trip, well worth doing!

Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

due to a bad weather, i hiked here instead tongariro crossing. but i loved very much of this hike. raindrops looked crystal on the trees and what a view at the end! just beautiful and easy walk too!

2  Thank yukohannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews