We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kiwi experts”

Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$297.24*
and up
Full-Day Waitomo Caves and Kiwi House Tour from Auckland including Lunch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1971 the Otorohanga Kiwi House and Native Bird Park has been helping to save New Zealand`s national icon, the Kiwi bird. The Kiwi House is a not-for-profit organisation; all proceeds help support conservation projects. We guarantee that visitors will always see Kiwi, plus the largest private collection of native birds and reptiles in NZ.We are just 15 minutes from the world famous Waitomo Caves and 2.5 hours south of Auckland.
International
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Kiwi experts”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was the first place to bred Kiwis in captivity. They do it well. The bird aviary is also worth a look.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank justabigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga Kiwi... a, Public Relations Manager at Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for visiting. We've been breeding Kiwi here for over 40 years and have released many back into the wild.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    192
    63
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nocturnal birds to see up close”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The range of native New Zealand birds was good, and being able to observe the kiwi and morepork in the nocturnal house a real bonus

Helpful?
Thank Pommie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga Kiwi... a, Public Relations Manager at Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We're glad you had a chance to see our birds and are planning to make the attraction even better very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“See the Kiwi-birds here”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a lovely place. We have seen one of the Kiwi-birds from close. In addition special birds, reptiles, and beautiful plants and trees.

Friendly staff with a commitment to the environment.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_Aussie_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga Kiwi... a, Public Relations Manager at Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We'll be sure to pass on your compliments to our dedicated staff. Thanks for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Must do if you want to see a Kiwi!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Costs $20 but as a conservation park think of it as a donation to the cause of endangered birds. Facilities are a bit run down but the chance to see kiwis up close ( even through glass) is amazing.
Good to see other birds like kea, weta, kaka, tui as well.
Make sure you time your visit at 130pm to see the kiwi feeding and then go through the back door to see the brown kiwis as this door is unlocked just afterwards.

Helpful?
Thank SydneyJo_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga Kiwi... a, Public Relations Manager at Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We've got wonderful plans and recently secured funding to do some major redevelopment in the Park. It' s been nearly 42 years since the Otorohanga Kiwi House was established by passionate local volunteers and we are committed to carrying on their great conservation work....soon we'll have the place looking even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Noticed this place while driving down to Waitomo Caves.
We have never seen a Kiwi in real life so this was a first for us. They have two Kiwis here and we happened to be there at feeding time.
Short but very interesting and informative visit. Interesting to see some native birds and some lizards.
Very reasonable entrance price and well worth the visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Outrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park also viewed

Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
 
Waitomo Caves, Waikato Region
Otorohanga, Waikato Region
 

Been to Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing